We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

10 days staying at the Mantra on Hay while here on work was a very good selection. From check in until departure the service was excellent. My bags delievered to my room, lights and cooling turned on for my return. Wake up calls and taxis booked for the requested time. Quiet and clean, and one of the few with a small veranda for sitting in the sun. 10-15 minute walk to the malls and just over a block to the Swan River. Mulitiple choices near by for dining or takeaway and close to a supermarket for items to cook my own. Short distance to the red cat bus (free).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Hi Fred007_11

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    369
    172
    68
    47
See reviews for
297
234
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Arrived early, for one night. A young man was happy to come out with a trolley and keep our 6 bags until later. We returned at 2.30pm to check in, and were told our bags already in our room, waiting for us. (Not having the tip culture in Australia, he had been happy to put them in our room before we arrived.) Room 603 on Floor 6, (twin requested) turned out to be a 2-bedroom apartment with a superking and a queen, one shower room, open-plan lounge, full kitchen with dishwasher,etc, dining area with 4 chairs, balcony onto Hay St, with small table and 2 plastic chairs. Cupboard with a washer and drier, iron and ironing board. After settling in, we went to the rooftop pool on level 8. Quite small, but the 3 people who were in it all left after a wee while. 5 pieces of gym equipment at one end. Open to a small balcony, with great view over rooftop and of the jacaranda blossoms. Bed : Softer mattress than we are used to and firmer pillow. Noisy in night, mostly from the A/C on top of the Blue Rock Café, I think. It was quite hot and we had our own noisy A/C on for a while - and left the bedroom door open all night. Didn't sleep all that well, but otherwise more than satisfied with everything.

Room Tip: Higher than floor 6 might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Hi eleanola

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the young man that assisted you.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Check in was quick and friendly. We booked the incorrect bed configuration and this was brought to our attention and another room providid at check in. Karen on reception is lovely, extremely personable. Breakfast was very average, as was the service that accompanied it. We stayed on the fourth floor, halls and room were musty. Beds were comfortable

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from the restaurant and our Food & Beverage Manager will certainly address this with her staff.

On a positive note it pleases me to hear of your praises for Karen at reception of which I will ensure Karen receives.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Mantra on Hay what a rip off. $22 for parking if you can get a parking spot (We have two cars a baby and an overseas visitor and have booked a two room apartment). Tried to cancel the booking as baby is young and needs paraphernalia that babies do close at hand, $50 cancellation fee and then they give you a credit for the amount of your accommodation no money back (as I doubt I will go back what was the point). Could find no where on the website about the parking (if it was there it was well hidden)My advise if you are going to Perth and you need to park don't go to Mantra on Hay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Hi Particia P

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

As an information tool for future guests "car parking" is listed under the guest facilities tab which is located on the home page.

Again my apologies to you for the shortcomings relating to hotel information and services.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Well we stayed here in 2004 and it was quite good . The apartment had 2 bedrooms - very clean and tidy. Fast forward to July 2012 and wow what a difference. The lobby is the same which is tidy. But the first room was 100% damp- god knows what they did to it. The second room smelt like an ashtray so onto the thirdroom which smelt good but the furniture aged, the bathroom tiles lose, rusty soap container and the exhaust fan sounded like it was coming lose. The room was not good. Given this was our 3rd room I couldn't muster the courage to talk to reception. I would suggest people check the room first before moving in and if you get one of the old ones ask for something upgraded if they have any. Otherwise shop around.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank matakanaisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Hi matakanaisland,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported in terms of the room standards. I have liaised with my Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager who will certainly address the points raised.

This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Like most properties in Perth these days they are getting away with extortionate prices here.
I had just arrived from Melbourne where I stayed the night prior in a similar apartment on Collins St, for around HALF THE PRICE!
Whilst the mining boom is allowing this sort of daylight robbery it will not last forever and that will be the day of reckoning.
Note to all Perth properties - if you wish to charge sky high rates - try to match it with your product and service.
For about 50% of what I paid, I would have given this place a glowing review

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Hi MickeyTraveller

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Mantra on Hay in Perth.

With regards to rates these do fluctuate depending on the day of week and also seasonally as does Melbourne during peak times such as the Australian Open.

Had the price been right it would have been great to hear of your experience at the hotel and of the friendly and professional manner of the staff.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Murray
#28 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Perth
#22 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Property: Mantra on Hay
Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Perth
#26 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike. Located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, Mantra on Hay Perth is close to several of the city's major local attractions. Mantra on Hay Perth offers guests Hotel Rooms and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies. Apartments have fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. If multicultural cuisine and vibrant bar and nightlife are on your wish list, you will also find Perth's burgeoning dining precinct a short stroll away. Mantra on Hay Perth is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. Ideally located near Perth's CBD and tourist attractions, Mantra on Hay Perth is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break away or convenient base for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing