We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Remember and Like to Visit again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richards of Northbridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Perth B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Place to Remember and Like to Visit again.”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We enjoyed having time chatting to Richard as he has travelled all over the world and has a wealth of good advice about sights and sounds.Very Good breakfast which we had at brunch due to Jetlag.Good upstairs room with privacy and a view of the City.Very good cosy bed with good linen.Interesting visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed here during an exhibition and it was a fantastic relaxing escape from the days rat race. A nice residential location meant it was quiet and one could relax even on the balcony in the late afternoon into the evening.

The concept of having a small kitchen area was a great idea, with the fridge stocked with food to purchase, brilliant idea, the first time I have seen this.

Breakfast was excellent and all of the staff top to bottom were very professional and helpful.

Great location and I look forward to coming back

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at Richard's in March whilst looking for a flat to rent in Perth. We had the large downstairs room which included a fridge, tv, our own private bathroom next door and a private courtyard with views of the city. It was a lovely place to stay and we were treated to cooked breakfasts every morning and 5 star hospitality! Neil gave us lots of great information about Perth and even dropped us at the car hire place. I would highly recommend staying at Richards!

Room Tip: The downstairs room has a private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kath31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Richard’s, owned and operated by the affable, Panama hat wearing, Richard Haye, is a small bed and breakfast establishment for gay men in Perth’s inner city Northbridge, a fifteen minute stroll from the central business district.

Unlike the Hilton, there is no uniformity with bed and breakfasts. Some are brilliant, some are lousy. Unless you’ve been to the place before, you go in blind.

Richard’s is a small, early 20th century, worker’s cottage with a modern (but very mid 1980’s in decor) two story extension at the rear which houses the two main guest rooms.

The guest rooms are simply furnished, but comfortable. The two main rooms are both large, have ensuites, air conditioning, bar fridges, clock radios, and small televisions. Richard services the rooms daily and at the price he charges, they are good value. The top room has city views, the bottom room has its own courtyard. There is a smaller single room downstairs at the front of the house.

The living and kitchen areas you share with Richard. There is a dining room but the room and table is so small it was easier to perch at the kitchen bench and gossip with the host as he prepared breakfast. The room rate includes cooked breakfast.

There is a comfortable lounge area with a large television, books, DVD’s, and all the paraphernalia of Richard’s life.

It’s not luxurious, but it’s comfortable. It’s like sharing a house with that vaguely eccentric uncle your mother always warned you against. It’s not boring.

Rates range between AUD$70 and $120 per room per night depending on how many are in the room.

Whilst Richard’s is a gay establishment, he would never be so crass as to refuse entry to gay friendly heterosexuals. A propensity towards alcohol and cigarettes will always win his favour. However, his bed and breakfast does not cater for children.

I like any bed and breakfast where the host makes you the odd gin and tonic and on my last night brought me martinis while telling me Noel Coward stories at a local bar . To top it off, Richard drives you to the airport on the day you leave, gratis. You just don’t get that at the Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Ben_C_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 64 in Perth
431 reviews
Miss Maud Hotel
#8 of 64 in Perth
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,532 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 64 in Perth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richards of Northbridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richards of Northbridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Richards of Northbridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 165 Brisbane St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small homely ensuite B&B one KM from city centre. Enjoys many repeat guest stays. B&B is a terrace house circa 1896 with a new wing 2001 at the rear overlooking the city skyline. This is where the large ensuite queen guest rooms are situated. The downstairs room has a private courtyard for smokers and an outside bath. Hearty English breakfasts are enjoyed in the dining room or kitchen. Guest lounge has DVDs and open fireplace. Guest rooms have A/C, ceiling fans, TV, hairdryer, radio, Fridge and tea /coffee facilities. Upstairs room has queen and single bed for triple occupancy.With Perth Airport open 24 hours we try and be as flexible as possible for our guests travelling needs.There are free CAT buses around the city. The B&B is owned and run by Richard and Neil who have been in the hospitality and tourism business for 35 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing