We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with several minor flaws”
Review of Mercure Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Perth
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I booked the Mercure Perth for the weekend after looking around town the day before, as I was in town on business. We wanted a comfortable room for 3 adults and a 2 year old, as close to the city centre as possible and with a pool. Oddly enough I was given a walk-in rate that was better than the rates found on Wotif or even the hotel website, which is something I thought could never happen.

The good: We had a superior room which was very large for a standard hotel. The staff was incredibly efficient and pleasant, and the pool area was definitely good enough even though being on the roof, it was not that easy to access.

The not so good: The room was poorly lit combined with very little sunlight coming through the window. The decor was a bit on the fading side, as was the hotel in general – is this really a combination of brown, dark yellow and grey? The bathroom while spacious and in good condition was definitely showing its age, and the TV image quality was from the same time the bathroom was last renovated.

The breakfast: Located in an utterly uninspiring room, it offered reasonable variety but nothing to make you happy – mediocre at best. Fortunately for us we got it for free from the kind people at reception, so we can't complain too much. But I would hate to pay hotel rates for breakfast and get that in return.

Overall I can easily recommend the Mercure as it did score in what was important for us. But for a real breakfast I would walk to Miss Maud, 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,796 - 1,802 of 1,926 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 16 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 8 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in October 2008 and found it a good central base to sight see from and for shopping and eating. The Mercure had comfortable rooms with plasma tv, internet facilities, mini bar, hairdryer,iron and nice free toiletry products in the bathroom. Gym area was basic but the rooftop swimming area was a good added facility. The hotel had a small bar area and restaurant facilities but I felt these were expensive. The reception staff were helpful and looked very professional and there was good tourist information literature available from the reception area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

I would rate their facilities at 2.5 stars.
However, their policies and offers cannot be trusted.
When I entered my room, there was a pamphlet stating that all guests get complimentary breakfasts during Dec and Jan. I took that to the reception and was told that it did not apply to me!!! Although I checked into their hotel on Dec 15, smack in the period they stipulated. This left a sour taste.
If they will not honor an offer made in black and white, what can you trust from them????

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank go168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatServiceMercure, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2009

Thank you for taking the time to make comment regarding your stay.
I would like to respond to your comment about complimentary breakfast and the promotion you mentioned which was displayed in your room.
You are correct that this was a promotion we were runnin but it is difficult for me to respond without knowing what rate you were paying.The promotion you were referring to was relating to one that iss on our Accor Hotels website which is a pre-paid, non refundable package. It is a discounted price, based on these conditions.
I am sorry that you have left the Mercure so dissapointed, this certainly is never our intention for any of a guests to leave feeling this this way.

Regards,
MANAGEMENT OF THE MERCURE PERTH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

My wife & I arrived in Perth at 6.30am on a Saturday morning. Decided to proceed to the hotel and probably hang around at the lobby till the check-in time. Upon arriving, spoke to the reception staff and to our pleasant surprise, we were told that there was a room available for us at that time itself. Though tired, we were glad that we could have a couple of hours rest in the room before heading out to the city. We chose this hotel for its central location and accessibility by public transport. Food and shopping are not a problem at surrounding areas as there were plenty of choices.

Staff were very friendly and helpful during our 3 nights stay. Cleanliness of the room and hotel is another major good point. Overall both of us enjoyed our stay and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

As members of Accor Advantage Plus (AAP) we booked through that website and, as always, received a great "hot deal". For $119 per night, (we stayed two nights) free cooked buffet breakfasts were included each morning. We enjoyed a wonderful meal in their restaurant (at half price due to AAP), with my partner saying his fillet steak was the best he had had for a long time. Our room was pleasant and clean with plenty of natural light and a good view. It was large, with a comfortable chair and plenty of lighting, both often lacking in hotel rooms in this price range.

The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We received a warm welcome and useful information from all reception staff. We were impressed at the way the diningroom/breakfast staff coped with the influx of over 150 passengers who were placed with them with little notice due to a flight delay.

The hotel is located right in the heart of Perth, very close to the busstops for the great free "Cat" bus service. We would have no hesitation in staying here again and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 307Heth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miss Maud Hotel
#9 of 66 in Perth
938 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,465 reviews
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#32 of 66 in Perth
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth

Address: 10 Irwin St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Perth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#25 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £75 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Perth Central Business District, Mercure Hotel Perth is close to shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Just a short stroll from the Swan River, Perth Mint and Supreme Court Gardens; you'll find many of Perth’s attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing