We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay. But will need work soon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay. But will need work soon.”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed here for 8 days. The rooms are ok size. But the place is poorly maintained and is looking shabby. Everything works, just. The rooms will need refurbishing soon.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prof_hutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    115
    81
    57
    46
See reviews for
146
51
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Legana, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I wouldn't stay here if you paid me. We hadn't intended to stay, but had to spend the night here when our hotel of choice stuffed up our booking, bumping us for one of our corporate clients. All I can say is that if this is supposed to be a 4.5 star hotel, the assesors must walk around with their eyes closed.

Management weren't exactly what you would call friendly, and I got the feeling that it was an inconvenience for them to be dealing with me.

First impression was we couldn't even open the door as the lock was so loose we couldn't turn the key. With some major fiddling we were able to, and were then overcome by the smell of the room. Not a dirty smell, but the smell of a stale room that hadn't been opened or aired for days on end. Only way to get rid of the smell was to open the small balcony window AND run the air con flat our for 6 hours. OK, given the room was well apointed, good kitchen facilites etc, but the room was not clean. The floors looked dirty. On closer inspection the en suite bath (no shower!!!) had major water damage to the wall and the paint was peeling and bubbled. Shower in the second bedroom had mould growing on the walls, plus there was a pair of womens knickers in the washing machine! The two smaller bedrooms were internal with no window and only 1 of them had a fan. One of the bedside lights didn't work. The door frame into one of the smaller bedrooms looked like ti was about to fall apart. Finally all the walls were dirty and had that tired look that a property gets when there has been minimal amount of upkeep.

Overall very very disappointed, especially considering we had stayed in 4 hotels during this two week trip, and even the 3 star motel we stayed at in Bunbury was better looked after than this one. This was by far the lowlight of our accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zichy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Toilet door was broken, walls were mouldy, and apartment was tired . It looked totally different from the website pictures. Totally regretted my choice to stay there !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minghun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here on a Friday & Saturday night and found the room to be just "OK". It wasn't as clean as I would expect but it was fine for the price that we paid. The kitchen was huge and had all the amenities but the bathroom was cramped with the toilet, shower and washing machine/dryer all in the one room. The tiles also needed a good dose of Domestos to get rid of some mould. The carparking spaces are very tight and hard to find on the lower level if you come in late in the evening. I recommend parking in the upper level where there is more space but you need to access this from a different road. I can't comment on the service because we didn't see any employees until we handed in our keys on checkout. The location is about a 10/15 minute walk up to the Hay Street Mall and the free CAT bus is close by. All in all, I may consider staying here again as we were hardly in the room and was a handy location to where we needed to go, but don't expect "boutique" rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Am quite skeptical about the apartment after reading the bad reviews. Am surprised to find the apartment and bedsheets clean! We booked our hotel thru an online agent for 2 nights. Didn't knew that the Mont Clare reception closed at 2.30pm on Sat as we arrived there at 2.45pm! We were practically locked out! Thankfully there was this emergency no to call & we were given a code to key in and out came our keys and instructions bundled in it. We were given 3 bath towels instead of 4, but we didn't bothered to get another from the housekeeper. Would be great if there's a dryer for the washing machine. Since it's an apartment, there was no housekeeping service and you've to throw your own rubbish if your bin overflow. Security is pretty good with card access to enter the car park and lift.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_LIM_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdinoz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here for a week with a friend, whilst both of us were on a business conference. After reading previous reviews we were hesitant. We were pleasantly surprised. Expectations were surpassed. All staff were helpful and friendly. The apartment was clean and there was plenty of room. The location is convenient to the river walk, the free Red Cat bus, the WACA and the Perth Mint. The laundry sink had a small leak and soundproofing could be improved but this was not such an issue to spoil our stay. I recommend it as a affordable option in an otherwise accommodation overpriced city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Arrived at the apartment's before check in time,lady behind the desk was so friendly and helpful suggested we could leave are bags and she would ring us if the room was ready before 2pm.She kept her promise and we got a call around 12.30pm.Room was lovely and clean property seem well maintained.Great swimming pool for the warmer weather.Fantastic location about 10 min from the city centre.Great stay we will be back.Keep up the good work Mont Clare staff.

Room Tip: Room with lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twilight M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Alderney on Hay
Alderney on Hay
#52 of 64 in Perth
271 reviews
Mantra on Hay
#25 of 64 in Perth
1,031 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 64 in Perth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Best Western Northbridge Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Clare Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Clare Boutique Apartments

Property: Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Address: 190 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mont Clare Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Clare Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments Hotel Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing