We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Perth
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A one night business trip and this hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of Perth.The downside to this is that as the hotel sits on a corner you are subjected to the constant beeps of the pedestrian crossings up to near midnight and the noise from drunks et al all through the night.
The rooms are small but clean, I was in in fact upgraded but couldn't see what from - maybe a cupboard. Bring you're own water as the water from the taps tastes awful and it's not chlorine. Furthermore the bottled water they put in the room is $7.50 for a litre.

I didn't but I'd recommend pre booking your car park space as there are only about 7 available and the street parking is on an hourly basis - hotel charges $25 a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear alexkyp

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

It’s great to hear how you found the location of Pensione Hotel Perth so convenient for your business trip, although I am saddened to hear that the comfort of your stay was affected due to outside noise. Our friendly team at reception would have been more than happy you assist you with moving to a room away from this area and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We have a number of different room types here at the hotel and you were upgraded to our Deluxe Corporate room which are ideal for the corporate traveller. If more space is required we would recommend our Premium Double rooms which feature a sitting area with two arm chairs and 40” inch LED TV’s.

Thank you for you tip regarding booking car parking. We certainly do have limited parking on site and definitely recommend this is pre-booked to guarantee a spot.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    536
    140
    29
    17
See reviews for
113
495
233
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Excellent value for money (with Perth accommodation generally being a bit expensive), with great location on eastern edge of CBD (walking distance to everywhere and incredible free city circuit bus at the door), extremely helpful staff and clean rooms with simple modern decor - while not large are certainly adequate. Would pay to check the room type carefully if you require more space or speak to the staff. We stayed there for a week and felt right at home. Was a bit noisy on Saturday night due to the bar right next door but that's life in the big smoke! Speaking of which, the My Place Bar offer incredible value meals and a generous discount to hotel patrons as well - so it balances out nicely. Good security in lift and rooms. We will certainly book again if back in Perth. - Phil.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilA644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear PhilA644,

Thank you for you kind words and feedback, I have certainly passed this on to our team!

It’s great to hear that you found Pensione Hotel Perth such great value and centrally located in this busy city!

We pride ourselves on making sure every one of our guests has a comfortable and relaxing stay and I’m delighted to hear you felt right at home during your weeks stay with us. It’s also great to hear how you found your room clean and modern, we are just as happy with our refurbishment as you are!

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

the pensione hotel is a very clean, efficient hotel within walking distance to the sites in CBD Perth.
The staff is very friendly, rooms modern and a good size. Resturant adjoining hotel is excellent. Long week end rates can often be had for $148 AU, an excellent price in Perth. We moved to this hotel from Miss Maude's which is across the street and felt this was a much better value, newer and most important the staff was much more friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear jim b,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am thrilled you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff very friendly and the price excellent value.

We can’t wait to welcome you back when you are next in Perth.

Kind Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is located conveniently smack in the city centre so getting around is extremely convenient. When I hailed a cab from Perth Airport my driver wasn't aware of this hotel's name (I presume it's because it's only been recently renamed) - so make sure you have some sort of map, address or landmarks on hand before you go.

The hotel receptionist staff is very helpful - we arrived at 10.30 in the morning, and while our room was still unavailable, they offered to store our luggage in a locked luggage storage area.

The room itself is relatively small but kind of expected given the price and the location. It's well maintained and clean.

One downside of staying in this place is that it's located directly adjacent to a loud bar - on our first night (Saturday). The loud bass music is clearly audible in our room on the 6th floor (second highest), and this went on until at least 12am which was when we drifted off to sleep. It's something to watch out for if you are staying on Friday or Saturday, and I presume wouldn't be a problem on most other days (our subsequent Sunday night was quiet and uneventful).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear youngyew,

Thank You for your feedback.

We are always receiving such positive reviews in regards to our central location, economical rates and cleanliness of our rooms and I am so glad that you were able to experience this.

The hotel has had a full refurbishment and re-branding that was completed a year ago and unfortunately this did cause some confusion for taxi drivers although we did notify all taxi companies at the end of the refurbishment to ensure that all of their drivers were aware of these changes.

I am thrilled to hear that our team were helpful and provided you with the option to store your luggage until your room became available.

My Place Bar and Restaurant is run independently to the hotel and some noise can be experienced on Friday and Saturday nights as it is the busiest period. If informed, one of our team members would have been more than happy to find a room more suitable for you to minimise your disturbance. We will certainly pass your feedback onto the management team from My Place in regards to the closing hours.

When returning to Perth please contact us directly as we would love to welcome back.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

I travel toPerth frequently for work and always have difficulties in getting accommodation that is comfortable and value for money. I was booked into. Standard room for 3 nights. Price was great for Perth. Rooms were very small- so small that there is no where to open your suitcase out completely. Bed and pillows were good. I'm glad I didn't want to work in the room as the desk and stool would not have been good. Bathroom was small but did the job. The place felt new. Breakfast was served across the road at Miss Maud's, standard buffet.

I would return due to the price and location.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Honkin243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Honkin243,

Thank you for your review!

I am delighted that even with demand for accommodation in Perth being high especially during the week that you found the hotel to be comfortable and great value for money. This is something that “Pensione Hotels” have become renowned for in all of our capital city locations around Australia.

It is great to see that you would return to stay with us, so please contact us directly as we would love for you to experience one of our larger rooms during you next stay.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Was a wonderful stay. And is a very clean and great hotel with fabulous staff
The bed was fabulously comfortable and i did not want to get out.
Location was founded to be in a brilliant locyion.
I Will deffinatly be recommending this hotel to others.


  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Dannyelle E,

Thank You for providing such a positive review!

It is so fantastic to hear that you found the team to be fabulous, your room clean and location brilliant. We are always receiving positive feed back in regards to our beds and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy them for yourself.

We can’t wait to welcome you back when you are next in the city!

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Disappointed that parking was not available as advertised and had to find our own parking in a public car park. Room size is small which would be ok if there were some way of organising your suitcases. Price was good but overall could do better.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Henry P,

Thank You for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I would like to sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with your recent stay. We do have limited car parking on site which does need to be pre-booked to guarantee a spot. This information is included on our website and all third party websites however sometimes cannot be as prominent as we would prefer. We do have numerous public car parking options close to the hotel and I hope our friendly team was able to direct you to one of these.

It’s fantastic to hear that you found the hotel to be of great value, although in regards to your room size we do have a number of different room types that may have been more suitable for you. Our Deluxe Corporate room features a large working desk and our Premium room feature a small lounge area with two arm chairs.

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again so please contact myself or one of our friendly team members directly and we will look after your requirements.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,128 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 64 in Perth
267 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Perth

Property: Pensione Hotel Perth
Address: 70 Pier St | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#9 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaming on the corner of Pier and bustling Murray Street is an attractively refurbished 98 room gem on the doorstep of the best that Perth has to offer. You’ll find the free central bus, Perth station, streets lined full of shops for retail therapy and endless dining options at your fingertips – so you can make the most out of your trip.The Pensione Hotel has undergone an extensive refurbishment stamping it with the fresh signature style you’d expect to see from the Pensione brand. Warm white walls, tufted leather headboard, soft neutral carpet, luxuriously thick curtains, crisp white linen and exceptionally comfortable pillow-top mattresses will turn your room into a cosy oasis for the frequent corporate traveller, quick getaway or adventurous holiday.Equipped with your everyday in-room necessities, you also have full access to the independently owned My Place Bar and Restaurant menu serving all your favourite dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pensione team are at your every beck and call to offer you the personalised and professional service we know you’d love see and expect from a boutique property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pensione Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarons Hotel Perth - By 8 Perth
Perth Aarons Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing