We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated website not a true reflection.”
Review of Pension Of Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Of Perth
Ranked #8 of 12 Perth B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outdated website not a true reflection.”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

On arrival, from outside there was a run-down feel about the place.However location was good, with eateries convenient and there was easy access to the city.
Central air conditioning was hardly 'climate controlled' as stated on the website and was switched on and off by the owners. Normally probably sufficient, but was inadeqate in the very hot weather at the time and quite noisy, especially as it was on all night.
The en-suite was built into a corner of the bedroom and was only suitable for one person at a time. The basin was so small and tight, it was difficult to lean over it.
The bed was a comfortable king, not queen as stated (and pictured) on the website. This is not a criticism, mentioned only to reflect another website inaccuracy.
There was no guests' lounge or pool as stated on website and nowhere to relax in comfort outside the bedroom in the hot weather.
Towels were not renewed daily, one small round of soap for 3 days was provided for two people and no hand towels. Some toiletries had obviously been used by previous guests and not replaced.
Breakfast was adequate, but far from 'first class' as described on website.
There was no off street parking as stated on website and with Hyde Park opposite, getting a spot was a bit hit and miss.
Good wi-fi internet and a desktop computer available was convenient.
Excellent large flat screen TV in the bedroom.
Cleanliness - dust on bedside lamps and very obvious under furniture was not good.
Steve and Hoon were friendly and helpful enough hosts.
Overall, this B & B seemed 'tired' and was not good value for money, compared with hundreds of other B & Bs we've stayed at and especially the 6 others we stayed at in Western Austraila on this trip. We go by website details to help us choose our B & Bs and accuracy is expected.

Room Tip: Brittany room has cramped ensuite in corner of room and is somewhat noisy in the mornings as it is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
25
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Le Grau-du-Roi, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed 5 days in P of P for a conference week. The room was very nice and friendly. It was cleaned and arranged every day when I was out and I felt just like being home when coming back. Steve and Hoon are very nice people, full of nice ideas of things to do and always ready to help (I could be a bike runner for my whole stay thanks to Hoon's sun bike!!). The place is near a very nice park and you can get downtown either by walking or by bus very easily. Definitively a place to be in WA.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I lob into Perth once a year for one night from the east (with time shift), and "P of P" provides an ideal place to recuperate to face another busy day on the road before flying home.

Steve and Hoon run a tidy establishment, quiet and unassuming, ideally located to the CBD (without being in it), near good eating in Northbridge (without the noise), easy parking (without the fees), and across the road from the delightful Hyde Park, where one can consult the ducks in the morning mist.

Room: Nice bed and furniture (slept 9 hours!). Bathroom: Small, clean with great showers. Breakfast: Heathly and tasty without being an overload (as some B&Bs ply you with) Atmoshere: Interesting 115yold tastefully brought up to date.

(They allow 1 night stays, which a lot of B&Bs don't.)

Have stayed in 3 rooms over the years, and will be back. Ed

Room Tip: One room doesn't have a window. Ask if this is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for one night and the welcoming by Hoon was very friendly though a bit chaotic, probably caused by the fact that her husband was abroad so that she had to manage everything by her own.
The room was a bit old fashioned as was the airco system.The beds were good, though and we had a nice sleep. Restaurants are close by although most of them were very basic and/or of the "fast-food" type. The B&B was in a nice residential area close to the beautiful Hyde park but a bit too far from the centre of Perth.
We found the B&B somewhat overprized but on the other hand we had a lot of laundry do0ne for 5$ only.
Finally I agree on the comments made concerning the breakfast: very basic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrielux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We found ourselves at Pension of Perth after another B'n'B 'lost' our booking and thank goodness. Hoon is delightful and has perfected the breakfast poached egg. We stayed in the Champagne Room and found it well decorated and tidy with a comfy bed. A leisurely walk into town will take you to some phenomenally tasty and cheap Chinese food (ask Hoon which restaurant is best). When next we travel to Perth we'll be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I travel for Buisness and found the French theme establishment quite and homely. Hoon and Steve are very nice people and the continental breakfast was just perfect. The park across the road made exercising so easy, could run and walk in a beautiful park, restaurants a five minute walk up the road. Couldn't fault the location for airport, food and hospitality. Hoon and Steve are very warm and friendly with there service and looking forward to my next stay with them which is on a 12 week cycle. Personally I wouldn't stay anywhere else makes business not so clinical. Highly Recommended. See you guys soon !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
230 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Visitors from the UK will find Australia expensive and, I'm told, Australians find Perth expensive. With our budget in mind and a 4-night stopover planned we opted for the Pension based on its previous reviews and the 'reasonable' price of 165 dollars per night. We stayed in the Champage Room. First the good points. Excellent, firm, king-size bed. Excellent, hot shower. Continental breakfast adequate. Friendly and helpful hosts, PC in the dining room with free internet access for research and on-line booking for flights etc. Good, quiet, location opposite a park and being about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Perth and 10/15 minutes to the nearest Blue CAT (free) bus service. The area of Northbridge with its many eating places is situated between the Pension and centre of Perth so a good place to eat either on the way back in the early evening or to go back out to after changing.
Now the bad points. The bedroom did not have an external window for natural light or ventilation (something that would breach building regulations in the UK). The shower room appeared to have been tagged on in an extension where the external window/door would have been meaning the only light and ventilation to the bedroom was 'borrowed' from the shower room. Staying for 4 nights we were surprised that neither the towels were changed at some point nor the toiletries replenished. And lastly whilst the room was superficially clean the cobwebs in the corners and on the centre light fitting and dust on the bed frame meant it had not had a proper clean for a while.
Last year we toured the Great Ocean Road and the Pacific Highway and stayed in some fabulous B&Bs at the same price as or less than the Pension so it was a disappointing comparison.

Room Tip: Would not recommend the Champagne Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 64 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Of Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Of Perth

Property: Pension Of Perth
Address: 3 Throssell St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Of Perth 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Pension of Perth" at 3 Throssell Street, Perth offers bed & breakfast accommodation for visitors to Perth. "Pension of Perth" is a true Federation tuck-pointed home (circa 1897) overlooking historic Hyde Park, one of Perth's most beautiful landmarks. The home is in a quiet, peaceful location and offers the utmost for those seeking luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in Perth.Our home is decorated to reflect the beautiful French provincial style. Each spacious bedroom has a private ensuite, colour television, climate control air-conditioning summer and winter. One of the rooms has a spa bath. We aim to ensure that while our homes are old, our facilities are second to none, each room offers an air of 'understated elegance'. All our bed & breakfast accommodation guests enjoy a first class breakfast each morning which can be taken on the front verandah looking on to the park or in the dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Of Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing