We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Perth Hotel
Ranked #71 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just had 4 nights at the kings and for the price we paid it was ok, old hotel but beds are comfortable and clean and rooms are big. Biggest problem is noise, when next door uses their bathroom it's sounds like they are in yours, and if your on road side you can hear the traffic, so I would recommend ear plugs. They must have had a leak in the windows at one time because the lining was full of mildew and stains, at the price of lining you'd think they would replace it. When you walk into the room's there is a smell, not sure what it was, others commented on it as well. They have been refurbishing the hotel for the past 5yrs at least so you can get a better room if you pay more, didn't get to see them so cant comment on them.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the road and away from the lift, refurbished rooms might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    130
    116
    58
    83
See reviews for
55
125
55
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 days in January arriving on Australia Day the location was fantastic as the events for that day were a short 10 minute stroll from the door. This hotel is a little dated but very clean. We had b & b the breakfast was first class. The location is on Hay St which is a straight run in from the aerport. All parts of the city centre are within walking distance. There are some great restaurants nearby. We liked the location of the hotel so much that after touring around the locality (a visit to the Margaret River area is a must) we stayed the night before we moved on to Cairns

Room Tip: a room at the rear of the hotel is a must as hotel is on a main st
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griff888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very disappointed with this property. Rooms are decorated in a 70s/80s style, and very poorly maintained. Had to turn off the noisy air conditioning to get some sleep. Room to room sound attenuation seemed non existent - could hear the conversations in the next room clearly. Bathroom also very dated and poorly maintained.
To add to my disappointment, I booked a taxi at reception for an early departure to the airport. "Taxi' was a private vehicle, no meter, did not know which terminal was which, and then tried to overcharge me for the fare.
If you are looking for Perth CBD accommodation, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pcb91151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I visited Perth Australia with my daughter last December (2nd -9th) we stayed at Kings Perth hotel. Its a very comfortable place to stay, very economical. The food and drinks aere suitable for us. easy transportation taxis and buses, just out of the hotel and choose buses or cars. Shoping malls are nearby, we went out at night with no difivulties..

Room Tip: A very friendly hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsudin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is my second stay at Kings in 12 months. The fact that I came back for a second visit must say something. I booked a deluxe balcony room 2 night weekend special (sat & sun night) for $117p/n. I realize the price is not always so low but anything under $150p/n is exceptional value and up to $200 is reasonable.

The deluxe room is clean with mini bar, hair drier, toiletries (no toothbrush & paste), good sized towels, air con. good lighting & flat screen tv. The bed and pillows were comfortable.

The deluxe rooms are newly renovated and a little more expensive than the older style superior rooms. There won't be much view from the balcony rooms except for the amazing light display from the council building. And a glimpse of the river.

If you want shiny new minimal style decor this is probably not the hotel for you. If you are not so worried or actually enjoy the old style then you will feel comfortable here. Older does not mean dirty or broken.

The front desk staff are helpful and efficient. The dining room and bar are cosy and the dining room staff are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. I recommend including breakfast as it is buffet style and consistently good although doesn't change much from day to day so you may get a little bored if you are there for more than a few days.

Overall, it's hard to fault for the price. A little old style gem in a location surrounded by more opulent but highly priced fashionable "brand" hotels.

Room Tip: If you like fresh air choose a balcony room on 8th or 9th floor. Deluxe rooms are renovated. Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psygram9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Clean and convenient. Great shower except it floods bathroom floor due to lack of shower screen.
My biggest complaint was not being able to reduce room temperature- found out air - con only operating as heater at present. At least they had a blanket in the room so we could lose the Doona. What is it with hotels and Doonas? A bit more light in the room would also be good. We booked online for a room with a double and single bed but didn't get one and hotel full.
Breakfast was very good.
Pretty good value for Perth

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGalahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#70 of 81 in Perth
457 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#59 of 81 in Perth
345 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#40 of 81 in Perth
268 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Property: Kings Perth Hotel
Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing