We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get Me Out of Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Ranked #56 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get Me Out of Here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I try to give very objective reviews but this is a first. Why didn't I see these terrible reviews prior to booking 5 nights in this hole. It is nothing more than a glorified backpackers which explains why there's hardly anyone over 30 here and a party in every 2nd room. "No party policy" my eye. Management doesn't give a rats as I have found out on repeated occasions and there's no after hours number. If you do manage to get some sleep around 5am, the cleaning staff will make sure that you are promptly woken with banging doors all morning. Dripping taps aside, the rooms are clean though. Tried to use the iron and it tripped the fuse. The internet doesn't work and If you want one of the promised car parks you will have get in when people leave in the morning and don't move your car at all. Avoid this place like the plague unless your only choice is to sleep in the street.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank petflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    113
    81
    55
    44
See reviews for
141
50
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I recently stayed here for a week and I was honestly looking forward to it as the pictures looked promising. However I, and my friends were very disappointed.

Firstly the rooms were very small and got very hot because there was no ventilation and as such got steamy with condensation. The beds were very uncomfortable and the bedding was inadequate for the amount of people staying in the room. The crockery was chipped and many pieces were missing.

The rooms were not clean when we entered but we were told that housekeeping was finished and would not return until after we had left which meant we had to deal with the mess for the entire week. The bedding was unclean, some blankets had big holes in them and one was covered in pet hair.

One of our bathrooms was actually a 'wet room' and everytime someone had a shower the unsloped bathroom floor would leak water into the loungeroom and into the carpet. If you request an additional bed they just leave the bedding and do not even make it for you or tell you how to operate the fold out bed which is of terrible comfort.

The facilities are poor in this apartment- the pool is tiny, the gym is worse, but worse then that is the fact that the products supplied are one tiny bottle (sample size) of shampoo/conditioner/body wash even though we had a 6 person room and nothing is refreshed. NO new toilet paper available, no fresh towels, no bin liners. Worst of all they ask you to clean the apartment when you leave!!

Also beware of the opening times, on the website it says they are open on the weekends but they are not.

I would never stay at this apartment again, terrible facilities and rooms, no where near the river and bad business management.

Room Tip: There are plenty of apartments and hotels in the area- choose one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Some friends and I stayed here for one week recently. It was the worst place I've ever stayed. I can't even begin to list the number of things that were wrong with it, so here are some highlights:

1. There was only one shower in the two-bedroom apartment and the shower wasn't partitioned off from the rest of the bathroom, which meant the whole bathroom was drowned in water every time someone used the shower. The drains in the bathroom didn't work very well so the water would build up - meaning you couldn't use the toilet (because the ground was covered in water), and the whole apartment had a murky smell. What's more, the bathroom was connected by a sliding door to the next bedroom, but the door had come away from the wall by about two inches, so that you could actually see into the bathroom from the bedroom!! People couldn't even be in the bedroom if someone was in the shower in case they accidentally saw through the large gap in the door! The other bathroom was only a single toilet and didn't even have a mirror so it was pretty useless for getting dressed or doing makeup.

2. Our dishwasher broke on about the second day we were there and despite alerting staff to this, it never got fixed. There also was not enough cleaning equipment in the kitchen to do the dishes by hand properly so we actually had to go out and buy cleaning equipment. Also, despite the inventory checklist we were given, the kitchen was extremely ill-stocked - our apartment didn't even have a frying pan! Thankfully we had some friends staying next door so we borrowed their frying pan but otherwise we wouldn't even have been able to cook at all, since the only other container was a small pot that would have been unsuitable for frying things. The stove took a long time to heat up and both the toaster and kettle were cheap, low-quality stuff - we expected more from an apartment advertising itself as 4.5 star!

3. The internet didn't work for even one day for the whole week we were there. We were in Perth for a conference so from our point of view this was a very big inconvenience - in order to prepare for the next day we actually had to leave the apartment to find somewhere with internet. About halfway through the week they did attempt to fix this by putting us up with temporary internet cards, but they were hard to use and really slow and dropped out frequently so I'm not sure it was much of an improvement at all.

4. I slept on the sofa bed for a few nights and it was terrible. The sofa bed is just a very bare plastic mattress hardly more than 5cms thick over bare bars and a stretchy tarp - not only was it very uncomfortable, for some reason my bed was particularly weird and was sinking at strange parts so that it was hard to lie flat. On one night I ended up sleeping on the floor because it was actually more comfortable. Also, for every single bed, their idea of 'blankets' was one thin picnic-blanket-esque piece of material sandwiched between two sheets. It was very thin and not comfortable at all and got cold at night and even though we had the air con on all night, it wasn't strong enough to warm up the whole house, especially when we had closed the bedroom doors.

5. The main bedroom didn't have any windows and was right next to the bathroom which flooded (including the door that doesn't close), so it smelt horrible the whole time!

6. This didn't happen to us but it turns out the elevator only goes up to level 5, but there are 6 floors - so some people had to drag their suitcases up a long and steep set of stairs. We thought that was a bit ridiculous.

7. Be aware - these apartments are not serviced at all. When we requested fresh towels after five days we were told "that's what the washing machine is for." You had to take your own trash out every day to the bin room which was behind the apartment complex. As mentioned the apartment smelt pretty bad because of the poor ventilation and terrible bathroom and that smell crept into everything so a set of fresh sheets or fresh towels would have been really appreciated and might have actually improved our stay a bit.

Probably the only thing that was good about this place was that their staff were quite nice. In particular Jeremy was very friendly and accommodating and really tried to help with some issues we had, e.g. the internet and our aircon which broke on the first night. Other than that though, we had a truly terrible time and the substandard quality of the apartment ruined our Perth experience. We definitely won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Be aware if you book here to make sure that you request not to stay on the 6th floor. The lift only goes to the 5th floor and you have to climb up steep stairs with your cases etc, not suitable for elderly pregnant young children etc. This is certainly not boutique, the exhaust fans in the bathroom were filthy, so grateful we only stayed one night . When the double bed in the 2nd room was seperated into 2 singles the headboard screwed on to the wall hit your head whenever you tried to sit up. The sofa bed was made of a plastic so you slip all night as you cant tuck the base sheets in. We were so disappointed, it felt cheap nasty and dirty. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Mont Clare (Supposedly) Boutique Apartments, I have never been so disappointed with accommodation in my life, it felt cheap, nasty and not deservedly of the rating it displays. From the moment We checked in with no welcome( Just a piece of paper shoved in my face) to leaving a night early( First time ever! and costing me money!!) due to the noise from all the rooms. The bathrooms were dirty rusty and unfinished. My whole experience at this hotel was so disappointing. When I told the reception we were leaving a night early due to the noise she said and I quote. “ Well you don’t get a refund” no apology just said we have trouble with noise at this hotel!!!!! (That was not on the Brochure!!) then said why did you not complain?? Like it was my fault? She also said they were charging a patron$150 for excessive noise. Any Hotel that has to shove a piece of paper in all the doors advising extra charges for noise is far from “Boutique” so so disappointed. This hotel charged $240 a night?????????? Feel so ripped off!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazz628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

The 3-bedroom apt was just nice for our family ie 4 adults and 2 kids. it had all the facilities we needed, kitchen to make simple bfast and dinner, sitting area with TV, dining, etc. We even entertained some friends who came and visited us. Those manning the reception area were very friendly and helpful as one luggage didn't arrive with us and they helped to arrange for it. So it was indeed a wonderful stay for us!

Room Tip: Nothing more than 5th flr as for 6th flr, you need to take the staircase. Ours was one 5th flr, near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
319 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this small boutique apartment many times over the years.
We chose this place because its away from the city centre yet near enough. On the quiet side of east perth, with ample parking. Easy to drive in and out from apartment. There is also free CAT bus services in front of hotel.
This time we stayed at unit 20, a 1bedroom with nice layout and spacious.
Washing machine, dryer n complete kitchen which is ideal for golf holiday.
A supermarket, bottleshop n nice restaurants nearby.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merc8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Alderney on Hay
Alderney on Hay
#62 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Mantra on Hay
#31 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#39 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Perth CBD
BEST WESTERN Northbridge Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Clare Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Clare Boutique Apartments

Property: Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Address: 190 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mont Clare Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont Clare Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments Hotel Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing