We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for central Perth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Perth
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great option for central Perth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed a couple of nights after a couple of weeks in a campervan. Was perfect for us as it was right in the centre. Were able shop and eat easily! Service was excellent and the pretty generic rooms were very comfortable. The noise from the bar downstairs was pretty bad. But I am yet to stay in a central hotel that is not noisy. Two nights in central Perth would be all you needed and for value this would be a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penfold555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Penfold555,

Thanks so much for your review.

I am so thrilled you found our hotel perfect for your needs after your trip around our beautiful state in a campervan.

I would like to apologise for the noise you experienced. One of my friendly team would have been more than happy to move you to a room away from this area. I am pleased to advise however that we have just commenced installing double glazed windows in all of our rooms which will reduce external noise considerably. This is due for completion in September.

We love welcoming back return guest so please contact us directly should you be returning to Perth so we can ensure you are well looked after.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    493
    132
    27
    15
See reviews for
100
452
215
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

stayed at the pension june 2014 for one night, used last minute.com to find a hotel and phone booking was easy enough, arrival and greeting was excellent, room was very clean and tidy and a very modern look and feel, checkout again was pleasant
thanks team keep up the great work

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crustykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear crustykev

Thank you for your kind words.

We certainly will “keep up the great work” to ensure our guests have the best possible experience.

If you are returning to Perth in the future please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly as we love looking after return guests.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Pensione and had a very nice time. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room whilst on the small side was super compfy and the location is excellent. Close to cafés and transport and all that You would like to see in Perth. There are great eateries nearby and shopping at your doorstep.

Room Tip: A little noisy on the side street maybe choose a room on the non street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassandra1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Cassandra1984,

Thanks so much for your review.

I am thrilled you were able to enjoy our central location, super comfy rooms and excellent location.

We would love to welcome you back again when you return to Perth.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I booked this hotel mainly after reading Trip Advisor reviews. Disappointing.
The good points: Some staff are very professional and helpful; the beds are super comfortable with nice linen; the rooms are very clean.
The bad points: the smallest double room in the entire world I'm sure. Even my hotel in New York (notorious for small rooms) was on a par with this. A double bed literally left no room at all for baggage for 2 persons. Impossible and not workable. I asked to be moved ("But you did ask for the Standard Room - right?") and the new room was workable. The slowest check-in I've experienced in a very long time - but maybe the staff member was new. The accounting system seemed to be cumbersome for all staff to use.

Room Tip: If you are two people travelling and you have baggage do not book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestyTweedValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear WestyTweedValley,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I can certainly appreciate that our standard rooms are cosy and we do everything we can to make them as functional as possible. Pensione Perth aims to accommodate guests with a wide range of travelling needs and I was glad to read that we were able to move you to a room more suitable for you.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the delay you experienced on arrival and for how your request for a room move was handled. This is certainly not the high level of service that we always strive to achieve. We do have some newer members of the team and further training is being provided to ensure this improves in the future.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. We would relish the opportunity to show you the high level of service and comfortable facilities that our below reviewers experienced and our regulars are accustomed to.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff were very accomodating and helpfull. room was good and exceeded my expectations. i have stayed in many hotels in Perth and value for money, service and accomodating im overall very happy and have stayed since.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Theo R,

Thanks for reviewing our hotel.

I am delighted that your stay exceeded your expectation and the team were accommodating and helpful.

We can’t wait to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel located near centre of Perth. rooms are small (european size) the room and bathroom very clean and presented well.
parking is exspensive, but secure. the staff were efficient, but did get mixed up when we paid for parking before leaving, couldnt understand that we had paid cash, for parking, they fixed problem without any fuss.
no where to store your bags in room.
tea and coffee making facilities in room.
the bed was soft but the mattress was well and truly worn out, made for an uncomfortable sleep.
recommend to stay if not going to stay in room and spend most time sight seeing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear colinryan,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased on the most part you enjoyed your stay however am disappointed to hear that a number of aspects of your stay did not exceed your expectations.

All of our beds are fitted with Microcload Toppers which can make them feel soft however we can remove these if required to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible. We replaced all of our beds in 2012 and regularly receive positive feedback on how comfortable they are and I would like to sincerely apologise that you did not find this to be the case.

Our Deluxe Corporate rooms are our second largest room and provide a large desk and a luggage rack to store bags. I would certainly recommend this room type for longer stays and if extra space is required.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly so we can ensure you are well looked after.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a cute little hotel in a great central location, close to buses, malls, shops, jetty cafés, cultural precinct and the train station. It was quiet overnight during my mid-week stay but imagine it could get noisier on weekends. All the staff were friendly and professional. On checking in there was a problem with my booking caused by the agent I went through and the hotel staff let me sort it out with the agent next day with no pressure or hassle, so thank you! The double bed standard room was clean and comfy (comfy bed too) but could be a little cramped for a couple. When sharing on a nice holiday it might be worthwhile to ask about larger rooms and pay that bit extra. Also the hotel is right opposite miss Maud's Swedish hotel which is very cute and has smorgasbord and pastries. The bus to kings park is just down the road and trip thru cbd is free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sara L,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

Our central location and friendly and professional team makes us the perfect choice when visiting Perth and I am thrilled you found this to be the case.

We have just commenced installing double glazed windows which will definitely limit outside noise but I am pleased you were not affected by this during your midweek stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Perth.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Perth

Property: Pensione Hotel Perth
Address: 70 Pier St | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#5 Business Hotel in Perth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaming on the corner of Pier and bustling Murray Street is an attractively refurbished 98 room gem on the doorstep of the best that Perth has to offer. You’ll find the free central bus, Perth station, streets lined full of shops for retail therapy and endless dining options at your fingertips – so you can make the most out of your trip.The Pensione Hotel has undergone an extensive refurbishment stamping it with the fresh signature style you’d expect to see from the Pensione brand. Warm white walls, tufted leather headboard, soft neutral carpet, luxuriously thick curtains, crisp white linen and exceptionally comfortable pillow-top mattresses will turn your room into a cosy oasis for the frequent corporate traveller, quick getaway or adventurous holiday.Equipped with your everyday in-room necessities, you also have full access to the independently owned My Place Bar and Restaurant menu serving all your favourite dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pensione team are at your every beck and call to offer you the personalised and professional service we know you’d love see and expect from a boutique property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarons Hotel Perth - By 8 Perth
Perth Aarons Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing