We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great size apartments”
Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great size apartments”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I've stayed in the two bedroom apartments many times. Kitchens are well stocked, rooms are big and it's close to the WACA cricket ground and Queens Park. It's a good 10 min walk into the centre of the shopping CBD, but there is a free bus that run a city loop (not run by the hotel). A small supermarket is across the street along with bottle shops and pubs. Parking can fill up and leave you out on the street on busy nights. All in all it's a solid apartment hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank midwicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi midwicket

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback of your recent stay. It pleases me to advise that we are well underway with our room renovations which will enhance our overall product of which I am sure you will enjoy on your next visist to Mantra on Hay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    395
    187
    70
    55
See reviews for
312
250
45
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel looks great in foyer but the standard of room was very disappointing. There was leaking roof, stains on carpet and tv is in lounge but not bedroom. High service charge on room service and food was cold when delivered. Didn't feel like safe place outside either

Room Tip: Would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi Antoinette B

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide feedback of your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you have mentioned regarding the rooms appearance.

We are in the process of our refurbishment which will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I am currently staying at the Mantra on Hay and hate every moment of it. We are checking out in the next day to move to another hotel. Mantra on Hay is old, dirty paint and walls and even cockraches in my apartment kitchen. The staff (especially one individual) wokring over the last weekend is rude and insults her co-workers in front of guests. This was rented by my company for us and I will advise them never to put any families or employees in Mantra of Hay, possibly to stay away from this hotel brand completely.
I have travelled to developed and poor countries and must say for the rate we pay per night this is the lowest and worst standard I have ever seen for a develoepd country...shame on this hotel for expecting guests to put up with this.

Room Tip: dont book please....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALvCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi AlvCal

Thank you for feedback with regards to your current stay. We are currently going through a refurbishment which will enhance the overall properties appearance and the guest experience. We do our best to maintain pest control through programmed maintenance especially having full kitchen facilities to ensure this does not affect your stay. It is unfortunate that this occurred while you were here. May it also be noted that once you notified reception of this issue we gave you the option to move rooms to which you declined. Mantra on Hay with its spacious apartments is great for families and longstay guests as it has all the required facilities, full kitchen, seperate washing machine and dryer and within close proximity of 3 supermarkets.

Again I apologise for the inconveniences caused.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for business and I so wish I hadn't, the hotel is the wrong end of town for business and there were drunk people sitting on benches near the hotel. But the worst part was the room... a tragic confection of broken and chipped 1980s furniture, a kitchen complete with peeling laminate all mixed with an aircon unit that sounded like a jet engine. And then there are the small things like the toilet seat in my room that had broken in half at some point in time and had then been super-glued together (yes really) and then broken again... and lastly the empty Jim Bean cans on the balcony, plus the 100s of cigarette butts, smashed glass, odd rotting socks and Jack Daniels bottles that covered the awning to the building and in full view of my room really says it all..!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalNomad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi GlobalNomad62

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Executive Housekeeper will certainly address this with her staff. With regards to the appearance of the room I apologise for any disappointment you experienced.
We are starting our property refurb today which will enhance the guest experience.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We felt that a 2-bedroom apartment sleeping 4 people is very spacious. Some come with 2 bathrooms while ours comes with only 1. The furniture is nice but the kitchen shows considerable signs of wear and tear, probably due to heavy use. Good location. The Perth Mint is a few minutes by walking. The Swan River is 2 blocks away. The CBD is about 20 minutes on foot but free CAT buses are a few steps away and can take you to most places, including the train station.

Everything works, except for one incident with wifi. In this day and age, free wifi has already become the norm all around the world so charging for wifi is an outdated, not greedy, practice. Even the cheapest hotels in some of the poor countries have free wifi for guests. So when we had to pay for wifi, we expected that somebody would take responsibility to fix the problem. That's a reasonable expectation, isn't it?

One night the wifi was off while we were in the middle of our trip planning and booking. I called the front desk and was told that wifi was provided by a third party and the hotel had nothing to do with it. I'd need to call that company and the rate for local calls was $1 per minute. There are a few things wrong in this picture as you can see. Very frustrated, I probed further and found that if I went down to the lobby, I could use the phone there free of charge. I had to walk down with my laptop and got on the phone with a customer service rep of the internet company. The problem was diagnosed and fixed within 15 minutes and everything was back to normal.

I was wondering if you're a foreign tourist in Australia and can't speak English well, how are you going to have the problem fixed? You thought by calling the front desk and reporting the problem, they'd call the internet service provider themselves and have the problem fixed on your behalf. After all, you have to pay for the service. I think the management should work on this issue and change the procedure for front desk staff. The hotel should take some responsibility in ensuring that wifi connection works at all time. I'm sure the hotel takes a cut in the fee guests pay to use the wifi. So fix problems when they arise. Or better yet, make wifi for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonsaisai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi bonsaisai

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was less than satisfactory. The issue you raised regarding the internet has been addressed with the respective departmental manager and additional training will be reiterated with regards to how internet issues are resloved.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Greater Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 2 times. The location cannot be beaten. It's right across the road from free public transport which can take you all across the city. The first time we were on the ground level in a three BR two BTH room. Very spacious and clean. Second time we were on the 7th floor in a 2br room. Both we're clean and well stocked. Staff put my little sisters barbies on the couch everyday! The first time we went in the pool it was freezing however a bar man over heard us saying this and said he would bring it to the managers attention! The next day we went swimming in a nice warm pool.

Overall for the price you pay it's a great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi Lachlan F

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you once again with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

As title suggests I was very dissapointed on a recent stay at the Mantra on Hay. I'll start with the positives -

-Helpful staff. Very patient when we had issue with blocked card and luggage.
-Good location. East Perth with cafes & shops on door step. Free city CAT bus 30 secs walk.
- Had dessert with room service which was delicious.


Negatives

We booked a 2bed 2bath at average $330pn. Perth is an expensive city. This aparthotel claims to be 4 and a half stars. I cannot fathom where that came from. The apartment we received was dark, dingy and very motel like. More like 3 stars max.

Old wood everywhere, horrid lighting, very old style kitchen with cooker top that was unwipeable the old sort. Bedrooms felt grim and depressing and bathrooms need updating.

When we used the washer or dryer they gave the worst sounds and walls in apartment are very thin. The living room is slightly better.

We ordered an on demand movie for $15 and the screen was blurry.

Also within 2 hours of our check in someone walked into apartment and said he was here to remove mini bar. Mini bar being 2 bottles of water, some crisps and a coke on a tray on the counter. I found it strange that although we had paid a bond they felt the need to take it.

Overall I would not stay here again. It is in dire need of an upgrade as the room standard is low. The lobby is lovely but don't be fooled. The lifts don't require a swipe which for safety is a bad thing but as I was travelling with my partner who has difficulty using them due to disability it was a blessing.

Room Tip: Unless everywhere else is fully booked and you like motel style apartments I would say just avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi Anna B

Thank you for providing feedback of your stay with us here at Mantra on Hay.

It pleases me to hear that there were some positives during your stay. With regards to the apartments we are due to start our refurbishment process this month which will enhance the shortfalls you have mentioned.

I have spoken to the Executive Housekeeper regarding the mis-communication regarding your minibar and we apologise for the inconveniences caused.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Murray
#22 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Crowne Plaza Perth
#18 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Property: Mantra on Hay
Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike. Located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, Mantra on Hay Perth is close to several of the city's major local attractions. Mantra on Hay Perth offers guests Hotel Rooms and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies. Apartments have fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. If multicultural cuisine and vibrant bar and nightlife are on your wish list, you will also find Perth's burgeoning dining precinct a short stroll away. Mantra on Hay Perth is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. Ideally located near Perth's CBD and tourist attractions, Mantra on Hay Perth is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break away or convenient base for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing