We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property in Broome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broome-Time Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Broome-Time Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great property in Broome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent five nights at the Broome-Time Lodge in mid September. It is an excellent property that we thoroughly enjoyed. We booked a king bed studio apartment with a kitchen on the ground floor which had a private patio. The property is very quiet, with nice grounds and a lovely pool area. The property has in-house movies (shown per a schedule in the room) and also free DVDs for guest use. Directly outside the property, is a bus stop. On the opposite side of the street is the stop for the bus into the China Town (downtown) area. The bus stop on the same side of the street as Broome-Time goes to Cable Beach.

Dani, the receptionist at Broome-Time, recommended we use the bus for touring and it was a great idea! We bought a day pass ($10AUD) and we rode the entire bus route, getting on and off at numerous stops. The bus drivers announce what’s coming up at the next stop as well as interesting bits of information. It’s a great way to learn about the town! Individual bus tickets are $3.50AUD per ride.

From the Broome-Time, we were able to walk (1.0km or 0.6mi) to a local mall which had a Woolworth’s (aka “Woolie’s”) to buy food, wine and liquor. If you’re not up for the walk, the bus runs directly to/from the mall (for $3.50AUD).

When we arrived at the Broome Airport, we took a shuttle to the lodge. This was the only time we were ripped off. That is, we went to the individual at the taxi stand station, she directed us to a shuttle driver rather than calling a cab for us. So, we had a shared ride of only about 10 minutes at a cost of $17AUD. We recommend that you avoid the taxi desk and go directly to see if there’s a cab waiting. On our return, Dani called a taxi for us and we paid only $12.50AUD (rounded up to 13) to return to the airport.

All and all, we had a great time in Broome and we highly recommend the Broome-Time Lodge! FYI, the Broome area is where the very fine Australian South Pacific pearls are cultured. The world’s largest pearl came from this area and is on display at Cygnet Pearls in China Town. They are many good shops and they offer good pricing for the quality of the pearls available.

Room Tip: Unit 53 was great - very quiet, beautiful patio view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at Broome-Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi ExcellentAdventurers,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Broome-Time Lodge.

I agree, the town bus service is exceptional - stopping at the front of Broome-Time Lodge every half an hour in the dry season.

We look forward to seeing you again in Broome. Remember to mention you have stayed with us previously so that we may extend our return guest discount to you.

Best regards

Brad Symons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    68
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
52
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We'd pay way more for way less at The Mangrove Hotel and were pleasantly surprised with the Broome-Time Lodge.
Lots of added extras in the recently renovated rooms. Full size fridge, spacious balcony, clothes airing rack. Staff were very helpful and nice shady pool area.
I'd definitely stay there again when travelling to Broome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at Broome-Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Alison,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Broome-Time Lodge and appreciate your recommendation to other fellow travelers.

We look forward to seeing you again in Broome. Remember to mention you have stayed with us previously so that we may extend our return guest discount to you.

Best regards

Brad Symons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

First tip: don't travel in the month of August, accommodation rates are way too high double than what ur expected to pay.
This is our 1st trip to Broome & we always choose our accommodation based on people's reviews, pictures & experiences.Unfortunately, this hotel didn't really meet our expectations the moment we arrived.The place looks so run-down, old & ordinary, so disappointed. a black cat wandered around trying to get in when we open the door. although, not everything is horrible in this place the staff were very nice & helpful, a few of our complaints were resolved same day. it is close to the airport, 10 minute walk to Broome boulevard & a bus stop just @ the front door. they service the room every 4th day & that's the day u get to have ur bedsheets & towels changed. we wished we could have just cancelled & went to another hotel, since most of the buses stops to every hotel in town.
Overall, our holiday was really good. Broome, is a very nice small town we did join in most of the tours as we didn't drive, the willie creek pearl farm tour was very educational & we get to keep their famous damper recipe, which i tried @ home, the malcolm wilderness park if ur adventurous go for it ,we had the chance of holding the python snake & the baby crocs which is a rare experience. the broome sightseeing tours was good too, we visited the cable beach but u need to explore this place all day it's heaven. then we stopped @ the Gantheaume point it's breath taking beautiful rock pools, spectacular cliffs.. it's worth visiting...a bus goes to this place in the morning but coming back u have to walk to cable beach for an hr to get onto the bus. then we head to town beach, sun pictures cinema (the oldest operating outdoor cinema in the world), matso's brewery, for non-beer drinkers try their lime & mango cider very refreshing. last stop was the pearl luggers very informative tour, the coach driver was very chatty.
the double deck bus tour was also good he went to some places not covered by other tours like the port of broome.restaurants were good, a bit pricey but it's a tourist destination so, we have to pay the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellers4159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at Broome-Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello Travellers4159

Thank you for sharing your experience at Broome-Time Lodge. We value guest feedback and rely on it to continually improve ourselves. It is good to hear you enjoyed your holiday in Broome but I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

Broome-Time Lodge is one of the more affordable places to stay when in Broome, offering minimal services to keep the room rates as low as possible for those travelling on a budget. I'm very happy to hear that our team was able to rectify your situation promptly and effectively. We pride ourselves on exceptionally high standards of customer service.

Unfortunately we cannot always control when an animal comes onto the property. Procedure was followed immediately and the rangers were called to return the cat to its owner.

Had you advised us you were not happy we would have happily assisted with relocation to a property that you were more comfortable with - at no charge to yourself.

Please accept my apologies that your experience with us did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Brad Symons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

The lodge is located between Cable Beach and China town with a bus-stop outside that will take you to each. Across the road is an aquatic and fitness centre with squash courts and pool. Shopping centre is a 5-10 minute walk away (or bus).

Hotel rooms are arranged in blocks around the outside of a beautiful pool and garden area which has BBQ for the guests to use. A small shop in the reception area had food and pre-prepared meals if you have a self-contained unit. There is no restaurant but a couple of cafes are at the shopping centre (not open at night). The area is lovely and quiet.

Rooms themselves were comfortable and clean but in need of some renovation. Plenty of room to walk around beds in the apartment. Small kitchen but all the basics covered. Free in-house movies are available from reception.

Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

If you are planning on eating out you will need your own transport as there are no nearby restaurants and the buses stop running at about 6pm.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at Broome-Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Broome-Time Lodge.

We aim to provide clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation together with excellent customer service, I am very happy to hear you experienced this.

We do acknowledge that we have our older style rooms that do need more attention and we will be continuing refurbishments in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Broome-Time Lodge and remember to advise us you are a return guest so that we can extend the return guest discount to you.

Kind Regards,

Brad Symons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights passing through Broome at the tail end of our 7 week Australian odyssey. the lodgings were a great find in a convernient location. they were very comfortable and clean, 2 double beds with full kitchen facilities. the pool was nice,and the yard with bbq and table a great oasis.The staff was more than helpful and accomodating; they were gracious and friendly from the very first moment we checked in ( with a sudden flat tire on our rental, too!)

this place is not fancy, but is definitely comfortable and clean, with amenities and in a great locatin. it was absolutely everything we wanted for our stay,and then some! the price was remarkably affordable. i would recommend this place for families, solo travelers, couples, everyone!

of all the places we stayed in Australia- from Sydney, through the outback of NSW, Adelaide, to the center, up north, and Perth, this was by far my favorite, most complete and comfortable and most recommedend accomodation!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southam97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at Broome-Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello Southam97,

It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and found Broome-Time Lodge to be clean, comfortable and well located.

It was a pleasure to have you both and we really appreciate all your positive feedback.

Kind Regards,

Brad Symons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

This is our 1st choice of accommodation when heading to Broome for a night. Cheap, clean, no fuss accommodation. Friendly and helpful staff top off a good choice amongst the expensive big hotels. It's central location is just an added bonus.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BeenThereDoneThat_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at Broome-Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Broome-Time Lodge. It was a pleasure having you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

Brad Symons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newman, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed here twice before and after going to Kununarra, stayed in the 2 bedroom both times. Clean and a comfy bed which is all we needed. Reception was lovely both times! the garden were kept clean and there is a bench and bbq which you can use i didnt use the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at Broome-Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Krystal,

Great to hear you enjoyed you’re your stay and our Outdoor Garden Dining Area - with free-use gas BBQ's and picnic tables perfect for socialising with friends and family.

Looking at your other postings it seems you enjoyed all of your 'Broome Experiences'!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Broome-Time Lodge.

Kind Regards,

Brad Symons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
1.9 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
1.2 mi away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
27.5 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome-Time Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome-Time Accommodation

Property: Broome-Time Accommodation
Address: 1 Cable Beach Road East, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia (Formerly Broome-Time Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broome-Time Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broome-Time accommodation & Art Gallery is centrally located on the Broome Peninsula between Cable Beach to the West and China Town/Roebuck Bay and Old Broome to the east. Our 58 self contained studio, family and king studio rooms are set amongst established gardens around a sparkling free form pool with a spacious outdoor garden dining area with free use gas BBQs, ideal for socialising with family and friends. In 2014 an Art Gallery specialising in Kimberley Art, Aboriginal Artifacts, Didgeridoo's and gifts. We are continually aiming to improve the property and facilities whilst providing a warm and friendly environment for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Broome-Time Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing