We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location but very dated”
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Perth Hotel
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant location but very dated”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel didn't seem that clean - dirty looking carpet with a big patch in the middle. Comfy bed, good size room.
Wifi was useless and they kept fobbing us off with excuses that it was just our room, when we talked to other guests they had the same problem. Breakfast was fine and plenty of it but the dining room was a bit dated and the air con was freezing- it was winter and we should have had warm air! Hotel was in a brilliant location - a very easy walk to the city centre.

Room Tip: Maybe a lower floor would receive better wifi- but I somehow doubt it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suep1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    131
    116
    58
    83
See reviews for
55
125
55
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The front office staff were very friendly,helpful and welcoming. We stayed for 10 nights in a balcony room on the top floor which was quite spacious and comfortable. The room was serviced daily with all amenities replaced if necessary. The WiFi was very intermittent and slow.The room was reasonably quiet until work started on the adjoining buiding site around 6.30am
A breakfast was included which was very nice, a great selection, but the restaurant was very cold and jackets were necessary.

The one thing that annoyed me most was the price I paid for our stay.I rang direct from NZ. Our friends booked on line and paid CONSIDERABLY less. It was the most expensive hotel we had during our months holiday in Australia, including Sydney which was a relatively new property.

To improve your hotel foyer a few pot plants (or something similar) placed in strategic areas would enhance the decor and improve the overall appearance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

only stayed here one night only because it was right in the city and we were getting fed up trying to find a place to stay that had parking. The room was old but comfortable, the bathroom was clean enough but the shower rose was dodgy. The place was very quite as these older hotels are. The location was great as it was just a short walk to the centre of Perth. If I came back, I'll stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: would suggest that you look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Kings Perth Hotel is not fit for royalty but it is convenient. Let’s address this straight away – there are a lot of negative reviews that are justified but I saw the very friendly front of house staff being abused by patrons a number of times based on reviews they had read. This is not acceptable behaviour. I was amazed at the professionalism the staff displayed at all times.

It is very close to the mall and plenty of attractions, bars and some really good restaurants. At the time of our stay it was also one of the cheapest and last hotels available. There is a Wilson car park next to the Hotel which charges $15 per day as long as you get a ticket from the front counter. Parking out the front exists only for a very short time frame and there is a loading zone in front of the hotel. Best to park in Wilson’s and bring in your bags that way.

As you enter the foyer you will be overwhelmed by the décor, dark wood and a throwback to a yesteryear. It doesn’t stop there as the room we stayed in was extremely old fashioned but very clean. The room smelt like talcum powder and mould but it was large. We had a king size room that came with an extra single bed. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything – we were woken by next doors phone alarm in the morning! The traffic can be heard clearly as well but it wasn’t too bad but I wouldn’t want to stay over the weekend.

The décor was extremely old with some buttons that may bewilder e.g. the air con/heating controls were found on the side of the cabinet above the fridge (photo) that were rotary and there was some mould in the bathroom. However, everything was very, very clean. The shower had the mould and the hot/cold buttons were not labelled which could cause an accident. The shower stream alternated between hot and cold but the pressure was fine.

It is easy to see that they are in the middle of renovations. The elevators had a broken external light without a cover. Some of the buttons inside didn’t light up when you pressed them so you had to take a punt if it was taking you to your floor. Anyone with a fear of lifts may have difficulties. One of the elevators also screeched but they were being repaired when we stayed.

The “Petty Sessions” bar wasn’t open for happy hour (despite being heavily advertised) but serve meals in here. Based on reviews I kept away from the food as there are at least 4 eateries available as soon as you walk out the front door. In particular the Canton Bar is fantastic for its food and wine selection and has a great ambience which was directly across the road. There are several café’s as well.

Overall I’m glad I stayed for one night and you have to have a sense of humour about these things. I am sure that my elderly parents would’ve loved the throwback to their era and easily recognised some of the archaic buttons. As mentioned before, the staff are fantastic and get told too often how bad the Kings Perth Hotel is but they still kept smiling.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navelint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Thankfully only had to stay here one night. The decor is old, the rooms run down, the tv was dodgy and didn't work properly, the fridge made heaps of noise (I pulled it out to try and unplug it), the telephone was dodgy and didn't work properly, and an alarm went off in the room next door which woke me up at 5.30am. Will ask my work to never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REan118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you like the creepy, filthy, out of date and falling apart, this hotel is for you.

Where to start, I thankful only had to stay here for 1 night in July and in that one night i saw around 6 ladies of the evening, either using this place as their base for the evening or going from client to client. I saw many dodgy people most likely said clients.

I didn't get any sleep due to the local people of hay street walking around drunk yelling and screaming abuse at one another from 11pm-4am

As for the hotel appearance, Apart from the corridors smelling like urine, the carpets covered in stains. I guess i found most disturbing, having a door in my room leading to the room next door very concerning. You could hear everything our neighbors were saying/doing (Thankfully they were friends of ours. You could even see their beds under the door and through the sides...unmmm creepy. Why not just fill the door in? These rooms were booked separately so the hotel staff didn't know we knew each other and with the current "Guests" here i'd imagine they'd want all the privacy they could get. It was locked the whole night but still, you have no privacy at all.

2 of the lights in our room did not work, they didnt even match, was like they went to good sammies and bought random lamps as the room next door also had the same deal. The toilet did not flush, no fan in the bathroom so it steams up like crazy, the fridge had no shelves and everything fell out of it, nothing on the sides so basically you couldn't use the fridge,

Also i don't believe in ghosts, but this place freaks you out, lights turning on and off all night in the corridor, creeping all over the hotel, people knocking on my door while i was in the shower, 3-4 times only no one there each time i went to see. Most likely idiots playing around but still. I don't like being disturbed when my do not disturb sign is up. Was starting to think maybe it was people hoping to see if i was alone and break in, so i stopped opening the door.

This place isn't worth what you pay, It is one of the cheapest places to go but still, the whole time i was here i didn't want to be alone, as i felt i'd be mugged or beaten in the hall ways.

This is NOT a family friendly hotel. Apart from the dodgy people and ladies of the evening there this place isn't meant for children, nothing there for kids to do, it's scary, the people here are scary and from what i could honestly tell this is just a hotel for people to hire for the 1 night. If you catch my drift.

Room Tip: If you do come here get a room half way down from the lifts, less noise and safe if the lights go ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ninja_Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night in end-March.

Décor-wise and condition-wise, the hotel looks like it’s still stuck in the 80s/90s. It’s in dire need of refurbishment. Thankfully, the room was still in a good-enough condition to stay in. Barely.

The advertised free wifi did not work during the time when I was there. Apart from the manager, the rest of the staff were unfriendly during the course of my interaction with them.

It’s in a very central location. You can walk to all the shopping streets in the area and to the river. That’s one good thing going for it.

Would not characterise as value-for-money.

Stay here if you can’t help it. (Which was also how I ended up there.)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oei86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#47 of 64 in Perth
357 reviews
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#55 of 64 in Perth
462 reviews
Mercure Perth
#22 of 64 in Perth
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,259 reviews
Duxton Hotel
#14 of 64 in Perth
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Property: Kings Perth Hotel
Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing