We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Shiro Izakaya - CLOSED

Shiro Izakaya
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Avalon Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Booked online a few hours before no trouble table waiting for us even though we arrived early.
Food presentation was excellent service was perfect food really nice
Try the poached pear in sake simply delicious
The only thing was a very noisy table just behind us we were seated in booths back to back
Not the restaurants fault just inconsiderate customers
Compares equally to some Japanese restaurants in Sydney CBD
If we ever return to Perth would certainly return to Shiro

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Just discovered Shiro. We utterly enjoyed our dinner. Very consistent quality in all dishes with a fusion/contemporary twist. Delicate flavours. Service was very professional although, only downside, slow. Kitchen also closed early which did not allow us to try the desserts.
All in all highly highly recommendable.

Helpful?
Thank Jose Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Presentation of food was fantastic. Pretty difficult to find. Go on their website and check their map.
Servings were small and quite pricey. A good once off experience.

You will have to order some sodes with your main as it doesnt come with anything

Overall it was good

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a great restuarant tucked away in Perth CBD. We were there for dinner on a Monday night in January so the restaurant was fairly empty. We thought the service was great and the food was delicious - almost as good as Nobu but at a much better price! I would highly reccommend this restaurant and even better that it is in the Entertainment Book so you can get a 25% discount. We went there based on reviews from word of mouth and were not disappointed. Will definitely go back there soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie_in_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and under-serviced”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just had a corporate event here and was wildly underwhelmed with both the food and the service, although the sake was good. Might be better if you order a la carte...or are in a smaller group (we were 9 people).

While the produce they use is good, and the food served was o.k. - their desire to fit everything on a single plate means that the cold elements arrive cold and the hot elements arrive cold.

This combined with the speed of service...took 3 hours to dine (take into account, no-one had to choose anything) and the result is that you end up leaving well fed, with ok japanese fusion cuisine, but left with the feeling that you've been overcharged.

For Japanese food lovers, I'd recommend satsuki in Subi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonerbekir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiro Izakaya also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing