We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Hotel”
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Perth Hotel
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kings Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Kings hotel in Hay ST Perth would be the worst I have stayed in. The staff on the front desk were very nice but that would be the only positive. The room smelt of urine and the windows didn't open so had to buy some air fresheners. There was a lot of mould in the in the bathroom, no mini bar but we did get coffee and tea. For $173 a night I thought it was too much. We did get a discount for the parking. The one redeeming feature was that it is in the city centre so can walk to most places.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dixie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    131
    116
    58
    83
See reviews for
55
125
55
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We just got back from Perth where we hired a campervan for 2 weeks so any hotel after that would be great, the kings perth was okay, friendly staff but they lack communication. We had to tell 3 of them that we needed a wake up call and then a taxi, only one of the staff wrote it on the form. The room was big with a double and a single bed, tv, hairdryer, fridge, air con. The bathroom was okay, bit old and tatty but fine, the loo cistern had 2 cracks down the front.
We ate at the restaurant which was very nice, the staff were very on the ball with pouring wine and tidying the table so 10 out of 10 for them :-)
Overall not a bad stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

What a disgusting hotel. Poor service at reception was not a good start, then we went to our room which we had to pay extra for as they had no standard rooms left. This room had a balcony looking out to a car park. The patio doors were broken allowing anyone from the adjoining balcony to come into our room. The drawers on the cupboards were hanging off, and in the bathroom tiles were missing. We asked to be moved to another room which was not much better, the bathroom smelt and the toilet was disgusting. Carpets were filthy I do not know how they can run a hotel in this condition. We would definitly not go there again or recommend it to anyone. When we complained about the standard of the hotel to the staff they didnt seem to care.

Room Tip: I have no tips as wouldnt advise people to go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gill5032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

One of the worst hotels i have stayed in, the room was runned down, carpets were mouldy, the beds were creaky. For the price we pay it was a rip off. Do not be fooled by the pictures you see on their website. Must have been taken 15 years ago.
The front desk is rude and not friendly. There is no service at all. Worse of all you arent allow to change hotel cause we are force to pay upfront without a refund.
The only good thing its only 3 mins walking distance from Hay street. Wouldnt recondmend to anyone who is coming to Perth to stay in this hotel. For the same price you could stay elsewhere which is better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for what was meant to be a relaxing break but walked away frustrated at how the place was run.
Bad point included rubbish left in our room, ie not properly cleaned before checking in, terrible food service at the hotels restaurant which ment sending back an uncooked salmon fillet and an over cooked steak. We did not even get an apology for this.
Hotel is dated and needs updating, air con is prehistoric and hardly worked. Ripped carpet in some places quite bad. Hotel bar is very limited and only opens for five hrs each day mon-sat.
Staff here seemed to go out of their way not to help you and after the two days we were left not wanting to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KQuinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We should have been alerted to the fact that things were not what one would expect when it was a requirement of the hotel to Pay in Full upfront with no option for refunds etc.
For the price one would pay for a 5 star hotel in Sydney it was expected that the hotel would be reasonable.
A later realisation that the hotel is right next to the Law Courts explained the payment in full even though ours were corporate bookings.
This hotel is sadly neglected, worn and dirty from the moment one steps into the lift.
Rooms are tired and even a request to move to something fresher was a mistake as the cleaning was very inadequate. And this was a "re-furbished room".
The worst that the hotel provided was the effect of the paper thin walls. One could hear the person in the next room clearing their throat, and later in the evening the snoring from surrounding occupants was clear and strong to the point that one might as well shared a room! This is a extremely inadequate hotel for that reason alone.
It was difficult to comprehend the abundance of staff in the public areas and yet service was so obviously not a priority in the restaurant, bar and reception areas. The exception was one joyful staff member on Front Desk.
This was a business trip therefore a good night's sleep is anticipated but was not possible here. However we were able to share the awfulness of the hotel with much amusement with colleagues and business associates.
This hotel will not be used again.

Room Tip: The best tip is to find alternate accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiatiFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A short walk to the Perth mall and walking distance to many amenities and facilities. The hotel is looking tired but is of good value. Was a bit annoyed as I had to use the adjoining private parking facility as it appers that the hotel does not provide free parking for its customers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#55 of 64 in Perth
462 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#48 of 64 in Perth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Perth
#22 of 64 in Perth
1,816 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,255 reviews
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#30 of 64 in Perth
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Property: Kings Perth Hotel
Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing