We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Toilet door was broken, walls were mouldy, and apartment was tired . It looked totally different from the website pictures. Totally regretted my choice to stay there !

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minghun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here on a Friday & Saturday night and found the room to be just "OK". It wasn't as clean as I would expect but it was fine for the price that we paid. The kitchen was huge and had all the amenities but the bathroom was cramped with the toilet, shower and washing machine/dryer all in the one room. The tiles also needed a good dose of Domestos to get rid of some mould. The carparking spaces are very tight and hard to find on the lower level if you come in late in the evening. I recommend parking in the upper level where there is more space but you need to access this from a different road. I can't comment on the service because we didn't see any employees until we handed in our keys on checkout. The location is about a 10/15 minute walk up to the Hay Street Mall and the free CAT bus is close by. All in all, I may consider staying here again as we were hardly in the room and was a handy location to where we needed to go, but don't expect "boutique" rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Am quite skeptical about the apartment after reading the bad reviews. Am surprised to find the apartment and bedsheets clean! We booked our hotel thru an online agent for 2 nights. Didn't knew that the Mont Clare reception closed at 2.30pm on Sat as we arrived there at 2.45pm! We were practically locked out! Thankfully there was this emergency no to call & we were given a code to key in and out came our keys and instructions bundled in it. We were given 3 bath towels instead of 4, but we didn't bothered to get another from the housekeeper. Would be great if there's a dryer for the washing machine. Since it's an apartment, there was no housekeeping service and you've to throw your own rubbish if your bin overflow. Security is pretty good with card access to enter the car park and lift.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_LIM_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here for a week with a friend, whilst both of us were on a business conference. After reading previous reviews we were hesitant. We were pleasantly surprised. Expectations were surpassed. All staff were helpful and friendly. The apartment was clean and there was plenty of room. The location is convenient to the river walk, the free Red Cat bus, the WACA and the Perth Mint. The laundry sink had a small leak and soundproofing could be improved but this was not such an issue to spoil our stay. I recommend it as a affordable option in an otherwise accommodation overpriced city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Arrived at the apartment's before check in time,lady behind the desk was so friendly and helpful suggested we could leave are bags and she would ring us if the room was ready before 2pm.She kept her promise and we got a call around 12.30pm.Room was lovely and clean property seem well maintained.Great swimming pool for the warmer weather.Fantastic location about 10 min from the city centre.Great stay we will be back.Keep up the good work Mont Clare staff.

Room Tip: Room with lift access.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twilight M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice...the second time no better than the first.

The first stay was for 2 nights - we checked in after hours - which was fine, the staff clearly explained the process. Once in our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment which was noticeably dirty, the carpets were stained and lifting, both bathrooms had hair, dirt and grime throughout. Being the middle of summer we used the A/C which failed to cool the apartment and when it was on the wall would shake. After no sleep the first night I requested a new apartment (like the ones advertised on their website) as they were clearly of much better quality. The receptionist advised me that they would like to check the room first and that the maintenance man would be right up - 40 minutes and one phone call later. We were later given another room, although only a 2x1, it did resemble the website, we were very happy with this apartment.

At the time of booking the second stay for 3 nights we requested a clean refurbished room due to past experience, The receptionist seemed shocked at our bad experience. We had a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. We used the after hours check in again - which again was fine. The apartment was again noticeably dirty, the carpet in the bedrooms were stained and lifting at the entrance points. The switch for the fan in the 3rd bedroom was broken and when on sounded like it was going to fall out of the ceiling, we werent able to utilise the 3rd bedroom wardrobe as the bed was up against it. The tap in the shower was missing a piece so kept falling off, the walls throught were marked and dirty, both bathrooms were dirty (hair/grime etc). The glasses had to be washed before we could use them.

The only thing going for this hotel is location. Never will we recommend let alone stay at this hotel again. I only wish I had thought to take photos of the apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bec E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This apartment complex when booked seemed very affordable. I was called 6 times to check on my arrival time. Why, I'm not sure but they clearly not communicate. The apartment had/has many problems.... Leaking dishwasher, rusted shower head, broken switches, broken dryer mechanism, fridge seals worn and when the cot arrived there was no linen for it. The car park is a benefit but the bays are very small so be careful with the rental car. Given the choice I will not stay here again. Even walking out today the floor in the foyer was filthy....... Choose another venue to stay unless you like a 1 star experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 65 in Perth
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Alderney on Hay
Alderney on Hay
#52 of 65 in Perth
276 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 65 in Perth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Clare Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Clare Boutique Apartments

Address: 190 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £64 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mont Clare Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Clare Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments Hotel Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing