We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base for exploring this beautiful area of W.A.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“An excellent base for exploring this beautiful area of W.A.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights from 28th September 2013 before going on to Cape Leveque for my 50th birthday & then back to Broome for 2 nights at Oaks Broome before returning home to Adelaide. Exellent value for money, great facilities, convenient location & the best pizzas. Stayed in room 268, fantastic room with heaps of space, good views & a great location. Watched the camels go past twice a day on their way to & from cable beach. The resort is well spaced out & has a laid back feel, unlike Oaks Broome for which it shouldn't be mistaken.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gdaytrendsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. A big happy 50th birthday from the Oaks CBS team, we hope you enjoyed a memorable birthday. It is great to read that you found your apartment excellent value for money, spacious with great views, great facilities, convenient location and our pizzas great! I will certainly pass all of your great feedback onto the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Broome, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    108
    63
    31
    22
See reviews for
76
106
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights in room 103 which was a ground floor room with the small patio looking straight into the next door (4 metres away), long term caravan park and associated noise.Room was dark and needed lights on all day, and room service was after 3 pm which was most inconvenient. The small pool outside the front door was good, but the main pool complex is very shallow and the infinity pool roped off for our entire stay.
Breakfast buffet at $13 pp was great. Evening restaurant prices and fare good for Broome. Public transport outside the entrance, and the beach a 1 km stroll away.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms with patios on caravan park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittosporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit. We do apologise if you weren’t satisfied with the layout and location of your room. We do encourage guests to notify us if there are any problems or concerns to allow us to assist where possible.

During the day we find that the resort is very quiet as many of our guests are out and about enjoying Broome. It was decided to have the restaurant closed during the hours of 10.30am – 15.00pm and we do apologise if these hours did not suit.

The infinity pool was closed for 3 days as we did need to conduct some routine maintenance however the main pool was available and we do hope that you were able to take advantage of that. It is great to read though that you found our buffet breakfast great and good value, the restaurant prices fair for Broome and our location convenient. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS again on your next visit to Broome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well we were back in Broome for our Annual Holiday again for 2 weeks 14th - 30th Sept our 14th year visiting this fantastic spot and again tried Sanctuary Resort in Cable Beach ou 4th stay here over the years. in my previous review of this resort I said how it was the little things that lets it down and am sorry to say that this is still the case, management will say we have only been here a short time but it is now probably 20 or so months maybe more. last time due to bedding I had to visit the local Chiro this time it was my wife's turn in the end I purchased a mattress overlay from Clark Rubber to bring the bed up to a sleepable standard when we stayed here 14 months ago we were told then by management they were in the process of upgrading all the in room facilities, ie Beds and Lounges so we were disappointed to see that this has still not occurred.
the couches and cushioning are not able to be sat on for any period of time without getting sore.
Shelving in fridge missing, Shower Heads & soap holders loose nearly falling off wall, tiles or coverings on veranda missing and just the plain concrete to sit on the 2 other couples we went with had all 3 Air conditioners break down in their unit, cooktop not working and other than Bar or Restaurant no where to get a drink or ice cream for kids a simple vending machine and fridge in reception to purchase would be great, don't listen to people that say position no good is to far from beach as you can walk in 10mins or bus directly across the will take you there aalso plenty of places to eat within easy stroll. So I'll say again if management can start to do what they are paid to and manage this place with a bit more concern it would rival any accommodation in Broome and I have stayed in most so I hope this review can help in someway.
BUT this is a beautiful place to stay the Entrance to resort is amazing, the pools are the best in Broome, staff were friendly,polite and helpful which is something in Broome,

Room Tip: Ask for room near main Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. As a repeat guest we do sincerely appreciate the feedback you have provided.

Oaks have been managing the resort for 19 months now and we have made immense improvements to the resort since the handover. I really do hope that you were able to see the vast changes around the resort grounds. We have been focusing the renovations on the exterior of the apartments and the common areas as these were of high priority. We haven’t yet made any changes to the interior of the apartments apart from a full television upgrade; we do anticipate starting the rooms very soon and are already in the lengthy planning stages of doing so.

As you can appreciate refurbishing the interior of the apartments is a very substantial project and requires any changes to be made across the board and this takes time being such a large property. We are looking at changing the bedding however the compliments we receive about the comfort of our beds far outweighs the complaints and we do apologise if you again found the beds to be uncomfortable. The couches we are changing very soon and I am currently in the process of organising this to be done over the coming low season.

As for the maintenance issues highlighted in your review, these are easily repaired and we do encourage guests to notify us of any problems so we can attend to these immediately. We are working through all of the apartments at the moment to tighten any shower heads, soap holders etc as part of our routine inspections. The outdoor balconies are being installed as we speak with a composite decking similar to that in the reception and piazza area and this is expected to be finished in the coming months.

Refreshments are available at reception during the closure hours of the restaurant and bar and this information is detailed in the guest welcome pack.

I was very disappointed to read your comment about “management starting to do what they are paid to do and to take a bit more concern,” I have been the manager of the resort since the handover to Oaks and the changes and improvements both myself and my team have made in such a short time is indicative of the hard working team we have here. Oaks are committed to restoring the property to a leading accommodation supplier in Broome however this takes time. Whilst I acknowledge the interior of the apartments has yet to begin the changes to the resort reception, piazza, restaurant and resort grounds are clearly evident.

It is great to read though that you do find the location great, resort entrance amazing, the pools the best in Broome and the customer service was reflective of our high standards. This is all great feedback and I will certainly pass this onto our team. I really do hope that you can appreciate the time it takes to complete resort refurbishment and I do ask that you please be patient and know that we are working as quickly as we can to improve and repair the small things to ensure that we do provide the highest of quality product to our guests. We really do look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again on your next visit to Broome to see the further improvements and hard work we have done to the property.

Best wishes from the Oaks CBS team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Room was lovely, well placed compared to beach, we were able to walk down. Restaurant looked a little under average and wasnt open good times so we ate elsewhere. Pool area was nice, and parking for room good. We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you found your room lovely, our pool area nice and our location well placed. It is a shame that you didnt take advantage of our onsite restaurant, perhaps on your next visit. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS next time you’re in Broome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment and overall, it was very good although maybe smaller than anticipated. We wished we had a bit more room for a family of 4. The resort was very pleasant but unfortunately, the pools were too cold (we went in july) which was very unexpected and that was a real disappointment as it was impossible to get in, even the kids could not! The location of the resort was good but you would need a car as it is a little bit far from amenities and beach.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our resort pleasant although I am very sorry that you weren’t able to take advantage of the swimming pools due to the temperature. Unfortunately whilst the days are hot in July the nights can be quite cool and the water temperature does drop significantly over night, this only happens between the months of May-July.

Our location is a leisurely 10 minute walk to Cable Beach and a further 5 to the general store, however I can appreciate as a family a car would have been ideal for you. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks CBS next time you’re in Broome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Perfection location close to the beach. Fantastic and clean facilities. Friendly staff, the manager of the resort was welcoming and very helpful. Awesome pool area and features. Was great seeing the camels walk past every night before sunset!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review. I am very pleased to read that you found out location great, our facilities fantastic and clean, staff friendly and our lagoon pools awesome.

We are very lucky to have the camels walk past our resort daily, families really enjoy watching them walk past morning and night, great for the kids! Again, thank you for your great feedback and hopefully we look forward to another visit from you next time you're in Broome! Best wishes from the Oaks Cable Beach team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have stayed in a 1,2 and 3 bedroom unit. Great pools, nice size units friendly staff great value for money.
I have also stayed in the hotel rooms and found them quite dark therefore making the room feel smaller

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. As a repeat guest and having stayed in multiple room types it is great to read that you find our apartments fantastic, our pools great, apartments great value for money and our staff friendly and helpful. We certainly look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
29.1 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
409 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Property: Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features newly refurbished elegant modern designs which draw on modern tropical Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing