We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed at better hotels”
Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Have stayed at better hotels”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Clean, showing its age, overpriced breakfast $35. Stayed 4 nights and minbar not replenished. In a good central location. Walking distance to convention centre

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    398
    186
    64
    47
See reviews for
97
427
41
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Perth is a beautiful city and is rich from the mining boom, it seems most hotels here charge like wounded bulls because they can, however they fail to deliver. The Duxton considers itself one of the best Hotels in Perth....it isn't. While the location is good the price of a room is not reflected in the quality of the room. When you spend over $300 a night even if you company is paying you expect a better standard, the rooms are in need of some updating as is the whole hotel. The breakfast buffet is not one of the better ones I have come across and they should look at the breakfast buffet offered by the Sheraton, Sofitel or hyatt to get some inspiration. It's lobby bar only opens at 4pm so bad luck if you want an early drink. The hotel seems to know how to charge high prices but does not deliver what you would expect for that price. I think it's a victim of the easy money that flows into a city from the mining boom, let's hope tough times don't hit they would be in fore a rude shock.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed during May this year for a "date night". Room actually quite nice, tastefully furnished, quiet (perhaps we had no neighbours?). Bathroom good, clean, water hot. Service was attentive. A fairly large down side however was the quality of the buffet breakfast (we dined in the hotel lounge area). Really terrible. I would rate the breakfast for that day a 4 out of 10, and I'm pretty forgiving. With a decent breakfast I would have rated this hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I’ve travelled to Perth more time that I want to count and I have decided that the Duxton is the only CBD hotel worth staying at.

It’s the only one I have found that manages to have both a comfortable bed and a comfortable pillow (one of their competitors the interesting combination of a very soft mattress and a rock like pillow was almost like sleeping standing up). Its right in the centre of the CBD, the rooms always clean, the staff helpful and it has the best hotel gym in Perth. Even the mini bar is reasonable.

Most 4/5 Star Hotels are pretty similar – the Duxton is worth staying at again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR_Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed here for a business trip and although I didn't personally choose it, I would've probably stayed here anyway!

It's a lovely old hotel with a grand entrance. Reception was a bit curt and unfriendly which was disappointing. The room itself was enormous! I had a lovely room on the 6th floor which had a separate walk in wardrobe and a massive bathroom with a separate shower and tub. There were the usual tea and coffee making facilities, TV, desk and sitting area.

There's a nice bar in the hotel and I had breakfast one morning which was a buffet spread, but it wasn't cheap. The next morning I ordered room service and it was very nice and prompt.

Overall a nice business hotel and would recommend it, but the staff on front desk could be a little friendlier, maybe they were having an off day...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austr
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I spent two nights at this establishment, check in was smooth, the room very comfortable the staff were very, very good. I had terrible trouble logging on with my lap top the young man they sent to assist could not have been more helpful. He was happy to speak with technical support person and between them sorted out the problem. The food at dinner was just very ordinary so do not dine there. Breakfast was another matter very acceptable with freshly cooked eggs and accompanyments. I recommend the hotel as being 4.5 star in my opinion and i would stay there again
Himself 10

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himself_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Perth hotels have high occupancy and therefore customer service is very average. The Duxton thinks it is grander than it really is and staff exhibit lack of care factor. Rooms good, but thin walls make for noisy experience with poor showers unless you like alternating hot and cold every 15 seconds. $30 for continental breakfast poor value. Overall very expensive for what you get - I certainly would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timfrancis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,128 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,505 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#18 of 64 in Perth
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Property: Duxton Hotel
Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#12 Family Hotel in Perth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing