We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location & Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed with my wife from 21st to 24th of Jan 2014. As everybody else said, location is best....the only two other hotels that can match this location are rydges and ibis, while all others even the famous ones are far inferior location-wise. Perth Underground station is at a stone's throw, which makes this place wonderfully well connected.

About the hotel, it is a nice basic hotel. I had booked a normal/ standard room and was surprised with the tiny size of the room. My room was 526, which is on the back side with not much to view from window but quieter as it is away from the street.

Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, am grateful for that. I became IHG rewards club member after booking this trip at the hotel and the hotel was kind enough to extend me a free wifi and free daily newspaper during my stay, which was awesome. Another awesome thing was the availability of both soft and hard pillows with label on them, which we appreciated a lot as my wife likes to sleep on soft while I prefer hard/ firm.

We did encounter some housekeeping issues when we saw stains on our used cups/ mugs after the room was refreshed and provided feedback on that during check-out. I believe cups and mugs should be replaced every time and should be sanitized in a dishwasher before being returned to the room, but I have found that 90% of hotels do not practice it, so I normally keep disposable paper cups with me. Another thing that bothered us was the cost of mineral water bottles, a 600ml cost us around $4 and 1L or 1.5L was around $6 or $7, which we found to be pretty unreasonable. The range of movies available on MOD (movies on demand) was good but the prices can be a wee-bit reasonable.

Overall it was a good stay and I would certainly recommend the hotel.

Thanks,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NQ8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear NQ8286,
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback from your recent stay with us, we are always delighted to receive feedback from our guests as it assists us to continuously improve our service. There is no doubting our location in the heart of the city makes it so easy to discover what Perth has to offer and get around. With respect to your room and for future reference, you were allocated to a corner room which are slightly smaller than other rooms available within the hotel, but they have the added benefit of being quieter.
With respect to your comments about the housekeeping, please be assured this is not the standard we strive for and I have discussed your comments with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure this not occur again in the future for any of our guests.
Congratulations on joining IHG Rewards as the membership certainly does have great benefits as you have noted, further the points don’t expire so you can build these over time and you can use the IHG Rewards membership in any IHG hotel worldwide, along with building your membership to a Platinum status which offers even more advantages.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre when you next visit Western Australia.
Warmest regards,
Deane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a very central hotel on the CAT 2 bus route and very central to all the loacl shops and leisure facilites.

We were a little concerned reading the previous reviews about the breakfast being not up to parr, but having stayed there for a week I can heartily refute this, as we had a different breakfast each morning, with plenty of variety to choose from.

The rooms were spotless and the staff extremely helpful, although the decor could do with a little attention, which I understand is happening later this year (2014).

There is a good restaurant, if you do not want to eat out every night and an extremely useful washing room, so that you do not have to take all your dirty washing home.

All in all - thank you Holiday Inn, you helped make our trip to Oz very memorable for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi Kelvin B
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre.
I am extremely pleased to read that you were able to make use of our on-site facilities, such as our laundry, 788 Bar and Café and Level One breakfast room. I am especially delighted that you found our breakfast to be ample with variety so you were able to enjoy something new each day during your stay with us.
Our location in the heart of Perth CBD certainly makes it easy to explore what Western Australia has to offer, you have the free CAT buses around the CDB and the train or boat down to Fremantle; these options are all within a walking distance for your convenience.
Proms from Exeter, thanks again for your comments and we hope you are able to visit us again in the near future.
Best wishes,
Deane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Comfortable room, large enough for three. Clean, tidy, more than adequate. Hotel has restaurant and bar at ground level and an outdoor area out the front where you can sit and relax after a hard day's shopping. As many other reviews indicate the hotel's location is one of its biggest assets.
We used the valet parking and it is as expensive as any other hotel. There really is no suitable parking alternative if you are driving.
Staff were friendly, our room was serviced daily. WiFi available.
No swimming pool, although I understand the hotel can make other arrangements but I do not know what they are.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Phillip8789,

We appreciate you taking a moment of your time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I must agree with you, our location in the heart of Perth CBD certainly makes it easy to get around. For future visits, we also offer a cost effective option of $20 self-parking at a nearby public car park. As you mentioned, our alfresco area is a great space to relax and enjoy the environment with all the activity happening around the hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the rooms to be comfortable for you and your family, along with the friendly service from our staff; I’ll pass on your feedback to the team.

We hope the New Year brings you and your family good fortune and look forward to welcoming you all back to Western Australia soon!

Kindest wishes, Deane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great rates, friendly service right in the center. And it's a Holiday Inn so you know exactly what to expect re the rooms. I am an IHG Gold member and was treated amazingly well. I was given a welcome bottle of wine, water, chocolates, nuts and chips. Offered a 2pm late checkout, newspaper and received free internet. I was upgraded to a queen executive room which was decently large and had a work desk and lounge chair to sit in, although the courtyard view left a bit to be desired. The queen bed was on the small side however (more like a large double). They offer soft and firm pillows (nice touch) and an iron/board, flat screen TV and fridge. The worst part of the room is the shower (the shower head is more of a spray and you can't move it).

The location is exactly where you'd want it to be if you could pick - right near the CBD, train station, and bridge to Northbridge (the fun bar/restaurant area). The don't have a gym however and although they've made arrangements with one across the street, the hours are ridiculous. Open 9-1pm on weekends. Not exactly flexible. Still better than nothing I guess.

I stayed at another hotel in Perth and this one was definitely better. No surprises here - you know what to expect.

Room Tip: Courtyard is quiet - but no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear TravelinShane,
Thank you for your time to write a review from your recent stay at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre. I was very happy to read that you had no surprises during your stay with us and we met your expectations, this is what we strive to achieve with all our guests.
With regards to your comment around the off-site gym, we are currently reviewing our options for this amenity, watch this space.
TravelinShane, we look forward to welcoming you back to the heart of Perth city when you next visit Australia.
Kindest regards,
Deane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A chain hotel that has great rooms, very clean and friendly staff. Great breakfast and comfy bed. A short stay (2 nights) but perfect for business traveller. You can walk out the front around the corner to a heap of great shops and bars, including the Belgium Beer Cafe - yum.

Room Tip: All good nothing specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Greg B,
Thanks for taking a moment of your time to write a review with regards to your recent stay with us. We certainly have a wide variety of restaurants and bars nearby for you to be able to relax and unwind after a busy day of meetings or shopping; that’s one of the great benefits of our location.
We very much appreciate your comments about our hearty breakfast, friendly staff, clean rooms and I will ensure your comments are passed around to all staff.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip out West.
Kindest regards,
Deane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Every few months we stay here as a family, we can often get one room to take the four of us with breakfast included for around $180. We find the hotel location great, the bar and restaurant are perfect for our needs too. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The one negative is that they don't have the swimming pool anymore.

We love it here, however, the prices can change and are sometimes too much.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel look at nothing, try and get a room at the front looking out to the road. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GKPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear GKPerth,
We appreciate you taking your time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page. I’m pleased to read that as a loyal guest of Holiday Inn Perth City Centre you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff who are willing to go above and beyond for our guests.
I am delighted to inform you that we now have access passes to the Beatty Park leisure centre; whether you are visiting in summer or winter you will be able to enjoy the many different swimming pools on offer at this leisure centre. If you would like to enjoy these facilities please see reception on your next stay.
Thanks again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre.
Warmest regards,
Deane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We managed to get a really good rate for a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Perth City Centre. We booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child and requested a quiet room on a high floor on the online booking. When we checked in, we had indeed got what we requested. The room was on the 7th floor and facing inwards (away from the streets and the elevators). There is no view - but this is to expected when booking a city centre hotel.
This hotel follows the Brand Standards for Holiday Inn and so if you are familiar with the brand you shouldn't be disappointed.
We didn't eat at the hotel as there are so many other options around so I can't comment on that.

Location is fantastic if you want to do shopping or visit the Perth Arena and ideal if you do not have a car as the buses and taxi rank are nearby.

It is a shame that this hotel is such a corporate hotel as it means the rates are typically out of our price range when visiting Perth otherwise we would most certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We got room 709 which was high up and faced inwards which meant there was no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissBehavingAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear MissBehavingAgain,
We appreciate you taking your time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to read that you found our Holiday Inn Brand Standards familiar and accommodating for you and your family.
Thank you for understanding that being an inner city hotel can limit the chance of a view, although we do have the convenience of Location with great shopping and dining options all within walking distance so you don’t really need your vehicle while staying with us.
We have some great weekend rates throughout the year and would recommend checking our IHG website for the best price.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the city centre sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Deane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,356 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,433 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Address: 778 - 788 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#10 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#12 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £77 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Perth City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre offers you the excitement, ease and convenience of our unbeatable inner city location. Situated directly on Hay Street at the heart of Perth's main business and retail district, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, theatres and boutique shopping. Perth Arena, Perth Convention Centre, Kings Park and the Swan River are only a stroll away. Secure parking, free inner city transport and the nearby ferry terminal and railway station make it easy to get around, and our friendly capable team is always ready to support you and share local knowledge. Holiday Inn Perth City Centre is also Perth's Best Hotel for Business Travellers. It's renowned for outstanding facilities and service. A 4 1/2 star hotel with Perth corporate headquarters at the doorstep, your accommodation could not be more conveniently located to do business in. With first-class meeting facilities, 24-hour reception and concierge, onsite business centre, parking and Wi-Fi, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre provides a convenient base for Perth's corporate and business hotel guests. With the best location, friendly staff and stylish accommodation, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre has everything you are looking for in a Perth CBD hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre on Hay Street delivers the best hotel experience, great value and allows you to simply be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Perth City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing