We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Street Cafe not Bouchard”
Review of Bouchard - CLOSED

Bouchard
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: West Perth
Perth WA
Level Contributor
269 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Mount Street Cafe not Bouchard”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

First time here for a farewell lunch and the food was excellent and innovative with an Asian inspiration, the wine list had a few surprises on it, the service was up to scratch and price reasonable. Whats more I was able to get a parking spot right out the front. All over excellent

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpannerPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some Things Never Change”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have known this restaurant for several years since it claimed it's fame and fantastic reviews. However, the problem is always the same although the food can be amazing and some of the best you'll find in Perth the service is always unreliable. I truly believe this is down to the owner/manager as you do not have such a high turn over of staff if you look after your employee's. And if you do, in turn, your staff will look after your customers.

It's very simple, but it seems to be very hard for Mr Bouchard.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nuggett n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, poor service, Fawlty Toweresque”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have been to Bouchard on a number of occasions and the restaurant never failed to impress.

On this occasion, the expereince was an embarrasment. A celebratory lunch is meant to be celebrated by champagne. The restaurant had run dry!. Service was slow and unattentive even thoughthere were only three tables of diners. A steak which was asked to be cooked rare came out very well done. At $38 it was sent back. The ordered red wine was not available. The wait staff seemed more concerned with having breaks than attending on their diners and pouring drinks.

At over $100 a head for a cafe style lunch there is some expectation that there would be excepional food and service. The food was passable but completely wrecked by the poor service and lack of value for money. Will not be returning again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Konrad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“YAWN.”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

For a top 3 rated restaurant in Perth, I was quite disappointed with Bouchard.

Brought a birthday cake and was told off (rather unpleasantly by the blond floor manager as well and included the phrase "..because we have dessert here too.") that they would have to charge us a CAKE-AGE for $6 per person.

Waitress had a French accent to suit the restaurant, but fumbled around like a backpacker. Gave all of us menus to start off, then 2 mins later came back and took it off us before we placed our orders to give to other patrons.

Place is ridiculously small and the only redeeming factor is the 3m x 6m wallpapered wall with the fancy lighting which is what they sell on their website. The rest of the place looked like a cafe and 2/3 of the eating space is located al fresco.

Food, was good. We had the pigs head ballotine, the barramundi, beef fillet, and the pork fillet. Definitely fusion French.

But unfortunately the food was not good enough to redeem Bouchard after the whole experience was marred by the atrocious service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maymay777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wonderful food and service”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We booked in at Bouchard to celebrate our 9th wedding anniversary.
Service was excellent
Food was amazing - serving portions are small , delicate and amazingly presented ( alot of the food on the menu is fairly rich in flavour and intensity )
We went all 3 courses -
Entree : Duck liver ( me )
Pigs head ballontine ( partner )

Main : Salmon ( me)
Duck - breast and confie ( partner )

Sweets : Chocolate mousse like dessert ( me )
White chocolate soufle ( partner )

2 free amuse between entree and main and pre dessert.
Handmade chocolates with bill.

3 drinks ( house champagne / gin and tonic and glass red )

cost $200.00

well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank picklesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bouchard also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing