We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice chinese cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Joy Garden Sea Food Restaurant - CLOSED

Joy Garden Sea Food Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice chinese cuisine”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Me and wife together with my friend/ his wife, all 4 of us went there for dinner
Sweet & sour pork is good, I will order again next time
Eggplant claypot is nice, but I think it is a bit too oily but it is acceptable
Beancurd with mixed vegetable in the claypot is nice
Beef fried rice is nice, tend to be a bit too salty and oily
Fish fillet stir-fried with snow pea is nice, it would be better if served without the chilli as it tend to be a little spicy
Spring roll is average, nothing great about it
We waited for more than 30 miniutes, or maybe 45 minutes to get our food, although it is not a great deal but surely worth to improve (only 4 to 5 tables at that time)
In summary, I don't mind to go there again and try somethig else

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PER468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
MALTA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We went to Joy Garden on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed. A vast selection of dim sum - soft shell crab, dumplings, squid, and many more. The pork belly was divine! Keep up the good work. Dim sum for three people - AUD$ 72! Will definitely go there again next time I'm in WA.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank octopusMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice yum cha, not outstanding and not substandard”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a 9 course yum cha lunch using an online discount voucher I purchased. We went on a weekday at 1130 AM, we didn't have to wait for a table, the staff were polite and moderately attentive.
The impression I got was we could eat until we were full so long as it was the 9 dishes on the voucher. That seemed to be the case because we got a few extra plates but still didn't have to pay anymore.
Quality wise it was OK but not fantastic.
It was very good value for money with the voucher but I don't think I would have been happy paying double the price without the voucher.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yum Cha Yum!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Sunday morning is not complete without Yum Cha. A new place for me this week and what a great find! Walked in, seated straight away and served within 2 mins. Try the deep fried pork dumplings, chive dumplings and the roast pork. Gotta love chili and garlic deep fried tentacles...burping garlic all day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dim Sum”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Always busy Saturday/Sunday lunch time, but there never seems to be a long wait for a table. The staff are friendly and don't make you feel under pressure to eat and leave. There is a menu available, but generally you choose from a trolley offering a wide variety of hot, fresh dim sum. The staff note down what you have ordered. The food looks so amazing that you tend to order with your eyes and end up very full. Best of all it's all quite cheap too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joy Garden Sea Food Restaurant also viewed

 
East Victoria Park, Perth
South Perth, Perth
 
East Victoria Park, Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing