We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a chance and was pleasantly surprised.”
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Perth Hotel
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Surprisingly we had a very good 2 night stay here. We booked the cheapest room available online, and ended up on the 5th floor in a pleasant room with crisp white sheets and pillows. The counter staff were helpful in giving bus directions to Freo (The Fremantle train line was not in service for those days).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Realtively good location, but that's it. Rooms are very old and dated. At least pretty clean. Reception staff is unfriendly and cannot be bothered to serve guests. Online photos are misleading as they show renovated club floor, standard rooms are very dated. Avoid this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The lobby is really gloomy, looked more like a funeral parlour. We were booked on the 5th floor. The door of our room was right next to the fire exit stairs which is very dangerous. One wrong move in entering or leaving the room and we could easily fall off the stairs. The room is too dark, too musty smelling (and the scent of moth balls kept me up all night), the shower area is too dark and mouldy. The view is nothing but a car park, there are no block out curtains. The entire hotel needs a renovation (could not even walk with bare feet on the carpet and in the bathroom). On the 2 nights we stayed here, the other guests were so noisy on the same floor and when we complained about it, the receptionist who could barely speak in English told us "we can say what we want" in a very rude tone. NEVER GOING BACK.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I travelled to Perth for the first time for work in August 2013. I don't book my corporate travel, so rocked up to the hotel not knowing much about it other than the name. I now wish I'd read these reviews before I left Sydney as I would have changed my booking, even if it cost more myself.

All the bad reviews you read here are true. The rooms smell, are so old and outdated, the doors don't actually have a lock so you can feel safe at night (there is a lock there but if you check it doesn't actually do anything it's just a handle), the water tastes bad even to brush your teeth and the buffet breakfast is so nasty even as hungry as I was, I didn't eat anything.

Just as an employer can give you a warning for bad performance, if I could give my company a warning for making me stay here, I would.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank SydneyKate08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here overnight in a refurbished room on the 9th floor. After reading the reviews here and finding the price for the best room at the Kings Perth is still cheaper than most other Perth hotels, I thought I'd give the $175 King Deluxe a try. I'm glad I did. Sure, the hotel is a bit tired in the lobby and hallways, but I'm not sleeping there.

Reception was helpful and efficient (although the TV didn't work properly and the porter who was promised to attend to it never showed) and combined with a voucher for the buffet breakfast (which was fine), I thought the hotel offered good value. Having spent a night the week before in a higher rated hotel in a basic room for $230 (which offered about the same level of room quality but with inept customer service by comparison), I would consider the Kings as a base for my next stay in Perth.

Room Tip: Opt for a more expensive room and you'll still get a better deal over most Perth hotels and thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandotcom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Rooms were big and spacious, nice bathrooms. Sadly the room was very dated and the air conditioner was rubbish. Consequently I had a terrible night's sleep cos I had to open the window and put up with noise outside just to cool the room down.

Room service food was average, it arrived promptly though.

I got a very good weekend deal of $99. I don't think I would pay anymore than that.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkin_fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I just checked into the hotel. Location is good, proximity to IGA, Woolworths within 10min walk, restaurants and cafes are a major plus. We got a quadruple room, spacious, with well-supplied amenities/toiletries in the room. The reception staff are generally helpful. We agree with some of the earlier reviews on the dated bathrooms, old carpet, and the extremely thin partition between the rooms where you can virtually hear everything about your neighbor next door!

Overall, a decent hotel with good location, given the extremely high tariffs to pay for staying in Perth CBD, this place is okay for a promotional deal with free breakfast and free wifi thrown in :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_SG_802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#50 of 66 in Perth
384 reviews
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,889 reviews
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#58 of 66 in Perth
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,359 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 66 in Perth
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £1,304 - £1,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing