We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable NYE stay”
Review of ibis Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Perth
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable NYE stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Booked a room last minute there for NYE night to escape the taxi queue madness, surprised with the very reasonable price for a new years eve night. The location is great - smack bang in the middle of the city. We were 'pub hopping' around the city so it was just perfectly located. Unfortunately we weren't really impressed with our room. Ours had a queen bed and it was the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. Tiny room, tiny bathroom, tiny hallway. The bed kept sliding when I was on it, and it was just too small for me and hubby to sleep on together. It was a very hot day in Perth that day, but the room's air conditioning was just not working up to scratch. It was very very humid and was not cool enough despite the fact that I put it on the highest setting. We ended up waking up too early in the morning due to the uncomfortable humidity in the room and decided to go home to our own air conditioned room with king size bed. Overall, it wasn't a disastrous experience - the staff wasn't bad, the price was good, and location was great. It was practical - just wasn't the most comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninaldina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    612
    339
    68
    36
See reviews for
163
452
167
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very pleasant weekend. Excellent location in the city. Directly opposite the Belgium Beer Cafe on Murray St. Didn't like the fact that there was no room service and had to go and get everything myself. Room was very clean and slept well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here over the weekend on a business trip. Was great. Central to transport, food and entertainment. Would stay here on the weekend rate. Room is basic but comfortable. When I stayed it was close to $200 a night including breakfast, which was reasonable. Did not stay during the weeks as the weed day rates at that time were considerably higher. So value is based on the weekend special rate I was able to receive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Tourist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Clean, quiet (during the week, obviously at the weekends fully booked withparty goers and couples young and old) comfortable rooms, perfectly located just off centre of town, in the thriving restarants and popular bars

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Bad, bad, bad couldn't wait to check out in the morning and find something else!

The room was tiny but they had stuffed 2 double beds in there. I am a small person and I had to turn sideways and shuffle between the end of the beds and the desk. The bathroom was newly refurbished however the frameless shower screen leaked onto the floor and into the bedroom. The basin and vanity were equally tiny with no room to put your own toiletries once the tissues and complimentary toiletries were displayed. The ironing board wouldn't go up and once I had used it to iron more wrinkles into my shirt, I couldn't get it to go down! I had to put it on the bed so I could get my case out of the room. The room had an open wardrobe and no in-room safe.

I found the lobby smelt of stale beer as did the lift during my stay. The restaurant staff were friendly and the breakfast was the standard Accor fare.

Parking is a debacle! They told me to use the "open air carpark down the laneway" and they would mark my ticket and only cost $20 per night. The "laneway" was one-way - the wrong way for the traffic flow (Queen St). I went around the block and found the open air carpark further up Murray St before the hotel. When I went to have my ticket marked, they told me it was the wrong carpark and they couldn't do that. It cost me $32 for one night.

Many other choices in the city, try something a little more expensive for a much better experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJT3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager31, General Manager at ibis Perth, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Firstly, thank very much for leaving your comments regarding your stay with us, secondly I’m so very sorry to read that your stay was not an enjoyable one. With regards to the parking, you should have been given a map with proper instructions on and the cost per night. I apologise if this was not the case. I would like to offer you a full refund for this, please contact me directly at the hotel so that I can charge back your card. I can only apologise again and await to hear from you soon so that we can sort out the refund and possibly discuss your stay further? Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mercure Perth
#23 of 64 in Perth
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Murray
#24 of 64 in Perth
1,455 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Perth

Property: ibis Perth
Address: 334 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Perth 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With recently refurbished bedrooms, bathrooms, conference rooms and hotel foyer, Ibis Perth is located in the heart of the King Street shopping precinct in Perth's city centre and is perfect for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel Bistro serves great value meals daily and guest can relax in the Rubix Bar which comes alive on weekends. Ideal for functions, Ibis Perth offers three meeting rooms catering from 10 - 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Perth
Perth Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing