We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite 5 star hotel, but there is 'but'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Perth
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Had been away for a few weeks and before going home to the Great Southern fancied a couple of nights of rest and relaxation to get over travel. I went for the Hyatt because I'd heard good things, it was 5 star and after staying at the Hyatt in Tokyo I found I could collect points, so figured why not?

I got a room with a view, of the Swan River, and that was great. Comfortable room. Slightly dated bathroom, but not something I've been fussed by. Lovely lounge bar next to reception with excellent and helpful staff (all the staff I encountered were professional, courteous and helpful - kudos). Enjoyed the swimming pool too.

...but, there were a few issues. Firstly, the bed did seem to lean to the side, so it felt like being on a slope. Secondly, a little randomly, there was a porn magazine stashed in the wardrobe. A bizarre find and makes one wonder how much the cleaning staff actually clean. Thirdly, no drawer space for clothes - not unusual for Aussie hotels though. I find many have a feel of not being too bothered about furnishings, like they gave up halfway through. The biggest issue for me though was the instant coffee.

This might seem a small problem, but for a 5 star hotel I'm expecting top quality complimentary coffee (in Tokyo they providing filter coffee - bliss!). It was some crappy Douwe Egberts stuff; at the very least put something decent in.

This might seem small time, but these little things all add up. The coffee thing just looks cheap.

I'd come back - these are minor things, and I'm used to bringing my own coffee in hotels - but a collection of little (and quite frankly simple to resolve) issues have contributed to 4 stars instead of 5. I expect better - maybe learn from your Tokyo colleagues.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Jack D
Many thanks for your review and for your feedback. Good to see for the most part you enjoyed your stay, however I do appreciate the additional comments you made - particularly re the standard of housekeeping and in-room coffee, which I’ll follow up with the relevant members of our management team. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,334)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Perth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

An overall good experience at the Hyatt, Perth. On our arrival, the bellman was there immediately to unload the bags, and even though our room wasn't ready until the afternoon, the bags were ready in our room for our return.
We stayed in a standard room, which was very well-furnished and warmly decorated. The bathroom was slightly dated, but was very clean. I would say however that as we were situated on level 2, near the lobby, and I did find it to be relatively noisy both during the day and night due to its open-plan nature.
The fitness centre was small, but well equipped with a number of cardio and resistance machines. We also managed to get time to use the flood-lit outdoor tennis court, which is a nice asset to the hotel.
The concierge had a good knowledge of the area and local restaurants. I would definitely recommend this as a very conveniently located, comfortable city hotel providing pleasant service.

Room Tip: Request a room as far away from the lobby as possible, as the noise carries through the open-plan st...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As usual the Hyatt Regency met all of my expectations. Stayed in a Club Room and really enjoyed the extra special service of the Regency Club for cocktails and breakfast. So nice to be able to relax and not have too many people around. Room was very comfortable and very clean. Had a small problem with shower drainage and it was fixed immediately. Ate at one of the hotels restaurants, Trader Joes, and that too was very good and very price friendly.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra stay in the Club Rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Nikijames
Thank you so much for your feedback and it’s good to see we met your expectations and could make your trip away from home as comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Perth.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a one night winter package at Hyatt It included buffet breakfast late checkout a movie and free parking Very impressed with our room.Beautiful thick bath towels comfy bed and pillows The breakfast was fantastic Everything there that anyone would want! The service was excellent The pool is great and nice and warm for the winter Highly recommend Hyatt as handy to river for a nice walk Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwiozPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear kiwiozPerth
Thank you for the great review , I really appreciate your feedback. I’m pleased you enjoyed the special Winter Retreat package and it’s good to see you would choose to stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I actually live in Perth and was given a night at the Hyatt as a gift - never really has to stay in a hotel in the city so new experience. Parking - was very confusing - there were no bays available for us to park - they were all reserved for other companies - eventually we parked in another companies bay as we were there on a weekend. We had moved the weekend once and the desk was very confused with what we were entitled to (it was quite an expensive package that included breakfast, parking, champers, in room free videos, room upgrade and parking) I had to actually remind them about breakfast and the video. The room was really nice and clean however everytime the people above us washed their hands we could hear them. Breakfast was very good. Location really nice for seeing the beautiful swan river and getting into the city centre. I

Room Tip: If possible views of river are gorgeous
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pene61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear pene61
Great to see you had the opportunity to stay overnight in your home city for a change. My apologies for the confusion regarding parking; with the exception of a few designated company bays further in, guests are able to park anywhere within the hotel’s section. With regards to your accommodation package, our staff should certainly be fully up to speed on the various components for each one – I will ask our Front Office management team to ensure this is the case. I hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After many hours of travel the welcome was pleasant and my concerns about retaining the room for a second night quickly satisfied. The hotel met all my expectations of this international brand. With only a few hours before another long day the room was comfortable with the power points located close to the desk and the bed very supportive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On a recent business trip, after a week in the jungle, I had the pleasure of staying at the Hyatt Regency in Perth. The staff were accommodating, the rooms were comfy and spacious, the breakfast buffet was second to none, and then on my last day, I discovered the well equipped gym, the sauna, and the pool. On my next visit, I will definitely make a point of trying out the facilities - that's in September. Cannot wait!

Room Tip: Higher rooms facing the river are awesome.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkE1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear MarkE1207
Great to see we were able to offer you some home comforts after your week in the jungle and delighted to note that you intend returning in September. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,592 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duxton Hotel
#16 of 66 in Perth
1,112 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 66 in Perth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Perth

Address: 99 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#19 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £93 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the banks of the Swan River, on the eastern edge of Perth's central business district and shopping precinct. Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel is convenient to the new Perth Stadium, arts, parks, entertainment and convention centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing