We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some What Disappointing”
Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Some what disappointing. Although the guest book advise all rooms are serviced daily and every third day a full service is undertaken.....two days without the basic service is unacceptable.

On the occasions I went to breakfast at the hotel, they were often cold.

Location is good. I did not use the Wi-Fi due to the cost and easy availability of free Wi-Fi at other venues close by.

Room is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Kevin R

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, it's regrettable to hear you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay.
I'm sorry to hear your room was not serviced for two days as it is our policy to service daily. Please be assured I will be investigating this with our Housekeeping Department.
I encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your concerns.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay for any future visits.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Welcome to perths accomodation where everything is what i call "miners priced", staff are generally well behaved and well mannerd and beds and all that important stuff are generally sleepable if thats even a word. Pros of mantra on hay-
We stayed in a bdrm apartment room on the ground floor it was pleasant.
-kitchen clean and well kept
-bedding was well kept and comfy
Appliances handy
-staff presentable and welcoming alsp helpful

Cons-
-small tv but really? Is that even a con this is perth not dubai.
-couches uncomfortable.. And again is that even a real con considering my couch at home isnt too comfy either.
-parking we justt only just got a parking underneath

All in all id reccomend a stay here wether for a long haul or a short day stay. Mantra on hay is value for its buck. "This is perth" people! Its never been fancy in the accom department.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Kaos03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Kaos03
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, I'm delighted to hear you would recommend us for a long haul or short stay.
Our recently refurbished apartments are spacious and well equipped for all your needs and it's great to hear you found the apartment clean and comfy.
We will continue to ensure our apartments meet and exceed our guest expectations and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Seriously need to get in this century, $25 a day for WiFi in a capital city is unheard of. I will not stay here again due to this outdated charge! Other than that good location and facilities. We just found this strange when 3 star properties in small country towns can offer free wifi!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear PeterNorris73
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, it's unfortunate to hear you will not stay with us again due to our internet charges. All in room wi-fi is at an extra charge, however we do offer free internet usage in our business centre in the lobby for all our guests.

I am please you found the hotel to be in a good location with good facilities.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family spread our stay here over 3 separate nights while we visited Margaret River in between our trip. After we checked out, we'd realized that we'd forgotten about our passports in the safe! in a panic, we called the hotel and Maria, was really helpful. She helped to coordinate the search with the housekeeping department and called me back several times to reassure me that they have found our passports and will keep them safely for us till we return at the end of the week. When we re-checked in, the 2 staff at the counter recognized us immediately and returned our passports. We are very thankful for their safekeeping and kindness.

Regarding the rooms, we have no complaints. They were very clean and spacious. Definitely very pleasant compared to some other apartments that we had stayed in. Will not hesitate to return again.

Only regret was we should have gotten a nice box of chocolates for your great staff!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear ELChong
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay. I am extremely pleased our team were efficient when notified of your stressful situation and kept your passports secure until your return. It is with great delight I pass this onto our team.

It is great to hear our spacious apartments were suitable for your needs and you found them to be clean and pleasant.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Perth to experience the wonderful surrounding areas.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Although this hotel is centrally located this stay was very disappointing. They expect you to pay $25 per day for undercover parking and also charge for wifi.
We were given a disabled room initially but when we complained to reception we were moved to a new room . This was marginally better. The disabled room did not have non slip tiles in the bathroom which we thought was very dangerous and the water from the shower covered the whole of the bathroom floor which again posed a slip hazard when using the facilities. Will look elsewhere for any future Perth accomodation and will not be recommending Mantra

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Kim B
Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, and it's unfortunate to hear that there were a number of aspects of your stay that you were not satisfied with.
It is regrettable that your first room was unacceptable, however, I am pleased to hear our staff were able to assist in finding a more suitable room for the remainder of your stay and hope this room met your expectations. I note your comments regarding the disabled room and will certainly investigate your concerns.

Throughout Perth city center car-parking does incur a fee for businesses and visitors. We are fortunate that our car-parking facilities are on-site.

We do hope you consider staying with Mantra On Hay for any future travel to Perth city as we would love the opportunity to make up for this disappointing stay.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is very handily place in the centre of Perth. It is close to many shops, restaurants and bars, and most of the buildings in the CBD are 10 mins walk away. The train station is also just 5 mins walk away. The rooms are a bit of a mixture, some are very good some are average, but all comfortable. Breakfast is good, albeit expensive.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Steve W
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to be centrally located and comfortable.
Mantra On Hay recently completed a refurbishment of all apartments ensuring a high quality standard for our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this apartment as it has all the things that we needed. My utmost priority was a complete kitchen. As Aussie's currency is much higher than Malaysia, i doubt that eating out for all meals would be practical. So we cooked. All utensils were provided, simply awesome.

This place would be perfect for Asians (and Muslims), as the room has the Qiblat sign (well my room at least) , and there's a halal kebab shop a minute away, as well as a supermarket called Golden Hay that sells halal meat and Asian's herbs.

Also, it is strategically situated on Hay Street, which has lots of things, including shopping complex, souvenir shops, a Malaysian Nyonya restaurant (halal), the Perth Mint, and if you walk straight till the end, you will reach the jetty for Captain Cook's Cruise.

All in all, we really loved this place. The apartment is spacious, daily cleaning, laundry appliances..altho the downside is that the parking is $25/day! We were quite surprised as usually parking is free for tenants. We were lucky though as they gave us a complimentary parking upon check-out. Phew! We stayed for a week. You calculate that.

Conclusion, i would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Leyana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Leyana W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, and it was excellent to hear you enjoyed our spacious apartments, facilities and took advantage of the location.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Murray
#25 of 66 in Perth
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#32 of 66 in Perth
315 reviews
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Perth
#28 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £72 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike, Mantra on Hay offers guests Hotel Rooms and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies, with fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Mantra on Hay Perth is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing