We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favourite hotels to stay while in Perth City. It is very well located, lots of shops and cafés nearby. The beds are so comfy with plenty of pillows. The staff on this occasion were very friendly and check in was fast and fuss free. As an IHG member I was given a complimentary newspaper delivered to my room, as well as some lollies in the evening. Didn't eat this time at the hotel, but on previous occasions have and the food has been okay. The room was on the second floor but was super quiet and nice and dark. All in all a good stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OzfamilyPerthHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    350
    114
    20
    15
See reviews for
160
224
69
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Brilliant location - close proximity to the Murray St mall, Raine square and train station. Bed was comfortable. Staffs were friendly and showed great flexibility and initiative. Housekeeper was honest as she helped placed a piece of jewelleryi dropped on the floor, on the table. Everything we experienced in those five days were a great indication of the training and careful selection of staffs- reception, seven 88 staffs, husekeeping, etc. Overall a wonderful experience and would recommend anyone visiting Perth to book with holiday inn (can't stress that enough)!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaclynNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Had a day's layover in Perth before heading off to the airport the next morning. Chose this one because of my status in the IHG program. Not that it was cheap. Nothing was cheap in Perth !

I wasn't expecting too much from this stay given some of the reviews. I was curious as to how much recognition they would give my Plat status. They did acknowledge it and offer to bring a bottle of wine to our room. But they would not give me an upgrade. No way, no how. I even asked VERY politely ! :)

While the rooms were a bit tired, they were clean and smelled good. We had a dble twin (traveling with wife and child), and they were very adequate. AC worked fine and was actually fairly quiet. (no trying to sleep through Boeing 737-like noises), and (wonder of wonders) there were even two power points empty so I could plug in a couple of chargers ! I'm not quite sure what most hotel room designers are thinking when they design the obstacle course power point search. (under the desk, behind the TV around the chair ect, ect)

Great location, good selection of cafes/restaurants right outside.
All the staff we came in contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. From the young man that checked us in, to the individual that brought our amenities, to the bar staff from whom we requested extra ice. Staff was impressive !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Usozzie,
Thank you for your review on our trip site and choosing to stay with us on your recent layover in Perth. We are delighted to hear from our IHG Rewards members and appreciate all our valued guest reviews as this helps us to improve our services and facilities. We are very sorry that we could not offer you’re an upgrade in this instance as part of being an IHG Rewards Platinum member, you are entitled to an upgrade based on the hotels availability, regretfully on this day we did not have the availability which I do apologise for. Please be assured we are very conscious of our loyal IHG Reward member benefits and make every effort to uphold these.
I’m pleased to read that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy your time at our hotel, without the aeroplane noises in the room or the stress of hunting for a free power point. I was delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly and willing to assist you throughout your stay as this is the level of service we strive to achieve very day for every guest.
We wish you and your family a very Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year.
Warmest regards
Deane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location when visiting Perth, this hotel is literally right in the centre of the city. Walking from the hotel is easy and the free tourist Cat Buses pass right outside the front door.

Rooms are a good size, although starting to show signs that they may need a refurb soon.

Staff are excellent and always happy to help.

We would return here on our next visit to Perth.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattUKManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is in a good location though Hay Street is one way so that makes access by car more difficult. Parking at the hotel is very expensive but then overnight parking in Perth is not much cheaper, so you pay for the convenience. The entrance lobby and bar have been smartened up, but this standard of decor stops once you head for your room. Carpets are dark and may be clean but don't look it. The rooms aren't well furnished. Drawer space is limited and the armchair provided is very uncomfortable. The fridge is emptied, you have to request minibar items, which is good, as I didn't want or need them. I was in Perth for an extended business trip so after a while the most important thing becomes how easily you can live in the space provided. Key to this is the staff who are without exception very friendly and helpful. The location is good, with plenty of bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. If you are into luxury designers good shopping you are in exactly the right place. All the major fashion and luxury brands have an outlet nearby. I didn't use the hotel restaurant much, but when I did I found the hot buffet breakfast was excellent, with eggs cooked to your order rather than sitting over the heat for a long time. Full room service is available, but I used the "take inn" room service option a few times, which is food served takeaway style. No frills (or plates), it comes served in a box but this cuts the price down and the quality is still very good. There is a guest laundry available if you don't want to pay sky high hotel prices for valet laundry. Beware also the internet charges. Wireless is free in the lobby and this might be a better option for basics like checking email. There is also an Apple store next door which has free wireless which you can pick up outside. Overall I'd recommend this hotel, for business or tourist guests, mainly for the outstanding quality of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlagged55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucaon, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I spent two weeks in the Perth Holiday Inn. This was more than enough time to see the good and the bad. There is far more bad than good. Aside from location I really am struggling to think of a positive. Once checked in you are treated by dark and dingy hallways with stained carpet that was layed down in the mis 1980's. Once in the room you will be treated with stained carpets and a dirty bathroom. Be papared to wear flip flops at all times in your room. All surfaces are covered with hair or mold. I beleive that when the rooms are not occupied the staff shaves monkeys and leaves the hair behind. The shower was covered by mold. Requests to the cleaning crew were ignored and more hair added to the floor.

But wait there is more...the wifi is painfully slow and the hotel man ament may decide to do electrical work in middle of the night so the emergancy light turns on and wakes you up...thanks for that Holiday Inn!

I am suggesting my company no longer use this hotel and suggest you, the reader, I would also suggest you do not stay at the Perth Holiday Inn either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sim06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear sim06,

Thank you for writing your review on your recent experience whilst staying with us and I am so very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to contact you to discuss your stay experience so I have sent you a private message and would be happy to connect with you directly.

I would like to assure you our focus is always on delivering a wonderful guest experience and are always disappointed to hear or read when our guests did not enjoy their stay with us.

I look forward to connecting with you and hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Perth.

Kind regards
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

No pool, service in buffet breakfast substandard and really no value for money. Couldn't even get pancakes at buffet! Have stayed here 3 times prior but since pool closed-hotel may as well
close. Will never stay here again. 8-(

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholina74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Nicholina74,
Thanks so much for your review which was certainly disappointing to read.
I certainly understand how you feel, but I would like to re-assure you that we are always working to ensure we delight our guests by delivering wonderful service. With respect to your points above please be assured I have examined these with my Leadership team and taken the appropriate action.
In regards to the pancakes, whilst these are not on the buffet they are available and freshly prepared on request. We have updated our signage to ensure “pancakes” on order is clearly visible for guests when entering the restaurant.
By way of explanation about not having a pool available, we removed the pool due to very limited use to make way for a planned refurbishment which will see an increase in capacity in the F&B area on the ground floor which will improve this amenity. For information, we recently developed an alternative option for guests who wish to use a pool which is available now.
Again, our apologies and we are all disappointed you won’t be staying with us again, however, if you would like to discuss your comments with me directly I would be delighted to hear from you and can be contacted through my email address Deane.Palmer@ihg.com.
In the meantime, I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas, a Happy New year and successful 2014.
Kindest regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,530 reviews
Mercure Perth
#22 of 64 in Perth
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Address: 778 - 788 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#12 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Perth City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre offers you the excitement, ease and convenience of our unbeatable inner city location. Situated directly on Hay Street at the heart of Perth's main business and retail district, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, theatres and boutique shopping. Perth Arena, Perth Convention Centre, Kings Park and the Swan River are only a stroll away. Secure parking, free inner city transport and the nearby ferry terminal and railway station make it easy to get around, and our friendly capable team is always ready to support you and share local knowledge. Holiday Inn Perth City Centre is also Perth's Best Hotel for Business Travellers. It's renowned for outstanding facilities and service. A 4 1/2 star hotel with Perth corporate headquarters at the doorstep, your accommodation could not be more conveniently located to do business in. With first-class meeting facilities, 24-hour reception and concierge, onsite business centre, parking and Wi-Fi, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre provides a convenient base for Perth's corporate and business hotel guests. With the best location, friendly staff and stylish accommodation, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre has everything you are looking for in a Perth CBD hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre on Hay Street delivers the best hotel experience, great value and allows you to simply be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Perth City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing