We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced for Perth city”
Review of The Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Melbourne
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced for Perth city”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed in The Melbourne on a weekend as in Perth it is MUCH cheaper to stay at a hotel on the weekend compared with during the week (so the opposite to everywhere else I've been). We had a pretty good experience and the location is very handy. We even walked to Kings Park, although it's up a steep hill so was a definite cardio workout.
The hotel has a cafe, pub and restaurant and we found both the pub and cafe to be very family friendly. The food is also pretty delicious.
The hotel is very old and has had a refurbishment and does have a lot of character, although the walls in the hallways, especially the corners were chipped, dented and missing paint, so the maintenance could be a bit better. The rooms are a decent size (we stayed in a deluxe) but my husband and I thought the rooms should have been renovated more in keeping with the old world charm of the hotel. Instead all the cupboards and desks are in that cheap fake wood veneer. I also found housekeeping a bit more relaxed then I like, our room service dishes from Friday were left on a table in the hallway until Sunday afternoon.
All in all it was a pretty good hotel and we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    38
    29
    17
    5
See reviews for
10
46
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
467 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This old pub, which has had an excellent makeover, has a very nice dining area and worthy of a visit for a quick meal if in Perth. Located within the CBD the hotel caters to the usual pub crowd especially when there is a sporting event happening. The adjacent restaurant serves the usual round of pub food, which is efficiently served by pleasant staff, and of fair quality. The prices are good for its location and likewise the quality and amount of food. Nothing too exciting but good, safe, and enjoyable dining.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here on two occasions while I was in Perth. The location was fantastic, right smack in the city, with easy access to all the shopping and restaurants.

Apart from that, the facade of the building has an old school charm to it, making it a unique landmark.

The rooms are a little old, but clean and comfortable for a good night's sleep.

Staff are friendly and always ready to help! This is a major plus point especially for foreigners who are not familiar with the area.

Did I also mention that the bar serves the best burgers?

Am definitely staying there again when I go to Perth!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matsumomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have stayed in the Melbourne many times for work and continue to come back to this place as it is great!
The rooms are large, comfy and have great facilities.
The price of the rooms can be a bit high at peak times due to its central location in the city, but it is worth it.
The restaurant serves brilliant dinner meals and the cafe serves great breakfasts!

Worth staying at!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Central and good food. But accomodation just average. Happy to stay night or two but not longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I booked this hotel as it was near the convention centre and easy walking distance to all the functions I had to attend. However I would not stay there ever again as I did not have a good experience at all due to the fact I had no window (none of the standard rooms have one) and the worst neighbours ever! First of all my room gave on to a conference room which was being set up every morning and light would shine through the only small bit of glass I had in my room. AND my neighbour who was there 4 out of the 5 nights I stayed at the hotel was snoring so much, I could hear his alarm clock at 6.15am every morning and he had a bad cough. It felt like he was actually staying in my room the noise was that bad! I had to call reception to ask them when he was checking out as it was horrible! I also had to call reception every morning to find out the weather and decide on what to wear since I could not see outside...
The staff however were all very friendly and helpful and breakfast was served fast at the M cafe but the fact I had no window and had to put the fan on to get some air circulating in my room just made me claustrophobic and grumpy so not great when you have to network and attend a conference for 5 days!

Room Tip: Upgrade to get a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albinoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The only reason we stayed here was because of the price.Avoid this hotel if you could.I was told by a friend she had a worse experience someplace else.Having stayed here for more than a week with an infant was horrible enough.The LIFT, if you can help it,take the stairs! Do not even attempt breakfast here, take it anywhere else but here because service for even a cup of coffee takes ages.The room "looks" clean but it smells of stale smoke.This hotel needs to be redone from the ground up, in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBun000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Quest West End
Quest West End
#43 of 64 in Perth
44 reviews
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#30 of 64 in Perth
1,225 reviews
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melbourne

Property: The Melbourne
Address: 942 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Boutique Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing