We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better with a refurbishment”
Review of Crowne Plaza Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Perth
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be so much better with a refurbishment”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel often over the last 2 years as we live in regional WA. In fact nearly every time we come to Perth! It has a fantastic location, views, breakfast, pool and generally good-sized rooms.
The staff I could never fault, they are all so pleasant,helpful and even some recognize us when we return after several months away. They generally always upgrade us to a river view room (Which are so worth it) as I am a platinum elite IHG member. Free internet for IHG member is also a great feature.
The pool is the coldest pool in Australia i'm sure! I have heard it has been mentioned on national TV as being a cold pool and suitable for the many AFL teams which stay there (Another bonus if your into footy) but the pool is a great place to relax with a weekend paper and soak up Perth's fresh air and beautiful sunshine, every now and then jumping into the coldest water in Australia! But i'm not complaining it sorts you out!

Parking is easy, either on site for a cost $26 roughly or easy and plentiful on road parking outside on Terrace road. (free at nights and Sundays)

The buffet breakfast is epic and worth looking forward to, great if it is included in your room rate but expensive if you purchase alone, but probably worth it i guess!

I just wish they would spend some serious time on it and refurbish the rooms to a higher more modern standard. Especially the bathrooms, they are really dated and worn.
Being a IHG platinum member I have stayed in my fair share of Crowne Plaza and Holiday inn hotels and this one only falls down in its room quality. Room quality and price we find it a bit expensive, if the rooms were beautiful, modern and not so worn the price payed would be on the money.

We have stayed in Perth again recently and have actually stayed in another hotel, mainly just to try others out, which was great as it was fresh and modern but we miss the Crowne plaza for accessibility, location, breakfast, superb river views and finally the wonderful attentive staff. We will be back as soon as they refurbish this hotel.

Room Tip: River view is a must if it is your first time in Perth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Peteykiwi,

Great people make great Hotels and it's always pleasing when our guests like yourself who travel frequently and have stayed with us over time recognise the attituide of our staff in such a positive way which contributes to the soul of the Hotel..
We agree breakfast can be epic....which is a really nice way to descibe the presentation of our buffet breakfast. And yes, the pool deck is a pleasant area to catch the sun and on those hot days no doubt the pool temperature is refreshing; we agree the ambient temperature can effect the pool during the day.

We are fortunate with a choice of parking facilities available to us which provides alternatives for our guests.

We do hope to see you again when you next travel to Perth.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    316
    161
    37
    16
See reviews for
89
259
45
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed here twice in December 2013. On both occasions the pool was drained and under repair....after all who needs a pool in December when its 30 degrees outside.

The pool episode sums up whole place....just plain tatty around the edges and in need of work.

The staff are friendly enough and the one breakfast that I had was ok ish, after all its Perth and whilst I love the city completely and Western Australia to boot...in fact the whole of Australia (I am an Australian Citizen after all) its just not really in the modern world and sophisticated breakfast buffets are not to be expected.

Theres no Intercontinental In Perth and so this is the top of the IHG tree in Perth as I understand it so you're stuck with this very average offering at a price which I feel is taking advantage.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Dale,

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us in December. We apologise the pool was out of service at this time, unfortunately the work required was of a high priority and there is never a good time to complete necessary maintenance of this type moreso in Summer. We were however able to provide access to alternative arrangements as necessary.

We appreciate your observations and comments on the friendly nature of our colleagues and attention to your requirements; thank you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here as we were in transit following an overseas trip. Our arrival was late in the day the checking process was quick and the front desk staff friendly and helpful explaining the hotel amenities and the location of the breakfast dining area. When we first arrived there was an air of calmness/ good ambience.
Our room was on the ninth floor,it was immaculate,a very good size with a good sized bathroom with separate shower and bath,there is plenty of hot water and soft towels also bathrobes are supplied.The bed was very
comfortable and was most welcome after a long haul flight from Europe. We arranged for a wake up call in the morning and then went to have breakfast before continuing our journey. the breakfast, you can have a choice of continental with excellent choices we chose to have the full breakfast again with very good choices the good was beautifully presented and cooked items were nice and hot. The standard of breakfast here is excellent, we have stayed in many international hotels during recent travels and this hotel breakfast rates very highly in comparison.
When we checked we were asked if we need a taxi booking for the next day and this was arranged. I guess what I can say is our stay was seamless, the staff are friendly and clearly take pride in their work. We would definitely stay again, this is a question I always ask when I write the reviews, would you stay again ? Definitely yes!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tasannie,

And we will be most happy to welcome you back again. Thank you for commenting on your stay with us; we are delighted you found our colleagues attentive and the breakfast selection of high quality and content.

It is nice to know in some way we released the stress of a long journey from Europe so you were fresh for the seemingly short haul then back home to Hobart.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

So I caveat this. I am giving five stars not because I think it is a five star blow you away flash hotel - I am giving it five stars for what it is - a four star hotel suitable for stopovers. It has some points of difference which give it top marks. It's an old hotel (rooms revamped) but they have done the best with what they have and make such an effort in every area.

The negatives - bathroom (I was in 404) needs an update - they are very old and basic... Gym has very restricted opening hours - I understand this is because of noise but move the gym or soundproof room, and get another treadmill please!

Positives - my room had a beautiful river view, was quiet, super clean.

Check in was seamless and concierge great - my bags were in my room before me along with a gift pack of toiletries and two magazines (nor sure if everyone gets this of because there were some hassles with my car parking - which wasn't even hotels fault).

Room service fantastic - great range of healthy and not healthy foods. Good vego range. I have never had a decent room service pizza but this was good - best room service one I have had.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura0576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for rating Crowne Plaza Perth 5 stars for attitude, that's the best we can achieve. We appreciate your comments and agree the river view rooms do have an amazing outlook.

We are delighted you found the additional amenity was refreshing and useful, we have added this amenity for our professional female guests in recognition of a more personal touch.

We look forward to welcoming you back agian.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I like almost everything about the hotel except for the level of noise which is unbearable when you have people jogging in the room on top or someone partying till late night in the room next to you.
Apart from that the staffs were very helpful and courteous & I did enjoyed my stay, was nice to jog near the lake !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Shaan,

Bonjour and thank you for your comments. We understand how sometimes unthoughtful people located close by can contribute to an unacceptable level of noise in a Hotel environment. Our Duty Managers will always run floor checks on these occasions and we have no hesitation in advising the offending party of these issues. We apologise your room was located in this area and compounded by the gymnasium noise, we continue to review room allocations to avoid this, thoufgh when we are full it can be more difficult. Nonetheless something we should be aware of.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westernaustralia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here Christmas Day. The hotel was dressed up beautifully.
Our room was very clean with crisp white sheets. The bathroom was not huge but adequate.
The room had a small balcony which was so lovely to sit out and watch the sun go down. The outdoor swimming pool and seating area is big but even though it was a very hot day the pool was really cold.
We had booked breakfast the next morning which was delicious and is positioned on the front of the hotel opposite the Swan river. Will definately go again

Room Tip: Must book a river room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Sue,

We agree having a balcony adds another dimension to your stay and it would have been beautiful in the evening around Christmas time, perfect for soaking up the view and sunset.

It is always nice to share in the spirit of the festive season; we are delighted you enjoyed the ambience of the occasion and you found our breakafst setting and choice tempting.

Thank you for sharing your commenmts, we appreciate your effort in this way and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARTLEPOOL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Perth on the last leg of our holiday before returning to the UK. What can I say but excellant. On arrival the staff were both friendly and efficient. first impression was good. and we were not disappointed with our room 910. Breakfast and dinner in restaurant we could not fault. - Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARAHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clivep471, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Barbarah,

We are delighted you found your stay at Crowne Plaza Perth a wonderful experience ....5 stars wow! that's what we strive for ....a great Hotel guests love; and it is most pleasing you found the time to share this way.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,171 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,538 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#18 of 64 in Perth
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Perth
#23 of 64 in Perth
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Perth

Property: Crowne Plaza Perth
Address: 54 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#18 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Perth is located in the heartland of beautiful Perth Western Australia with picturesque Langley Park at the hotel doorstep. An upscale riverside hotel with spectacular views of the city’s iconic Swan River and just minutes from the Perth CBD. 20 Minutes from the Airport. Guestrooms and suites incorporate generous workstations, high speed internet, bathroom amenities and premium bedding linen. 96 rooms and 2 suites face the river with private balconies offering beautiful panoramic views. 24 hour reception and concierge, complimentary laundry facilities and business centre. Enjoy the outdoor lap pool and fitness centre, or venture outside for recreational fitness on Langley Park. Complimentary bikes available to hire. Gusti Bar & Restaurant is an open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Seasonal menus focus on fresh local produce and contemporary modern Australian cuisine. Easy reach of the city and its many attractions make this Perth hotel the ideal place to stay whatever the occasion or reason for travel. The natural surrounds are ideal for relaxing and recreation, while onsite parking and free public transport make it simple and convenient to get around town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing