We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor noise insulation, terrible shower”
Review of ibis Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Perth
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, poor noise insulation, terrible shower”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here using a $40 scoopon on a Saturday night. Check in was pleasant, was given free welcome drinks and told that due to being a platinum Accor Club member we would get 50% off breakfast.

The room was decent and bed was fairly comfortable. One massive issue - the shower. My partner and I are very lucky we are not overweight, as it was virtually impossible to get into due to the position of the shower door and the soap holder. Any 'bigger' people would simply not be able to get in.

After settling down to sleep about 11 30, we were woken up 4 hours later from what sounded like a party in the next room. I would guess it was people returning from Northbridge or the CBD. The five or six people were yelling, squealing, running around outside the hotel rooms shouting at each other and behaving like drunken morons until about 7 am. It appeared that there was no noise insulation whatsoever between the two rooms.

I understand it is not the hotels fault that there were such inconsiderate guests, and in hind sight we should have contacted reception, but to have such bad noise insulation on a hotel near the Perth CBD as well as Northbridge is bad planning. I guess we were unlucky in our stay, and it was only $40, but I feel that money would have been better spent on a taxi home and a sleep in our own bed.

Breakfast was good, but not worth the full price of $25. On check out, I was informed that breakfast wasn't actually 50 % off, but after stating we were told it is, this was honored. I was not in the mood to argue after 4 hours sleep.

Had we had a better room with more considerate neighbours, this would have been a 3 star review, but that wasn't the case and I won't be looking at staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 806 due to bad noise insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigRedPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisPerthGM, General Manager at ibis Perth, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear BigRedPanda

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Perth and once again for taking the time to post this feedback.

I apologise for the aspects of your stay that were below standard, i do wish you had of contacted reception in relation to the noise as our staff most certainly would have sorted this out. I am glad you enjoyed breakfast and our our team "found the yes" in relation to the misunderstanding over a discount.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back here with us in the future.

Kinds Regards

Lee Pearce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    612
    339
    68
    36
See reviews for
163
452
167
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Conveniently located near business districts and shopping malls. Surrounding area seemed safe. There's no drugstore at the hotel but there were some convenient stores nearby. The hotel and the room is quite small, the TV set is kinda old, bed was fine but it was nothing special. But staffs were nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamaSeutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisPerthGM, General Manager at ibis Perth, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear RamaSeutia

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Perth and also for taking the time to provide us this review.

Its is great to hear about your experience with the staff and how the location of the hotel has suited your needs.

Thank you again and we do hope to see you back here at Ibis Perth sometime soon.

Kind Regards

Lee Pearce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Room was really tiny but OK for two people. Bed was really comfy and the staff were polite and had good customer service. Only thing was the reception area was always busy and overcrowded. They didn't seem to have enough staff on reception to help. Other than that the location is brillant - only a short walk to train station and buses to get to and from airport or shops. Good value for money. Was very noisy with work happening in the building and in the area outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rrixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisPerthGM, General Manager at ibis Perth, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Rrixon

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ibis Perth and also again for taking the time to post this review.

Its great to read about the levels of service you encountered and how you enjoyed the facilities, I apologise if the front desk was a little busy, we do do our best to cater to our 192 rooms yet at peak times the lobby can get a little crowded.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Perth in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lee Pearce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We chose this hotel for a one-night stay in Perth and it was fine. Parking is adjacent to the hotel with hotel access from 7am-7pm, after that you walk out onto the street to the hotel. Our room was clean, bright and light, if a little small. We booked this directly through the hotel's website and my husband somehow managed to book our night for 2015, not 2014 and while the girl at reception was initially saying we'd have to pay in full again, he pointed out it wasn't through a booking service, and they honoured the booking. Breakfast off the main foyer was small in range but perfectly fine. Not the hotel I'd book for a honeymoon but for business travellers, those on a budget, and those passing through, like us, it was good. Very handy location to the CBD.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitrequisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisPerthGM, General Manager at ibis Perth, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Visitrequisites

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Ibis Perth and also for taking the time to provide this feedback.

As usual we are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your experience, however I would like to say I am delighted to hear our staff "found the yes" in relation to your booking and you were able to stay with us as you wished.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Perth soon.

Kind Regards

Lee Pearce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hard to rate, given a good stay at unusual bargain rate. Somewhere between very good and average would be about right.
Shower only, and bed moves from wall when reading. I like a bath. Pleasant toiletries.
All staff were nice and I enjoyed the food.
View over city rooftops kept me subtly entertained.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Expectans_expectavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisPerthGM, General Manager at ibis Perth, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Expectans_Expectavi

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ibis Perth and also for taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the service and food here at the hotel, and also how the facilites were convenient to your needs.

Thank you again and we do hope to see you back here at Ibis Perth in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lee Pearce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mercure Perth
#23 of 64 in Perth
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Murray
#24 of 64 in Perth
1,456 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Perth

Property: ibis Perth
Address: 334 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Perth 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With recently refurbished bedrooms, bathrooms, conference rooms and hotel foyer, Ibis Perth is located in the heart of the King Street shopping precinct in Perth's city centre and is perfect for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel Bistro serves great value meals daily and guest can relax in the Rubix Bar which comes alive on weekends. Ideal for functions, Ibis Perth offers three meeting rooms catering from 10 - 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Perth
Perth Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing