We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer and lunch Wow”
Review of Ironbark Brewery

Ironbark Brewery
Ranked #699 of 1,390 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beer and lunch Wow”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hi went back to the Ironbark Brewery on Friday for lunch had the fish and chips or wedges and salad beautiful the fish melts in your mouth. Also it is a big serving. The ginger beer is a hit so is the golden wheat beer. Ginger beer is alcoholic and non-alcoholic. You can have the pizzas cooked in the pizza oven to your own choice. Garden sitting great so relaxing just love it. So do my parents.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherriann55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    11
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“give this place a miss”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Give this place a miss we booked for mothers day lunch. When we arrived the table we were seated at was awful and the service was poor. Food was pretty ordinary could cook better at home . The beers weren't very nice and the full range wasn't available. Not worth the drive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Beer in a very rustic setting.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place has so much potential, it has character, space, great ambience and the beer is cold and delicious but the food we ordered, except for the pizza, was very average and nothing that anyone could not make for themselves at home, the wedges however were great.
We went there for lunch one Sunday as we were looking for someplace new and different and Ironbark Brewery is definitely not your run of the mill restaurant/pub.
There were four of us and we ordered the Stockman’s Grilled Corned Beef Baguette with pickled onion, sweet mustard, cheese and gherkin, the Shearer’s Grilled Chicken with avocado, tomato, mayonnaise, cranberry sauce & rocket and the Continental Grilled Vegetarian Baguette
with grilled eggplant, fetta, fire roasted capsicum, olives, fresh basil & mayo. All were $15 for the basic baguette and if you want wedges these were an extra $3. While all three were fairly tasty, our general feeling was they were a bit over priced, the filling seemed a bit sparse and they were nothing special and could easily be made at home. The only meal of substance was the small pizza with "the works" this looked delicious and all of us felt we should have ordered this rather than our baguettes. The small pizza is more than adequate for a light lunch and at $17.50 was reasonable value for money.
The beer however was very good, at $10 for a pint and $6 for a middy it was pricey compared to what is available in a regular bar but this seems about average for a micro brewery that makes its own beer on site. My friend had a tasting tray of 5 x 80 mm samples of the draught on tap and enjoyed them all, the Hannan's lager was particularly refreshing. Bottled beer made in the brewery is also on sale at $25 for a 6 pack and $65 for a carton. Wine, red and white, by the glass or bottle is also available.
Customers have the option of being seated inside a rustic building, near the bar or outside in a courtyard under the trees which, to us, was the far better option and had character and ambience in abundance. An unexpected but welcome addition was the live music performed by a very talented singer, apparently there is live music most weekends.
For me, the acid test of a restaurant is when I ask myself "would I come back here?", for Ironbark Brewery the answer is a bit complicated as "yes" I would return, they did nothing wrong, but this would be unlikely as there are so many other places to try in the Swan Valley and there was nothing really special enough to choose it over a new and untried place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandLiz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New fav!!! :D”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

went down a few wednesdays ago and have been ever since. The thing that stands out in this place is that i can just roll up with some mates have a beer, a pizza and relax, NO city rush, NO 10,000 people crammed into a venue so small that you spill your beer all over the guy next you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned service”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

What I like about this place is the furniture. It looks like its been taking out of the shed or a verge collection.
The beer is brilliant with heaps of variety. The food is good. The place has great atmosphere. The only drawback is its size and layout. It would be better if a little larger.

Helpful?
Thank Doorne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironbark Brewery also viewed

Henley Brook, Swan Valley
Henley Brook, Swan Valley
 
Henley Brook, Swan Valley
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Middle Swan, Swan Valley
 

Been to Ironbark Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing