We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a base ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a base ”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The place is great value for money. If you want to spend lots of time in the room then probably not for you but as a good base for exploring its ideal. The price is reasonable, it's ideally located, the car rental is next door and there are some great places to eat locally. For breakfast there is a little cafe across the road to the right which is great very good value for money and really friendly too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    274
    201
    77
    54
See reviews for
67
215
82
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My work booked me this hotel and I was disappointed from the moment I arrived.
While the reception staff member was pleasant, it took a while to get the room sorted.
This is where my disappointment really set in.
The room was dingy and the bed looked like it had been in use since the 60's. There was mould and dirt thoughout the bathroom and it smelt badly

You can here every conversation of anyone walking past the door and the tv next door.

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone even if it is cheap

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnymc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It was just a night, an average looking, spacious room. Valuable for the money, if anyone compare to the location and the charges of other hotels. This hotel is one of the stop for airport - city shuttle, which made me look for this hotel rentals. Rest is good, staffs are helpful. Check-in/Check-out time was too quick, without much formalities. Rooms and bathroom was cozy in a way of 90's.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

When traveling alone, I don't want to pay more than $100 per night so the Ambassador was nearly the only choice in Perth apart from a few options further from the cbd. I booked online early and got an Easter special deal [$93p/n]. No complaints about that! I booked a 5 night stay. The service was friendly and efficient. The room was as expected. Comfortable and clean without luxuries. They are constantly renovating by the looks of things - and other reviews here - so sleeping in or just hanging about in the room after 8 or 9am wasn't much fun. I asked for the quietest room they could give me yet at 8am there were building noises from the room right next door. I appreciate the need to maintain and upgrade but they could have put me somewhere else without any bother. Never mind, I got up and went out! problem solved. Used the wifi a lot which was strong but stalled frequently. I would have liked to use the gym but the room is locked at night. The carpark is outside and to the rear of the hotel. It seems odd that they charge $12 per night for guests to park on their own property. This turned $93 into $105 per night for me. Something to think about when on a budget. I would recommend this hotel for short stays where price and location are important. Not a luxury stay but certainly not a horror story either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigbowen234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
269 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pros:
Connect Bus stop in front of Hotel, 15 aud one way, around

35 minutes.
Wifi strong
Lift very fast, no ppl inside lift always
Staff friendly , accomodate us to change another room
Plasma tv with lots of channels
bath tub water flows very fast, two min would be filled up
toilet flush was strong
four pillows and some thick blanket
nearby have rise supermarket, 24 hrs
hotel nearby have ftz bus (free) until 1900hrs

Cons:
Renovation ongoing, but not much effect on my room
Hotel lift was super old
bath tub sink was rusty, request to change another room
Bed too soft, neck feel uncomfortable
carpet very dirty and old
Door lock was not auto, have to lock door manually

Room Tip: Newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben10tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This has to be the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in a lot.
I don't really know where to start, after renting a car and being told parking was available at the Hotel, we were then told the car park was closed to renovations. The laundry was also closed for renovations and the staff were unhelpful. The hotel is old and dirty, the rooms were especially dirty from mold in the fridge to the bathrooms. curtains to carpets were filthy and I really don't know what to say about the blood stained linen and insects.
The lifts were noisy, as were the police evictions /arrests in the early hours of the morning.

Having said all that the food was value for money and the staff in the restaurant were terrific.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It's not a glossy or glitzy kind of a hotel and that suits me fine.
The rooms are basic and importantly clean.
Wifi is can be accessed in all the rooms and that's a huge plus.
There's a carpark round the back; other reviews describe it adequately.
The lifts could be better but it's not a show stopper.

The staff are good and so's the b/fast.

The one downer is that I had confirmed a late checkout w the reservation staff and he had conveniently not informed anyone about it. That was mildly irritating coz if the elbow and the derriere don't talk, I wouldn't want to be inconvenienced about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amj_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#32 of 64 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Property: Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Address: 196 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Perth Ambassador Hotel)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Perth Ambassador Hotel, centrally located in the Perth CBD, offers 170 well-appointed rooms and suites. All feature free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen television with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, ensuite with separate bath and shower, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, gymnasium, sauna, 24-hour reception, tour desk, safety deposit box at reception, in-house self service laundry, dry cleaning service, plus on-site car parking at great rates. Just minutes to the vibrant array of shopping, dining, entertainment, nightlife, cultural and historical experiences that Perth City has to offer. The Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions are close by. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing