We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for budget accommodation in central Perth”
Review of Townsend Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townsend Lodge
Ranked #27 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great for budget accommodation in central Perth”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

While it will never be mistaken for a luxury establishment, Townsend Lodge does provide secure, cheap accommodation right in the Perth CBD. Communication in relation to my resevation was prompt and correct. The room I stayed in was quiet and clean. There doesn't appear to be very many showers and toilets for the shared facility rooms but it wasn't a problem during my stay. I will definitely stay at Townsend Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangerous_talk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hostel is pretty dirty, and VERY noisy! I stayed in the main block, where the kitchen, reception and everything is located. The noise from the kitchen echoes throughout the block, making it so hard to sleep without ear plugs! If you're lucky enough to stay in the other block (not connected to main building) then it's very quiet.

I had no choice but to stay here for one month because I went to Perth for work purposes and accommodation was pre-booked.

The desk in my room was clean, the carpet looked ok and the bed seemed fine at first but it's not all clean. The walls were really stained, skirting board was filthy and the window ledge had a dead moth and other dead creatures. The worst thing, I kept getting bite marks around my feet, turns out, there were bugs on my bed! Since I found out at the end of my stay, I didn't tell reception.
The shared bathrooms were again, ok, but not the best in terms of cleanness.

However on the plus side: having your own room is nice, single room hostels are rare, the majority are shared rooms. You're allocated your own cupboard shelf space and fridge space. The staff are friendly and other guests are really chatty too which is nice. The lodge is really strict on evicting disruptive people.

I think this lodge is probably really good for heavy sleepers, and people who are fine with camping lifestyle. But if you're a light sleeper and afraid of dirt then do not stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CsLy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The twin rooms are so extremly small (and dirty), I just cannot believe it!
There is no real wardrobe in a twin room, just two beds, a commode and between every piece ca. 20 cm of space. Two people cannot stand in that room at the same time!
Facilities are old and tacky, rooms at the frontside are very loud because of the traffic.
The single rooms are not that bad, some of them are bigger than the twin rooms (because smaller is not possible!).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

It's so quiet that I wondered if there were other people in this place. Definitely a very good place for people who would like to sleep early and peacefully.

The building and interior is rather dated but everything is kept clean, neat and tidy. The kitchen is impeccable. Plenty of stoves, pots, pans and everything you can think of. This is the biggest kitchen I have ever seen in a backpackers.

Slightly pricier than the average backpacker though.

Location is good. Right in the CBD, near to Hay St and the main shopping area. Hitching a short free ride on a bus and walking for 10 minutes will get you to the bus and train station.

Pop behind the place and its the Swan river already! Nice place for a jog or stroll along the river :)

A backpacker was working at the reception and I didn't get very good service from him but I suppose they come and go so it would be a different person by now. Otherwise, most of the other staff are moderately friendly and helpful sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela_K09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I guess I have a different opinion about this lodge than most people do. Maybe I was lucky with the places I slept before. This is definately not the best one. There is a 24 hours check-in, if the reception is open though. The reception closes between 12 en 2 pm. I don't think the staff is that nice at all. If you ask them to help you out with something, they start sighing and moaning and looking at you like you're a pain in the a.. The hostel needs to be tuned up a bit. It is quite noisy with slamming doors, the bathrooms need a fix, the shower is low pitched (difficult to wash your hair)etc...I have been in better hostels than that. But the location is good and you have your own foodshelf, also in the fridge.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
237 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Townsend Lodge is in walking distance of CBD (one can even walk to the station). The rooms are small and simple but very clean and well kept. The staff are very friendly and most helpful. It is possible to check in 24 hours - an advantge with international flights to Perth arriving in the middle of the night.
The communal rooms are spacious, the kitchen area is very clean and very well organized.
(It is important, however, not to eat or drink in one of the two TV rooms.)
The guests are a good mix of ages and interests. I very much enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blauemadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

AU$42 for a single room on edge of CBD - great value. Pleasant staff, good facilities (kitchen/dining area is huge), clean and comfortable. Pleasant atmoshpere. Good location - easy walk to CBD and Swan River front. 15 mins walk from Train station. On many bus routes - including bus from Domestic Airport. Well recomended.

Room Tip: B block is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#50 of 64 in Perth
151 reviews
Duxton Hotel
#14 of 64 in Perth
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 49 in Perth
138 reviews
Perth CBD
Akara Hotel
Akara Hotel
#16 of 49 in Perth
10 reviews
East Perth
Exclusive Backpackers
Exclusive Backpackers
#33 of 49 in Perth
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Lodge

Property: Townsend Lodge
Address: 240 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Townsend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing