We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern, very friendly, extremely overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very modern, very friendly, extremely overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

The staff (especially Jordan and Joshua) were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel is in the centre of the city and very well located near shops and restaurants. The food, although very limited, was very tasty. The room was comfortable and well equipped. The only negative aspect was the price. It was the most expensive hotel room I have ever booked, yet it was probably only a 3.5 star standard. No doubt many Perth hotels are trying to cash in on the mining boom.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Stephen W

I was delighted to read your trip review and thank you very much for taking your time to write about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate the recognition you bestowed on two of our team members who were really inspired and grateful for your acknowledgement. We are very happy you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and efficient as we focus on delivering to all our guests a warm, relaxing and wonderful guest experience.

With respect to your comments on price of the rooms in Perth, the prices set are a factor of the market we operate and we are always trying to remain competitive throughout the week and on weekends.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Perth City Centre when you next visit our great state.

Kind regards
Deane Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    326
    111
    20
    14
See reviews for
143
214
66
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I really expected much better rooms and facility at the price I paid for. Breakfast was not that great and was expensive for it's variety and spread. But location was superb that compensated all other negatives. I think this is the best available hotel in that area of Perth.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pknijhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear pknijhawan,
I do appreciate your time to provide your feedback on you recent stay.
I certainly acknowledge your comments around the price paid for the room and breakfast which offers us the opportunity to review our prices and breakfast offering for the future.
I do agree with your comment about our location which is awesome as noted by many of our guests.
When you are next ravelling to Perth, we do hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn.

Kind regards
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My family & I stayed in the Family suite at The Holiday Inn City Centre, Perth in February this year for 5 nights & I must say that the service was very warm & friendly besidses the room size being suitable for 4 - 5 persons. The location being in the heart of the city was ideal & strategic for travel to surrounding areas as well as for shopping & plenty of nice dining around. Will definitely consider to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Kiri T,
Thanks so very much for the review for our hotel. I am delighted to hear that our staff were warm and friendly which is what we strive to achieve every day. Our team at the hotel is always focused on providing a wonderful experience for our guests and there is no doubt they are our best asset along with our fantastic location.
We certainly can’t wait to see you at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre next time you and your family visit our wonderful city.
Kind regards
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The mining boom has left Perth CBD a little behind. Hotels are charging top dollar for what are very average rooms.

The hallways and lifts in the Holiday are very dated, it's tired, but they have made some effort in the rooms and the beds are comfy and well appointed.

1000mb of free Internet is very handy

The hotel gives you access to good gym accross the road but be warned - if you are a Mac fan, there is an apple store next door !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DzeeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear DzeeCanberra,
I am grateful to you for taking the time to write about your stay. I certainly note your comments around the prices charged in Perth which are a factor of market demand at this time.
We often have guests comment, and indeed you can see this on Trip advisor, in regards to our comfy beds and the Apple store next door and I am pleased you felt the same.
We hope to see you when you next visit Perth again.
Kindest regards
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel was clean and light however had no real feeling to it. The bed was nice and big. I like to stay at a hotel with a bit of ambience and this doesn't have any (for me anyway). It is in an excellent spot if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep. I wouldn't want to hang out here other than to snooze. The staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandtraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear islandtraveller72,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the big bed but disappointed that you didn't have a wonderful experience that we aim to provide for all our guests. We really value your feedback and continually aim to improve our guest experience and will contact separately to further discuss your stay with us.
There is no doubt our central location is in a great spot which provides our guests with easy access to anywhere in the city.
We do hope next time you visit Perth you will choose to stay with us again.
Warm regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here as a family of 4, we had a room on the 2nd floor without any view, we had 2 double beds and the pillows were comfortable, the bathroom was a little dated and although I booked for 2 adults and two children there were only 2 towels in the bathroom and we had to go and ask for 2 more.

The cost was well priced other than the additional $29 charge for valet parking. On checking out we went to valet and found our car which was stuck behind a family trying to fit their baby seat and we could not leave as it was a drive way and we were stuck behind them.

The hotel itself is central to everything in the city and we went for some lovely walks looking at the amazing restored buildings, we also found it easy to get to and from attractions.

Overall we would stay again. Prehaps upgrading our room next time if we stay for longer than one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GABETJTBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear GABETJTBC,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really do appreciate your feedback as it is a great way to understand how we can improve our service i.e. only having two towels in your room.

It sounds like you and your family got to see quite a bit of Perth and with the hotel being one of the most central locations in Perth it certainly does make it very easy to catch a CAT or jump on a train to Fremantle or simply walk around our amazing city.

We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre when you next visit Perth.

Kindest regards,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed there 2 weeks and enjoyed it. THe staff was polite and swift to my requests, the room was well kept, there was even some complementary Shiraz wine! Good and healthy breakfast. Of course, strategically located (on the side of the apple store :), in the center business district). Very short distance from the river where I could kick back and run my 5k avery day after work in a wonderful surrounding. Then, there are some nice restaurants around and posh shopping.
Well, all was not perfect, but not particularly because of the hotel: every hotel in perth makes you pay the parking an outrageous fee per day, that adds to the bill to the tune of 30 aus$ per day!

Room Tip: HIgher floors offer a nice view on harbor or downtown and are less noisy during the weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagittarius111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear sagittarius111,
We very much appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review. It is great to read you really enjoyed your time in Perth and with us at the hotel. Our location is certainly special as you have commented and we are a short walk to the Swan River and Kings Park where the views are stunning.
I am delighted you found our staff to be polite and fast to action any of your requests which is what we strive for at the Holiday Inn. With respect to parking we are pleased to inform that we are one of the less expensive for parking in the city as we have endeavoured to keep prices reasonable.
When you are next travelling to Perth, we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre.

Kind regards,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Address: 778 - 788 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#8 Family Hotel in Perth
#10 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#15 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Perth City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre offers you the excitement, ease and convenience of our unbeatable inner city location. Situated directly on Hay Street at the heart of Perth's main business and retail district, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, theatres and boutique shopping. Perth Arena, Perth Convention Centre, Kings Park and the Swan River are only a stroll away. Secure parking, free inner city transport and the nearby ferry terminal and railway station make it easy to get around, and our friendly capable team is always ready to support you and share local knowledge. Holiday Inn Perth City Centre is also Perth's Best Hotel for Business Travellers. It's renowned for outstanding facilities and service. A 4 1/2 star hotel with Perth corporate headquarters at the doorstep, your accommodation could not be more conveniently located to do business in. With first-class meeting facilities, 24-hour reception and concierge, onsite business centre, parking and Wi-Fi, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre provides a convenient base for Perth's corporate and business hotel guests. With the best location, friendly staff and stylish accommodation, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre has everything you are looking for in a Perth CBD hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre on Hay Street delivers the best hotel experience, great value and allows you to simply be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Perth City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing