We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for the art enthusiast”

Art Gallery of Western Australia
Ranked #14 of 167 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1895, the Art Gallery of Western Australia has the pre-eminent holdings of Western Australian art, craft and design from 1829 to the present. Our collections and exhibitions offer visitors exciting encounters with the art of Western Australia, traditional and contemporary Australian Indigenous art and the art of the world. Entrance is free, donations are welcome. We’re located in the heart of the Perth Cultural Centre and easily accessible from the Perth Train Station.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must for the art enthusiast”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Built in the 1980's the modern Perth Art gallery, is a peaceful experience with major artist collections shown throughout the year, small gift shop and set in the centre of the duty,making it easily accessible for the visitor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kollectem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    221
    75
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A solid local gallery worth a visit.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is Perth, so don't expect the Louvre, or for that matter the National Gallery of Victoria. What you can expect is a well-put together, smaller collection of important local and Australian artists - with some quality international works, and often excellent touring exhibitions. The building itself is 'very Perth' - pretty casual, light and airy, open and easily. And that's pretty much the vibe you get inside too. It's a welcoming place, with entry by donation (other than for special exhibitions).

Being only a few minutes walk from the heart of the city, in the Northbridge Cultural Centre, it's easily accessible. The main train station is almost literally at the back doorstep. There is a decent cafe on the ground level, but better fare at any of the nearby restaurants and cafes in Northbridge. The gallery shop usually has some interesting gift ideas - though it does seem a bit more just like a nice shop, rather than something inherently part of, and adding to, the gallery.

It would be nice to see some of that money that has been dug up out of the ground in WA poured into a few major art works, or somehow used to elevate this gallery from a solid and proud local institution to something more important on a national scale.

The gallery is closed Tuesdays.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TB-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We make an effort to visit almost every public gallery we can find in any city we go to, and it hurts me to say that we were very underwhelmed by the art collection here. The building is great and the flow of the rooms works very well, but it seemed that even though there were a few pieces by well recognised artists, both national and international, they were all quite dull and "ordinary" - not a word I'd normally use about art works.
However the concept of having the library, museum and gallery in close proximity and also close to public transport is a big plus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local Artists”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I must admit I'm not really a fan of Art Galleries to begin with. This gallery was very new, clean and spacious. Everything was ordered by decade, so easy to find your way around. I liked the fact that it was a tad smaller then other galleries, I enjoyed a lot more of the unique modern art which you don't get in some galleries.

It was a great free Perth experience and an opportunity to be exposed to some local/Australian artists.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RissG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a good time!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went for the Egyptian exhibit - smaller than expected but was still very interesting! Been before for other exhibits - always a good time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank caremyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Art Gallery of Western Australia also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Art Gallery of Western Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing