We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refurb!”
Review of Crowne Plaza Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Perth
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb!”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on business and will not be returning. The hotel is not in a great location, it's opposite a large park and the Swan River which is great for a walk but that's it. No decent restaurants in walking distance, a couple of cafes are a few mins walk away. On arrival I was unable to check in as my room wasn't ready and the lobby is very small and was very noisy so I had to quickly find a cafe where I could set up my laptop as I had a business phone conference. Once I was able to check into my room I realized the air con didn't work and had to ask to change rooms. I ordered room service that night and it was very ordinary and with no restaurants in walking distance I was relieved to be dining out with a colleague the following night.
I asked several times on check in about my Priority club membership being added to my booking and on check out when I asked again I was told it had not been added. This delayed my departure for an early morning flight so I was less than impressed. 2 months later I still haven't received my Priority club points and will have to follow up yet again! Very very poor service!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JpoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Jpo Sydney

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Crowne Plaza Perth in February. Needless to say we were disappointed to learn of the difficulties you experienced as a guest on this occasion and apologise for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you.

We would be grateful if you can call our Operations Manger, Sergey on 08 9270 4219 so we can follow up on these issues in more detail.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    312
    161
    37
    15
See reviews for
86
256
45
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth (Coogee)
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Thought we where staying at Casino leading hotel but booked it wrongly much to my disappointment. The service when we got there was poor but when we checked out the girl on front counter was very chatty and smiling.
Rooms very clean, pool area a little small but nice heps of restaurants to choose from as its in the same complex as the Casino.
Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxysPerth_Coogee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear OxysPerth,

We try our best to make a point of difference with our site map, location reference and branding to mitigate any confussion between the Crown Complex Hotels and Crowne Plaza Perth.

No doubt arriving here and having no casino would have been a disappointment, nonetheless thank you for sharing your observatuons with us and commenting on the thoughtful interaction with our desk colleages on departure.

Hopefully we will see you again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for one night, as we had an early start to get to the airport. The room was spacious and mostly clean but the large glass topped table had several marks on it that could have been polished away. In room dining was good and plentiful. We didn't try the breakfast as we had to leave so early. The airport was about 30 minutes away on an easy to follow route so that aspect worked well. Our only gripe was the cost of the valet parking, AUD27 for someone to move the car less than 50 yards. Seems excessive. Then, when the car was reversed out of the parking bay for us, the valet did not tell us there was a one way system round the back of the hotel to get onto the road. We worked it out soon enough, of course, but it seemed ridiculous that we had to keep another vehicle waiting while we loaded our cases in the car before we could get out of his way. Minor stuff really. All other staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halkidiki44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dera Jasher0

The cost of parking is a cost recovery only. Unfortunately in Perth we are required to pay a city tax on parking bays at the Hotel, in addition we also pay for offsite parking nearby at the Hyatt garage, these costs and the additional labour costs associated with parking services we feel should be a user pays levy rather than tacked on across all room rates. We appreciate your comments and can understand why you may feel this cost is unnecessary, agian we review our operations periodically and make corrections where we can to minimise these objections.

Thank you for your obseravtions and chosing to stay with us over night.

Warm rergards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was a nice hotel with good service. My bags were retrieved from the taxi before I even finished paying, and they were in the room before I finished checking in. Very good service.

The room appeared to be adequately clean as well and decent size.

The location of the hotel is nice for viewing the Swan river and biking around, which the hotel will hire out for free. The location is not as convenient for many restaurants or the CBD, it is on the outskirts of the "City" but not in a particular suburb.

My biggest issue with this property, and primarily why I couldn't recommend, aside from the location is the internet access service. You can read on their website that they charge ≈28AUD for internet, that seems a bit high, but not too unreasonable. When I get into the hotel I find out that the charge is for 24 hours only, which I expected, and can be used among multiple devices, which was a nice surprise, BUT it is only good for 1GB of data! The data limit is very concerning, this isn't a mobile phone. I thought okay I'll be careful, but after about two hours, most of which I was on a bike around the city I find out that my data limit has been exceeded. I do not believe that I used that amount of data, but there is no point in arguing as how can it be proven either way. There is free data in the lobby but it is limited to 10mb a day.

These data limits make this hotel completely unacceptable for anyone trying to do any work and in today's times it is unreasonable for a leisure traveler as well. The combination of high costs and tight limits make it the same as the hotel not offering internet access. I actually waited to write this review until I got to my next hotel in Sydney to ensure that the Crowne Plaza stance about "Fair Usage" is not an Australian wide thing, as that was what the hotel kept talking about that using too much data was unfair. But no, my hotel in Sydney, no issues, no limits, no charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Jasper1,

We appreciate your comments on the Internet facility you experienced as a recent guest at Crowne Plaza Perth. We are reviewing our Internet service and as of July this year as an IHG Rewards Club member Internet will be free at all of our Hotel's. The basic package however will be free to 1GB which in most cases is adequate for business use, unless you are downloading movies or high end grahics this has been under the use of most guests, noneheless we will continue to monitor this limit for the future and make changes as necessary.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel is in a very good location in front of the public park area down on the lakeside with great views of the swan river I stayed there recently end of March 2013 for two nights incoming prior to driving down to Margret River and one night prior to leaving to be close to airport due to late incoming and early outgoing flights from Perth International airport. The hotel is more of a short stay business type hotel but is excellent for the purpose I used for. Breakfast is buffet style which is average but quite expensive at $35 for hot breakfast and $25 for continental BF only. They have a 30m swimming lap pool and average gym. best you try to get a swan river view. Rooms are basic but beds are comfortable and towels are good, take your own tooth brush and tooth paste , other bath soaps and shampoo are provided. Clean overall and worth the money , good to get to major HWY's and main roads to go North and South. Airport only 28 mins away , staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get River view room with a small balcony great views of Swan River. If you drive there you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear wizardj007

Being a 'Wizard' we are sure you had a magical time in Margaret River, the wines and the scenery are breathtaking and we are delighted you found time to discover the area for yourself. Thank you for commenting on your stay at Crowne Plaza Perth, we are delighted you found your experience rewarding.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

2nd Stay Our 9th Wedding anniversary so we decided to upgrade to a River view room.

The Pros

The views of the Swan River are amazing. Sitting on the balcony watching the sunset over the river is a real treat.
Location is very good
We love the pool area
Breakfast is fantastic one of the best we have had anywhere!
Breakfast staff very attentive & helpfull
The Valet Parking Lady is AWESOME and deserves a payrise. She is a keeper and a credit to Crowne!

The Cons

the rooms on the river side of the hotel are far smaller. The bathroom is tiny in comparison and the shower over the bath is something we simply hate - they are dangerous.

This time round our room was not ready on arrival which is always dissapointing! We were offered a drink in the lobby and told we would be advised when our room was ready. While we waited the same guy from receiption came and adivsed others around us thier rooms were ready. We waited and waited and unfortunately he either went on break or finished his shift. An hour and a half later we were the last ones left in the lobby so we went to reception and found out our room had been ready for some time but no one came to tell us. VERY FRUSTRATING

The lobby and bar area was a mess, scruffily dressed waiters with shirts half tucked in, boxers hanging out the top of the pants, food all over the floor, empty cups and bottles all over the show. 2-3 male bar staff behind the bar were not busy at all however, not 1 of them ventured away from the bar or made any attempt to clean up. When we arrived an empty Crown Larger bottle sat right in the middle of the bar and stayed there for the entire hour and a half we waited for our room. It finally took a young lady from the restaurant area to come downstairs and start cleaning up for one of the boys to make a dismal attempted at cleaning up. (He walked over pushed a few chairs in and walked straight back behind the bar)?

A few areas need to be addressed by managment however all in all this is a good hotel. If you are looking for a good location with fantastic views of the Swan River the Crowne will not dissapoint.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Raven567,

We are delighted you choose to stay at Crowne Plaza Perth and to celebarte the occasion of your Wedding anniversary with us.

Thank you for commenting on our colleague who assisted with Valet parking, we will recognise her contribution to your enjoyment at this time. Yes the breakfast is a real pleasure and our kitchen brigade contribute with pride to the presentation and diversity of the breakfast product.

The river view rooms are in the original building envelope which limit the bathrooms to the existing structure though we do have plans to take out the baths in these rooms over time to make more space and provide a 'monsoon' shower experience.

We apologise for the lapse in advising when your room was ready, this should not have been overlooked and we appreciate your comments around the bar service , this provides us an opportunity to address these areas of our operations more closely.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you agian.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardella, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

After a faltering start, our room wasn't ready an hour after we could have checked in, the service was great! Drinks were offered while we waited for our room to be ready. Although slightly aged decor and the bathroom/spa was really showing its age, the room was clean and tidy. The best feature of this hotel is its Restaurant. "Gusti" had amazing dinner service and the outlook onto Langley Park was excellent. After breakfast a walk along the Swan was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Als04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Als04,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise for the delay in not having your room ready at Check in . As much as we try sometimes with late departures and a full house we cannot always have all rooms back before 2.00 PM and we thank you for your understanding at this time.

We work hard to deliver a great expereince in 'Gusti' and it is rewarding when recognised, thankyou for sharing.

We look forward to welcomiong you back again sometime soon.

Kindest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,505 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,128 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#18 of 64 in Perth
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Perth

Property: Crowne Plaza Perth
Address: 54 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#18 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Perth is located in the heartland of beautiful Perth Western Australia with picturesque Langley Park at the hotel doorstep. An upscale riverside hotel with spectacular views of the city’s iconic Swan River and just minutes from the Perth CBD. 20 Minutes from the Airport. Guestrooms and suites incorporate generous workstations, high speed internet, bathroom amenities and premium bedding linen. 96 rooms and 2 suites face the river with private balconies offering beautiful panoramic views. 24 hour reception and concierge, complimentary laundry facilities and business centre. Enjoy the outdoor lap pool and fitness centre, or venture outside for recreational fitness on Langley Park. Complimentary bikes available to hire. Gusti Bar & Restaurant is an open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Seasonal menus focus on fresh local produce and contemporary modern Australian cuisine. Easy reach of the city and its many attractions make this Perth hotel the ideal place to stay whatever the occasion or reason for travel. The natural surrounds are ideal for relaxing and recreation, while onsite parking and free public transport make it simple and convenient to get around town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing