We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Duxton Perth on New Year's Eve and everything was just perfect! From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic .... as soon as we pulled up outside the hotel the conscierge opened our car doors and our car was whisked away to valet parking .... the check-in staff were very efficient and informed us where everything in the hotel was situated. The room was spacious, very clean and had everything expected at a five star hotel. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great view over the river from our window on the 11th floor. We had dinner at the Firewater Grille ... the food was great and the waiting staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also at the Firewater Grille and again the staff were wonderful and there was plenty of food choices. Check-out was quick and smooth and our car was brought to the front door very quickly. Thank you for a wonderful evening :)

Room Tip: Book a river view room on the higher floors, a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janzreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Janzreview,

I appreciate your review and will ensure that the Duxton Team recieves the commendation they deserve. I am very proud of the team and their passion about service.

Happy New Year !

Kind Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in December. It's a reliable choice. Well appointed, (even if a bit uninspiring) rooms which were spotlessly clean. Half the rooms face the river, so my advice would be to request one of those. It's just a short walk to the restaurants at Brookfield Place, or to the river, or city shops.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Feetonforeignlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear MelbourneMummy,

Thank you for your review and I appreciate your positive review of the hotel and our standards.
I also appreciate your valuable time to review our hotel.
May I also take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year

Kind Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I recently stayed here with my 2 best friends for a birthday night out. We had booked a twin double room. Unfortunately, as we unpacked and prepared to head out shopping, a quick stop to the bathroom revealed a water leak from the bathroom in the room on the next floor up. No drama really, we simply asked reception to send someone to make sure it wasn't going to flood...they kindly moved us across the hall to a new room with river views. No sooner had we settled back in than a sit on one of the beds caused it to collapse - on closer inspection it seems that some New Year's celebrations may have gone a bit too far and the legs of the bed had been snapped off the base (but cleverly "repaired" using crushed soft drink cans!)...rather sheepishly, we again had to call reception and again, we moved to a new room. All in good fun, the main thing was to not let this ruin the day/evening so now we were finally in a room with no issues, off we went to shop in the city (a pleasant 10 minute walk).
Upon our return to the room, we found a beautiful note of apology and a bottle of bubbly on ice with 3 glasses - the perfect way to make up for the small inconvenience. 3 very grateful customers :)
Beds comfy, pillow menu if you need it with a selection of 6 pillows and all in all, a great hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have the river views - best views on that side would be Level 11 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Bekabat,

I was glad to read that you have seen the funny side of what can happen in any business. Thank you for your wonderful review and that your stay was extremely comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for choosing the Duxton Hotel and hopefully we are able to welcome you back very soon.

Happy New Year

Kind Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night and we were extremely happy with everything. The staff were very friendly and helpful and courteous. Couldn't have asked for nicer people. The room was beautiful, just as we expected. And the bed ...... Wow!! Best sleep we've had in ages, so comfy!! We will definitely star there again .... maybe on our wedding night, as we got engaged this night :-) Keep up the great work Duxton, you guys rock!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tammie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Tammie P,

Congratulations on your engagement and thankyou for selecting the Duxton Hotel to celebrate such an important occassion. I will ensure that the Duxton Team are congratulated for their service excellence.
I do hope we are able to be part of your wedding day and we will extend our usual service touches. I was glad to read that our beds were wonderful we have placed a special emphasis on our beds to give our guests the best nights sleep ever.

Thank you for your review and again congratulations from the Duxton Team.

Kind Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We recently stayed here in two Club Rooms and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

We found the service from the concierge, reception, housekeeping, room service and the Club Lounge to be fantastic and all staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and ensure that we enjoyed our stay.

The Club Rooms were both clean on check in and were well maintained during our stay. Despite what people have suggested in the past, there was no evidence of "paper thin" walls and during our stay we did not hear any noise from any other room.

The Club Lounge was great and the service was excellent by all staff members at both breakfast and in the evening for drinks and canapés.

After many years of seeing good, bad and neutral reviews on this hotel, we are so glad that we made the decision to stay here for Christmas 2013. Excellent holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Perth. Will be back for Christmas 2014.

(Note: in the photos the room may look a bit dark, once the curtains are opened completely the room is very bright and lets in lots of light. Club Rooms have 3 large windows).

Room Tip: Get a Club Room as well worth the money as includes a full buffet breakfast and at night canapés and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Darren J,

It is always pleasing to recieve such positive feedback from our guests that their stay was thoroughly enjoyable and match with such professional service. I appreciate your time to give the Hotel and the team such a commendation at such a high level.
We look forward to welcoming you back for Christmas 2014. May I also take this opportunity to wish you and your family a Happy New Year.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here by myself for business and had a comfortable stay. The rooms are fitted out in an older style however this did not detract from the comfort of the room.

The room had everything that was needed and the bathroom was good. The location was close to CBD offices which allowed me to walk to all of the locations that I needed to in the CBD.

Overall I think Perth is a bit deprived when it comes to hotel options. I hope more open up in the future. For now however the Duxton is a solid option for the business traveler who is needs to be close to CBD offices rather than the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneK227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear WayneK227,

I was pleased to read your review and glad that your stay was comfortable. Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Happy New Year

Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and found it to be very over-priced for what it is. We paid extra for a "river view room" - the view was a joke (two skinny windows and most of the view of the river was obscured by the building behind). The bed was average and the pool is tiny. We were woken in the middle of the night by some drunk in an adjacent room banging around which continued for over an hour. The breakfast was good however when we checked out we found that the valet parking guys had left our car headlights on and the battery had gone flat (not sure how they managed this as there is an alarm that goes off if you open the door without turning off the headlights)! Very disappointing overall!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Benny261,

I am bewildered that you have commented on the size of the windows and the size of our pool unfortunately we were unable to increase the size of either because of the buildings original design. We have invested heavily into the comfort of our beds and I was disappointed that you found them uncomfortable.
Thank you for your review about our breakfast and I apologise that our team left your head lights on ,this action is unacceptable.
I value your comments and thank you for your time to inform me of your experience.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,446 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#20 of 66 in Perth
2,538 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Perth
#26 of 66 in Perth
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#15 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £107 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing