We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired”
Review of The Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Melbourne
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I reported on this hotel after a stay in November last year. Back again for a few days business. generally its a nice older style hotel in a good location which could very easily be really excellent. Room accommodation is generally okay and the beds are comfy. The restaurant downstairs is very good with great food.

It unfortunately is unloved with lack of care and attention to finishes, materials, and spaces being very evident. Needs a new coat of paint, replacement carpet, and a general spruce-up. For the money charged there is no excuse. Very shabby and tired looking. This could be a really good hotel with very little effort.

Really irritating small things like the pen supplied in the room, with the hotels name emblazoned on it, having a broken pocket clip and bits of plastic at the point broken off. How much is a cheap plastic pen to replace?

Final complaint is that the wifi internet connection is extremely poor/non existent despite the fact that they have several alleged hotspots throughout the hotel. These days there is no excuse for this in a capital city, particularly when you tell guests that wireless connections are available.

All in all frustratingly disappointing because it doesn't need much to really lift its game. Whilst I'd love to go back (under the right circumstances) I probably won't.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Lovely old heritage building but the room I stayed in was very out dated. Paint was peeling from the wall and the cover of my ironing board had a dirty big coffee stain on it. I stayed here for a business trip and was forced to park at public car park as the hotel does not have its own. It cost me $32 to have my car parked from 6pm to 9am the next morning.Carpet on the staircase, as lovely as it was, was showing signs of age with frayed ends. On the upside, has a great bar and the M Cafe is great for breakfast. These 2 things were its only real saving grace.

Room Tip: From what I hear the balcony rooms are better maintained so I would ask for one of those but I dares...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PZ604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The Melbourne Hotel is an old hotel which has been refurbished. The building is beautiful and has lots of character. We stayed in a Superior Balcony Room. The room was clean and well furnished. The bathroom is bright and modern. The shower was an adjustable height shower which I love as I"m not very tall, but hotel showers always seem to be very high up. The staff are friendly and the breakfast in the MCafe was delicious!
We stayed there as it is only a short walk to the Perth Arena, so it's very convenient and reasonably priced.
Overall, a great stay. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have direct access to a wrap around balcony through double doors. Very nice to sit wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice both times in the honeymoon suite, just love the place the stunning wrap around veranda we had direct access to from our room was beautiful in the after with a cocktail in hand taking in they sights of the city, right in the middle of everthing so the locations was fantastic, has a beautiful restaurant with ornate ceiling and fabulous food. This beautiful 100 year old hotel has retained it's charm and beauty with been fitted out with all the creature comforts we could ask for, so so nice to not be staying in a hotel that looked just like a million other places, was truly special.

Room Tip: ask for a room with access to the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

If fake country pine furniture from the pine shop. In a makeover in the 80s is your idea of the old Melbourne hotel. Then this overpriced lacklustre service hotel is for you. At 300 dollars a night for a 'superior room' on the balcony on the corner of a busy CBD street, this must be the best superior delusion that only the Internet could conjure. The beds are like sponge cakes and the pillows have zero support. God this place needs an internal renovation as its outside is renewed to maintain a grand building. In fact I have found most of Perth culture a triumph of appearance over substance.

Room Tip: If you looking for the best than the best at this hotel is the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We booked a table for dinner at the hotel restaurant due to its proximity to the Perth Arena. We also stated with the booking that we were attending a concert and were not intending to have a leasurily dinner. The restaurant is beautifully maitained in its original style with ornate ceilings attracting your attention once you are seated at a table.

The service was generally good, the meal and wine menus were varied and moderately priced in comparison to other city venues. Acknowledging that the restaurant was fully booked we ordered only main courses and placed our orders within 15 minutes of the restaurant opening, unfortunately it was an hour later before the food arrived and only after a couple of requests to the wait staff advising that we had limited time.

The food was well presented and tasted devine.

We would use the restaurant again before a concert, hopefully the hotel management will address the needs of concert goers and streamline efficiency and deliver meals in a more realistic timeframe .

Room Tip: Book early on concert dates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Had breakfast in the Melbourne cafe.. Tired decor and i was given a dirty menu on arrival. The cafe was almost empty at 8:30 in the morning yet it still took a long time for my breakfast to come out, when it did it was without any eggs, which was the main part of the meal. I was told the chef 'forgot' the eggs as he was also working for a function. (customers don't need excuses, just for the problem to be dealt with efficiently and with a smile) Then the meal came back out 5 mins later and the eggs had just been put on top of the same meal which by this time had gone cold.
Their was only one waitress on which tells me they expect it to be quiet, but she was lovely and very friendly and offered me a cake to apologise.
Would not go back

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NFFC_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Terrace Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Mantra on Murray
#25 of 66 in Perth
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,639 reviews
Perth CBD
The Nest on Newcastle
The Nest on Newcastle
#41 of 66 in Perth
91 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melbourne

Address: 942 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £134 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Boutique Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing