We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great spot, will stay again"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Broome
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was a bit worried after all the mixed reports I read of this resort from tripadvisor. It was a great spot, good value. The rooms were clean and the kitchen allowed you to eat it for all meals. I even managed to cook Christmas lunch for the family. The oven and stove were great. The fridge seemed to have trouble with circulation but really that was no big deal. I imagine most people that stay would cook as much as I did while on holiday.

The pool was perfect and clean. I would say that the best time to visit Broome is out of season when things are a bit quieter including this place. Any other time you might have to fight for a bit of space in the pool or a banana lounge in the shade. It did not bother us that some things were closed. There was still enough spots to grab a coffee or have a bite to eat out.

Thanks Oaks, if I can save enough I will see you next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much for posting such a great review, we are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

It is fantastic to read that you found our location great and the apartment was good value. We are very impressed that you cooked Christmas lunch for the family and we do hope you enjoyed a great festive season! It is a lot quieter in our off season and despite the challenging weather at times it is a beautiful time of the year to visit and guests are able to take advantage or a more relaxing and quieter atmosphere.

We really hope you enjoyed your time relaxing next to our lagoon pools and we look forward to inviting you back for another enjoyable stay, happy saving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

The apartments are great value for money. Minimal kitchen facilities but there are plenty of places to eat out at. The rooms are clean and nice and cool with fans and air conditioners. The pool area was lovely. The only down side is that the lower ground apartments lack some privacy. We had a guy come and sit on our porch and have a smoke while we were watching TV which was quite awkward. The restaurant is under construction from what we understand but the meals were still very good. You do get a bit of noise travel through the walls but since we were there during the low season the room next to us was vacant for most of our time so this wasn't a huge issue. Cable beach is about a 1km walk down the road but the pool is perfect for beating the heat. We caught a shuttle bus from the airport that only cost us $11ea. The girl at the front desk was brilliant and friendly and organized tours for us, as well as helping us navigate the bus system. Highly recommend Oaks Cable Beach,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Many thanks for choosing Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary for your recent stay in Broome and we are very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to read that you found your apartment great value for money, your room was clean and cool and our lagoon pools lovely. I was a little concerned though to read about the gentleman who paid your porch a visit, this is abnormal and I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We have just recently completed all of the upgrades to the reception, piazza and restaurant and we will very shortly be launching our new menu at Cables Restaurant & Bar, hopefully if you do get the opportunity to return you will have the chance to experience our new dining options.

Further more, I am very pleased that the staff were very accommodating and assisted you in booking your tours and navigating Broome using the local bus system. I will certainly pass your feedback onto the front office staff.

We look forward to inviting you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary on your next visit to Broome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in broome for 5 days. 4 adults in a two bedroom unit. The first night the room we were given was old. The soap holder was falling off the wall. The bed squeaked everytime someone moved. We were all very dissapointed for the price we had paid. Next morning though we mentioned it to reception and we were moved to a newer looking room. It was a lot more enjoyable. The staff were very nice about it. We had dinner and breakfast at the resturant and the dinners were great. The location of the hotel is perfect though just around the corner from cable beach. It was an enjoyable stay though not sure if we would stay there and pay much more then we did.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we greatly appreciate the feedback you have provided. We do apologise about the issues you experienced on your first night and we do appreciate you bringing those problems to our attention.

We are very glad that we were able to move you into a more suitable room for the rest of your stay and that you were happy with your move. We do understand that at times maintenance problems can arise and we are more than happy to look after our guests and move them into a more comfortable room should we need too.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our on site restaurant and we will certainly pass your feedback onto the restaurant staff. We are very shortly launching a new menu at the restaurant so hopefully if you return to visit you can experience the new dining options we will have on offer.

Over our wet season and off peak periods we do offer specials and discounted rates on our accommodation, next time please give us a call and we would be happy to offer you the best available rates and let you know of any current specials or deals. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Good value for money. Recommend ground floor room near main pools.

Stayed 7 days during wet season in 2 bedroom apartment. Spacious with garden and pool views, nicely decorated, 3 flat screen TVs, 3 air conditioners. Wi-fi service free but sometimes unreliable.

Reception staff very helpful with booking tours, etc.

Air conditioned licenced restaurant with indoor and outdoor tables. Great breakfast (can be buffet or a la carte). Dinner quality less reliable. Pool bar disappointingly closed during afternoon until 5pm.

Lovely grounds and gardens throughout.

Pools are getting shabby, still good for swimming, but disappointingly closed at sundown!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank dpwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you found your stay with us great value for money and your 2 bedroom apartment was perfectly located with views of the gardens and pools.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our in-room facilities and our complimentary Wi-Fi. At times in Broome the reception can be a problem but we are working towards a solution to fix this. We are very lucky to have lush tropical grounds and gardens at the resort and we are very glad that you agree!

In regards to the restaurant, due to the current low season here in Broome our on site restaurant does run on reduced hours. If you are fortunate enough to visit Broome in our busy season you will certainly have the opportunity to take advantage and enjoy the extended hours and extra facilities we have on offer. We do sincerely apologise if the reduced restaurant hours incovenienced you during your stay.

The swimming pools are only open from sunrise to sunset, we are in the very near future planning to upgrade the swimming pool area and re-surface the pools.

I will certainly pass all of your great feedback onto our staff and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were really looking forward to staying in a resort-style accommodation for our Christmas holiday, the photos on the websites made it look beautiful. It is in a good location not far from Cable's at all, however, our 2 bedroom apartment was very average. We paid a lot of money to stay here, only to discover: there were no blinds of any sort on the kitchen window (next door has them though?); one of the bedside lamps does not work; one of the air con remotes battery is flat; the TV in the master bedroom is missing; one of the channels on this TV had no sound; and the kettle doesn't boil properly. The furnishings seem worn and dated. For this kind of quality you're probably better off going to a cabin in the caravan park.

As far as value for money goes, we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jaih83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I was very dissapointed to read your review and the issues you experienced whilst in house and we do sincerely apologise that the standard did not meet your expectations or ours. We do encourage guests to notify us of any issues with their room so we can rectify these problems immediately or move them into a more suitable room.

We do acknowledge that the rooms are tired and we are currently working through all of the apartments resort wide to renew the in room features and facilities however this is a lengthy process but we do greatly appreciate your feedback.

Again, we do apologise for the issues you experienced with your apartment, hopefully you will consider staying at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary again on your next visit to Broome to take full advantage of our improved rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My family and I stayed here for work in October 2013. It was fine. The two bed room apartment was large enough for everyone. The furnishings and kitchen was nice. There are two large pools in the centre of hotel was were very good and the bar was open for dinner and drinks every night. There were bbqs around the pool area too which was a bonus. The gardens around the pool were very nice.

If you staying here for a holiday the only real let down might be the fact that our side of the hotel backed onto a caravan park, so your verandah and sun lounge looks directly at poorly maintained gardens and a fence. This wasn't really a problem for us though, if we were holidaying it wouldn't be ideal.

All in all we enjoyed our time here and thought the staff and hotel were very nice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank PhilnBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary.

We’re tremendously delighted to read that you found our Two Bedroom Apartment to be both spacious and comfortable. We are, however, concerned that you found the garden area surrounding your terrace to be poorly maintained. This will be investigated by our landscaper and rectified where necessary, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We’re also thrilled to read that you had the pleasure of enjoying our pristine lagoon-style pools along with their bordering landscaped gardens and restaurant. We feel that this area of Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary is particularly wonderful and unique, and again, we’re pleased to read that you share our sentiment.

It is great to read that your overall experience was enjoyable and that our exceptional staff contributed to this.

We certainly look forward to having you stay with us during your next visit to Broome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We intentionally booked a 'resort' hotel so there'd be facilities on site. The bar/restaurant closed after breakfast so there were no drinks available during the day. The beauty salon has obviously been shut for months so no salon services on site.
The room itself was ok (no storage space for clothes) but the 'garden view balcony' looked onto an adjoining property's parking space.
Location is fine.

Room Tip: Get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingP0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOaksCBS, General Manager at Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for your highly-valued feedback.

We are sincerely apologetic to hear that you were dissatisfied with our Cable’s Restaurant & Bar opening hours. Upon arrival, we inform guests of our Restaurant & Bar hours and the additional service of drinks and light snacks outside of restaurant hours, which can be obtained from reception. This information is also detailed in our information package guests receive upon check-in. We do sincerely apologise if this was not conveyed to you on arrival and we will certainly pass the feedback on to our Front Office staff as a friendly reminder for all future check-ins.

We too share your disappointment with the on-site day spa closure. Sorbet Day Spa was owned and operated by a third party company, which had no affiliation with Oaks. Due to unforeseen circumstances, Sorbet Day Spa was put in a position where it had to close its doors in June 2013. We are currently working on an alternative solution to complement the existing enjoyable and relaxing features of Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary.

We apologise that the in-room storage did not meet your requirements and we are currently exploring additional storage options to ensure that we meet the storage needs of all guests. If you should ever encounter this issue in future, please do not hesitate to notify staff at reception and we can arrange further storage.

It’s regretful to read that you did not take pleasure in the view from your balcony. Specific room locations are available on request and we will always endeavor to honour this request if possible.

I am, however, pleased to see that you found our location to be suitable. We find our location to be an enormous asset that caters to an array of guest’s holiday aspirations, whether it be one of privacy and relaxation or one of adventurous exploration.

Again, I thank you for your feedback and hope to offer you a more rewarding stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
354 reviews
29.1 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Broome
392 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#9 of 12 in Broome
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort

Address: 1 Lullfitz Drive | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Resort)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range: £58 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located just a short walk from the pristine sands of Cable Beach, and just a 5 minute drive from Chinatown and the heart of Broome, you can relax at this luxury Resort with the latest in modern facilities and amenities. The Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort features newly refurbished elegant modern designs which draw on modern tropical Broome architecture and colours. With fastidious attention to detail, these studio rooms and apartments introduce a new level of quality to the region nestled amongst landscaped tropical gardens and lagoon style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Broome Sanctuary Hotel
Clarion Broome
Broome Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing