We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy, Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I am from another state and this hotel was allocated to me by our travel insurance because my partner was admitted to hospital. I stayed 11 nights.. The room was cosy, clean and comfortable and I felt safe!. Everything in the room worked fine. The aircon only has speed control and not temeperature control so it was rather cold when it was on and stuffy when it was off but no big deal!.I am a light sleeper and noise carried in this part of the hotel. I had a room on the 5th floor facing the main road and there was a bit of traffic noise, I had to call reception at 4.15 one morning to tell the lady in the room next to me to shut up!! She was having a phone conversation with every member of her family on speaker phone for at least half an hour and I could hear every annoying word!! My room was near the elevators and I could hear them clanging and banging all night! I spose I should have changed rooms to the rear of the hotel, but I had a nice view of the river from my room and could see what was going on in the world! (Plus it was day to day stay and I didn't know I'd be there that long) Full buffet breakfast was very good, with lots of choices (best french toast ever!). 24 hour reception. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.The location was good for me. Close to free CAT transport. Walking distance to lots of places. There is a 24hour convenience store close by. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the rear of the hotel away from elevators if your a light sleeper!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Donna R,

Thank you for your review, it was lovely to read your comments and that you enjoyed the hotel although I imagine not under good circumstances - from all the staff at the Perth Ambassador, we hope your partner is well and healthy now. All the best and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    274
    201
    77
    54
See reviews for
67
215
82
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Well I called to check prices... $139 1st night & $179 2nd night.... checked wotif and got same room for $135 each night.... thought I was on a winner!! (Thought WRONG!!)

Pictures on website do not at all resemble the room I walked into.

The carpets were at least 15-20 years old and stained and filthy!

Condition of furniture is appalling, water damaged and very very old. Fridge not even close to keeping things cold. Shower curtain..... need I say more.... who pays $100+ a night for accommodation and expects to see a shower curtain... not me!!

Extremely disappointing, will never stay again and will ensure all I know will also never stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDandRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear DDandRM,

We sincerely apologise that we fell short of your expectations. The Perth Ambassador Hotel is an older style 3.5 star property having been built in 1984. It has undergone recent refurbishments and upgrades and whilst not a brand new building, we take our maintenance and housekeeping very seriously. We are an independently owned hotel and so we work hard at providing the best possible guest experience, from the cleanliness of the room, to the value-for-money facilities, to the customer service provided by our staff.

I believe you stayed in a Standard Room - to give you some background, after acquiring the property in 2006, we carried out an extensive refurbishment on 80 of the 170 rooms (Deluxe Room category and above) in 2008 and a range of upgrades to all rooms and floors in 2011 and 2012. It is now time for the remaining 90 Standard Rooms to undergo a full refurbishment, and so we are very excited to announce the launch of our Premium Deluxe Rooms which will replace the Standard Room category after a phase-out period from May to July 2014. The new Premium Deluxe Rooms are available to book and stay in now and feature new furniture, carpet, paint and lighting, luxe ensuite with a glass shower door replacing the shower curtain, crisp white linen, an invitingly comfortable bed, quality amenities, modern work desk, free Wi-Fi and the latest in-room entertainment.

If you were to give us another chance, we would love to see to it that you have a better experience in the new Premium Deluxe Rooms and we hope you’ll agree the interior design is fresh, contemporary and stylish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Arrived at 930pm due to flight delayed and went to my room to peruse the room service menu. No room service menu. Went back down to reception to ask about room service, to be met by blank stares . No room service and restaurant closed at 9pm. As a lone female in a strange city, I didnt fancy roaming the streets looking for food, so went hungry.

Breakfast, in restaurant (no room service remember), was, well quite horrible, from the congealed noodles and weak coffee to the snotty looking eggs. I made toast.

Rooms were large, but sad and neglected. Staff were young and bored. Pillows lumpy and no could not be changed "they are all the same". The soap/shampoo dispensers were interestingly impossible to use. The water dribbled out of the taps and shower and the 'drinking water' in the little fridge tasted strangely of pepper.

I have noticed that the other reviews keep calling it 'cheap' and 'value for money'; not sure where you millionaires come from, but $500 for 2 nights is not cheap in my book, a colleague stayed at the Novotel for $50 more and they actually ate on the night of their arrival and got breakfast in their room - oh the decadence!

Room Tip: There really arent any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryqueenofcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear maryqueenofcats,

Thank you for your feedback, although it is very disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We aim to be a leading 3.5 star hotel in Perth and offer good value, comfortable, mid-range accommodation. Being in the 3.5 star category means we offer some different services whilst maintaining value for money, in order to place our rates in a lower price bracket than a 4.5 star hotel such as the Novotel. We offer a "Food 2 Go" takeaway service as an alternative to room service, with nothing over $16 on the menu. Available for breakfast and dinner during restaurant opening times (6:30-9:00am and 6:00-9:00pm), simply view the menu in your room, call down to place your order and we’ll call you when it is ready to be picked up. We regret that this service was not available on your arrival and completely understand your hesitation to look for a dining option elsewhere. Granted this is not a replacement for a meal, but for information purposes we also offer vending machine snacks and drinks from the lobby, available 24-hours.

Our hot and cold breakfast buffet aims to provide a good variety to suit local and international travellers' tastes, with options such as eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, grilled mushrooms and tomatoes, baked beans, fried rice, noodles, pancakes, croissants, muffins, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toasted bread, condiments and spreads, plus a great selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit juices.

We appreciate your feedback on the room and to this end are very excited to announce a full refurbishment of 90 of our rooms, with the launch of our brand new room class - Premium Deluxe. These stylish new rooms feature crisp white linen, an invitingly comfortable bed, luxe ensuite, quality amenities, modern work desk, free Wi-Fi and the latest in-room entertainment.

Although we wish you had a better stay, we thank you for taking the time to let us know of these issues so we can find ways to improve our guest's experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Room 314
Cheap rooms, near City Cat for convenient transport with reasonable parking. You get what you pay for.
Old, but if you just want a bed for the night...
The carpet had large stains on, could do with a shampoo at least.
The lifts are old and slow.
Check in staff helpful and friendly.
Free WiFi

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear LBW58,
Pleased to hear you enjoyed the free Wi-Fi and thanks for your comments about our check-in staff being helpful and friendly. We acknowledge your comments about the age of the hotel and have some exciting news to address this with the launch of our brand new room class – Premium Deluxe Rooms. These fully refurbished rooms feature crisp white linen, an invitingly comfortable bed, luxe ensuite, quality amenities, modern work desk, free Wi-Fi and the latest in-room entertainment. Available to book and stay in now, we hope you’ll agree the interior design of the new Premium Deluxe Rooms is fantastic. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Perth Ambassador Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was the second time i have stayed at this hotel.on both occasions i found it to be of an acceptable standard value for money.The staff were very helpful nothing was a problem to them
The room was large clean and tidy. would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear John Michael C,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for recommending the Perth Ambassador Hotel to other travellers, we very much appreciate it.
P.S. As a repeat guest, please feel free to take a look at our Ambassador Club Loyalty Program. It’s designed to reward our regular guests by offering special privileges and benefits to enhance your stay and is completely free to join! Please don’t hesitate to enquire by contacting us directly and we hope to see you again next time you're in Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Paterson, Australia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

OK, this is an older style hotel pretty much on the edge of the CBD of Perth that has basic rooms with old décor and is certainly showing its age.

Having said that, if you are a business traveller a bit of separation from your hotel and your office may be nice, the wifi is free and there are usually bi-lingual staff on the reception desk.

Speaking of the staff they are very friendly and there is a restaurant and bar downstairs. And there are a few other ones nearby. It is also a very short walk to the waterfront for a pleasant wander.

I'm giving this place four stars for what it is - a good place for a business traveller to lay their head - but it is not a flash place nor where I'd stay for a 'couples' get away.

Room Tip: This place is within walking distance of the WACA sports ground so a place to consider if you are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Paul L,

Thank you for your review, we love to hear from our guests and hope you had a great business trip to Perth.

Just to share some background on the Perth Ambassador Hotel, the property was built in 1984 and has been operating under our Group since 2006. We carried out an extensive refurbishment on 80 of the 170 rooms (Deluxe Room category and above) in 2008 and a range of upgrades to all rooms and floors in 2011 and 2012. It is now time for the remaining 90 Standard Rooms to undergo a full refurbishment, and so we are very excited to announce the launch of our brand new room class – Premium Deluxe Rooms – which will replace the Standard Room category after a phase-out period from May to July 2014. The new Premium Deluxe Rooms are available to book and stay in now (for both couples and business travellers!) and we hope you’ll agree the interior design is fantastic, featuring crisp white linen, an invitingly comfortable bed, luxe ensuite, quality amenities, modern work desk, free Wi-Fi and the latest in-room entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is old and dirty. The carpet in the room was stained and the cupboard draws had rubbish in them. At 4:30 am they decided to back a truck in and load it. It sounded like i was sleeping in a commercial kitchen. Hot water was available sometimes.

I would never return.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#32 of 64 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Property: Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Address: 196 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Perth Ambassador Hotel)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Perth Ambassador Hotel, centrally located in the Perth CBD, offers 170 well-appointed rooms and suites. All feature free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen television with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, ensuite with separate bath and shower, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, gymnasium, sauna, 24-hour reception, tour desk, safety deposit box at reception, in-house self service laundry, dry cleaning service, plus on-site car parking at great rates. Just minutes to the vibrant array of shopping, dining, entertainment, nightlife, cultural and historical experiences that Perth City has to offer. The Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions are close by. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing