We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Inner City Location and Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Inner City Location and Value”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I remember before the Duxton, this building was the ATO (Australian Tax Office) which would be enough to give anyone nightmares if you know the Australian Tax System. Luckily, we haven't been residents in Australia for tax purposes for 10 years!

Nothing really negative I can say about this hotel apart for the gym could be bigger and the equipment updated! Staff were fantastic, Club lounge, although small had a good selection of food and drink and the view over to South Perth was stunning as ever. The front bar in the evening was enjoyable for a nightcap and the location is probably the best in Perth.

I don't understand why people would even consider staying t the Crown Perth over in Burswood when there are hotels such as this in the heart of the CBD.

Room Tip: Club Room is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josepha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear joespha67,

Thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I have forwarded a copy of your review to my team and I have personally thanked them for their service excellence.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    394
    177
    64
    47
See reviews for
93
419
40
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for 10 days on a business trip...at $310 per night with no breakfast ($38 each for breakfast in addition)...pricey....be aware it also costs an additional $40 per day to park your car at this hotel.Location was very good as it was easy to walk into the CBD and the riverfront and also to use the free bus service around the city and get to the train station. The hotel has seen some recent refurbishment but the shower although spotless and well maintained was very dated and having to juggle the hot and cold tap to get the right temperature was a challenge and there was little pressure to wash hair......no opening windows (possibly for safety)...the pool is beautiful and the loungers very comfortable however its very small and only 2 or 3 people can get a lounger in the sun at any one time...topless sunbathing also seems to be permitted....customer service was first class, the Grille Restaurant produced the best steak we have had in years...and the hotel is spotlessly clean. Not sure about security since anyone can take the lifts to any floor, you dont need a card to access the lift which is unusual these days. Undecided if we would stay again but if location is your priority then its great

Room Tip: Rooms with river view are amazing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosiePerth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Rosie506Dundee,

I appreciate your valuable time to provide feedback about your recent 10 day stay with us. I was glad to read the the Firewater Grille provided the best steak you have ever had, this is the high standard we set out to achieve, the meat the we serve is from Treeton Farm Margaret River in our Southwest and the quality is MSA grade 1.

We have investigated your water pressure and temperature and this has been rectified, I apologise for the incovenience that this caused you. I have also passed on you comment pertaining to the cleanliness of the hotel to the team and passed on my appreciation for their consistent efforts.

I do hope we are able to be of service to you in the future and once again thank you for selecting the Duxton Hotel for your recent business stay.

Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is one of the older 'grand' hotels of Perth, a welcome bit of historical respite in this rapidly developing city, riding high the mining boom. It is very central, you can walk to most downtown areas and is close to riverside parks for a decent morning walk or jog. Rooms were pretty good and generally the interior standards of comfort and service matched the expectations from the imposing exterior image. I only ate breakfast, which was fine but the waiting service forgot to bring the coffee I ordered, until I reminded them, and when I asked for soymilk, it was also promised it but alas it was again forgotten, so they can tighten their act up there.

Room Tip: Cant beat a room looking over the river area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerCheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear GingerCheetah,

Thank you for your description of the hotel, welldone! I appreciate your feedback on the coffee and soya milk service and I have taken the necessary steps to ensure better cocnsistency in service standards in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your valuable time.

Kind Regards

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed overnight as we were attending a concert in Perth. The staff were excellent all very friendly and welcoming. The room a twin was not huge but extremely clean and very comfortable. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath and was also spotlessly clean. The rooms decor was a little tired and as we were on lower floor the view was limited however we could see a glimpse of the river, but we weren't in the city to stay all day in our room and we had a great rate so we were very happy. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear sueom,

I was glad to read that your stay was pleasant and I appreciate your reference to the cleanliness of your room. I will ensure that the room attendant responsible received the proper commendation as well as the team in general.
Thankyou for selecting the Duxton Hotel and we look forawrd to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards
Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as a little overnight getaway. From arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a gentleman who parked our car, he was very pleasant. The check in staff could not have done enough to make us feel welcome. The room was fantastic and set out wonderfully also very clean. We had dinner at the Firewater Grille and again the staff were so friendly and professional. Breakfast was the same and had an amazing buffet with plenty to choose from. We have stayed at many hotels but this one was by far our favorite. Overall a fabulous stay, wish we had longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear GemmaWA,

I am glad that you stay was fabulous. I was pleased to read that the entire team ensured that you were looked after in the Duxton way.
I will ensure that the team recieves a copy of your review and also I will ensure that my personal commendation is passed on for their wonderful service efforts to make your stay a memorable one.
Hopefully next time you are able to stay longer.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was really pleased with the Duxton. The hotel has a great feel to it and the service is great, they really make you feel welcome and special. The rooms are a good size, very comfortable. The food is good and the location is also a positive

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c827g637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Craig H,

Thank you for your positive review on the hotel and the services. I will ensure that the team are commended for their efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It is a great hotel - just getting a few "dog eared" signs. Terrific location and very good staff. Very good for our purpose of a National Conference - plenty of room and good common areas. New restaurant area is excellent.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear AshJones24,

Sir, thank you very much for your wonderful review of the hotel and I will ensure that the team are aware of your comments especially your experience at the Firewater Grille.


Kind Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
1,028 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Property: Duxton Hotel
Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#14 Family Hotel in Perth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#19 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing