We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctive extrior, clean and excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #2 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Distinctive extrior, clean and excellent service!”
Reviewed 28 May 2011

It was quite difficult locating this hostel initially. However, its bungalow building exterior is pretty striking, so once you're near, you shouldn't miss it.

They didn't have many rooms. The one we had was quite small and unfortunately with no view. Nevertheless, all in all, the hostel was very clean, very well organized management and helpful staffs!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertaleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    70
    20
    18
    3
See reviews for
5
41
102
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2011

In comparison to other hostels I have stayed in Australia and overseas this hostel is well and truly a great stay. I continually come back every 3 weeks for my week off work as I find my greeting by the manager Adil and all other staff very welcoming. The rooms and bathroom/toilets are always clean and the cleaner does a great job and is a very nice lady. There is a really comfy and homey lounge area and an excellent undercover outdoor BBQ area with ample space to sit about and get to know other travellers or just to laze and read in the sunshine. There is a noise curphew due to being in a residential area which suits me. Location is also great, with the hostel being a very short walk to a few lovely parks, cafes and restaurants and just a 10min walk to the city. I recommend this hostel to many people.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enj0yItN0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Over the past months there have elements that point towards the owners of the hostel not wanting to spend money. Things have recently taken a turn for the better and i hope the owners see the benefitsw and continue to invest money and bring the hostel back to its decent past.

I have stayed here alot of the passed months and still feel there are less good places to saty in Perth. The residential location sets it from the rest and the ability to behave like a human without being signed in and out like some of the other hostels available to backpackers in Perth.

In review i like it and it will be my first choice for a place to stay and recommend to others.

Room Tip: All the rooms have quirk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Great hostel with friendly staff only a short walk to the CBD. The hostel has a relaxed friendly atmosphere and I was made to feel at home straight away.

Highly recommend this hostel and will stay here again when in Perth .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwide444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Many things wrong with this hostel, not many right. First off, thye messed up our booking, so we had to upgrade to a twin CELL. The manager did give us a cheaper rate so we didnt have to change rooms, but even still, it was over priced for the accomodation.

The 'Cleaner' was useless. She was always around giving people dirty looks and smoking, but the toilets and showers were never cleaned the whole time we were there.

The kitchen was very good, but if you didnt clean up straight away, a staff member would be on your case telling you to clean up your mess. Also, you can't drink at this hostel after 10pm, you can't drink INSIDE the hostel and you can't eat inside the hostel.

The air conditioning comes on at 10pm every night (if the member of staff remembers to turn it on) and is barely worth it.

All in all it is an ok hostel run badly. You cant tell who the staff are, the cleaner doesnt clean, and you cant relax inside, and you cant make noise anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I sent four emails prior to my arrival asking the same two questions. None of them were answered. That should have told me something- but I decided to go ahead with my booking. Unfortunately that was only the start of a horrible stay. Air conditioning is only turned on at 10:00pm every night and turned off by 6:00am. Not enough time to make my room cool, let alone have a good nights rest. Also contrary to their posting, we could not get wireless internet in our room. While a couple staff were friendly, the majority (including manager) were stand offish and rude. I would not recommend staying here if you want a good nights sleep and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Angell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I had intentions of staying in this hostel long term but the owners quickly changed my mind with there strick rules and ignorance. The toilets where not cleaned the whole time i stayed and even when i complained about the smell and filth caked to the bowl no action was taken.Maybe if the cleaner spent as much time cleaning as she did smoking and drinking cofee the hostel wouldnt be so dirty. The air con was only turned on at nite because the owners dont want u in the hostel during the day and never before have i been spoken to in such a rude way by both owners at seperate times for no reason other than there lack of communicating with there customers. If anything breaks it didnt look like they would try to fix or replace even the most essential items eg. washing machine, cooker, dinning table.There are so many other cheaper hostels with better facilities, cleaner but most of all friendly and helpful owners. But on a plus side the hostel as such great people and supervisors that stay there it has so much potential just lack of respect for the customers that in fact pay theese owners wages.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spunkytrunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 51 in Perth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
East Perth
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel

Property: Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
Address: 148 Palmerston St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel is a beautifully restored 4-star, backpacker accommodation and travellers hostel located close to Perth's shopping, dining and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witch`s Hat Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing