We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place to stay, minutes from City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Murray Hotel Perth
Ranked #5 of 21 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really great place to stay, minutes from City Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Didn't know what to expect but Murray Street was great! Huge room with all amenities of laundry room across the corridor. Really handy for transport as the Yellow CAT bus (free service) runs every minutes from the doorstep to Perth City Centre and connects with the trains. Don't expect cooked breakfast - its quick and easy cereal and toast with juices and coffee - but clean, friendly and fresh. There is a small pool to the rear. It's a quiet location, parks just down the street and easy for local shops. Would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniBolloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    55
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
41
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is my second stay at the Murray Hotel and it was as good as the first. The reception staff are all very helpful and friendly and made my stay a pleasure. No question was too silly and no request too large or too small. Everyone went out of their way to help.

The room was immaculately clean as was the bathroom which though tiny, was perfectly adequate for one person to be in at a time. The towels were very clean and absorbent and were changed daily during my 5 day stay.

The king size bed was very very comfortable, not too firm nor too soft. The linen was crisp and white and clean and it was my choice whether to have it changed daily or just pulled up. The little open hanging area had plenty of clothes hangers as well as a handy iron and ironing board. The coffee and tea was adequately supplied and topped up on request with no problems.

The room service was quick and reasonably priced and the food was very nice. We had the fish and chips and salad 4 nights running we enjoyed it so much! Each serving came with 2 piping hot crispy battered pieces of fish, a mountain of chips and lovely mixed salad and tartare sauce. Delicious!

We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to staying here again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - it is quiet and clean, has the CAT bus at the door and the staff are welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

On my visits to Perth I often only need a room for a couple of nights. This is the first time that I have stayed at the Murray Hotel on the corner of Murray and Thomas Street. Although I could book on line I rang the Hotel direct and spoke with Lisa, who was able to answer all my questions and I then made the booking over the telephone. On arrival we were also greeted by Lisa who was exceptionally friendly and helpful and gave me the fully run down of the hotel facilities. The rooms are as shown in the picture. Basic but very clean and comfortable. The shower room was small and basic BUT there was plenty of hot water and clean towels. Everything from the room. bathroom, entrance, bar and eating area, car parking etc was clean and was thoroughly clean and well maintained. In the room there was plenty of tea and coffee provided, there was also a flat screen TV and a hair drier. The other bonus was that there was free parking. The two meals that my guest and I had in the bar/eating area were delicious. I had steak with chips and salad and it was beautifully cooked. Any questions or concerns were addressed very quickly. As the hotel is on a corner of a busy road there is some traffic notice. Having travelled to many capital cities this would be expected. I found that b y 10am the traffic noise was very minimal and that the hotel provide great quality (not just basic cheap versions) ear plugs. Yes I heard some noise from the people in the room above me, and from the traffic, but this is not uncommon. If you are looking for clean, secure, reasonably prices basic accommodation then I would recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in had a king bed and single bed so would be ideal for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga,
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Murray Street Hotel was an excellent choice for a few days stay in Perth. The rooms were very generous size and immaculately clean. The staff extremely pleasant and helpful and although the hotel is older it is very well maintained. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay near the CBD without having to pay CBD prices, the free CAT bus stops right outside the door. Excellent semi budget hotel !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I live in the City of Perth. If you have ever seen the programme 'Deadwood' then you need to imagine a modern day version. This is it. I like a drink like the best of 'em, but this is full on drunken, ugly boom town stuff. Avoid. Go to Melbourne if you must. ....and this is from a sandgroper. Red Neck City? Yep. If that rattles your cage, then go for the over priced, Mining Owned (Mr.Burns from the Simpsons ain't in it) place. Go directly to Margaret River or Exmouth - where the beauty of Australia still lives.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank notouristattirepleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This Hotel used to be called Murray Street Lodge,but is now named,The Murray Hotel.
It is situated opposite the Princess Margaret Hospital in west Perth. It offers clean, affordable, basic accommodation for those travellers who want to be relatively close to the main shopping areas of Perth City.It is within walking distance of the Murray & Hay streets shopping areas but has the advantage of having a CAT Bus stop right outside the door of the hotel.
When I say walking distance I mean about 1.5 Kilometres. The CAT Bus is a free bus service which carries passengers around the CBD. There are 3 colour coded bus routes which cover virtually all of the main tourist attractions in the main city area.
The hotel is basic but it is probably one of the cheapest of hotels close to the CBD.The rooms come equipped with the basic essentials that budget travellers have come to expect, such as fridge, tea & coffee making facilities(with a stack of coffee & tea bag sachets on hand), iron, hairdryer & FREE WIFI!!
There is also a small pool in which you may cool off after a hard days shopping. The breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was basically corn flakes, toast, fruit & yoghurt, orange juice & tea or coffee; enough to get you going for the day.
Staff are very friendly & informative about the area in which they live & work. They could not do enough for us & for this I commend them. It is so nice to arrive at a hotel to be greeted by people who genuinely care about their customers but then this is what small hotels are all about. We had been to a sporting event on the Saturday afternoon & evening & arrived back at the hotel just before 9pm. Our hostess asked if we had eaten & told us that if we wanted they would keep the grill fired up so that we could order from room service, should we so desire. We did & the meal when it arrived was basic but nice & pleasantly cheap.
This hotel is a good choice for those travellers from the regions of Western Australia who want to stay in the city for a few days & who need a no frills sort of place to stay.
If I would make a criticism it would be about the size of the bathrooms which were TINY!! This however is not the fault of the owners but the person who designed the building in the first place. Having said that, the hot water was always hot & the towels etc were clean. I would recommend this hotel to those on a budget who dont expect nor wish to be fawned over. It is basic, friendly & close enough to the action without being on top of it. I might also point out that as it is located on a busy main road & the building itself is only about 5 stories tall, there is a certain amount of traffic noise. For the comfort of their guests the operators of this establishment even provided earplugs. For those who travel from the outer reaches of WA by car there is ample FREE parking which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Towards the back is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougFromAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybrook
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have stayed here twice and been really happy on both occasions. The rooms are very generous in size pleasantly decorated and clean. We had an upper floor room last time and larger ground floor this trip. Although only a couple we were given a family room that would have been quite ample for a small family. Although the hotel was full there was little noise and comfortable beds provided a good sleep. Continental breakfast is ample self=serve in pleasant meals/bar area. We have found the staff excellent on both stays. Great value for short trips to Perth

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#34 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murray Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murray Hotel Perth

Property: The Murray Hotel Perth
Address: 718 Murray St. | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Murray Street Lodge Hotel Perth)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Murray Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is the smallest, family run 3 1/2 star property in Perth with excellent customer service and a "home away from home" vibe. The hotel is walking distance to Kings Park, Perth Arena, Subiaco Oval and Leederville. It's an excellent location for self-drive guests as the hotel has free parking and is positioned just off the freeway exit. The hotel is great for overnight or short 2 to 4-night breaks in Perth for both the corporate guest and families. There is a free yellow CAT bus right outside the front door taking guests into the CBD, Elizabeth Quay and city shopping districts. It's the only hotel in Perth that offers a complimentary breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Murray Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing