We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Highly Recommended”
Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Duxton was everything that a quality hotel should be. Comfortable, welcoming, sedate, well presented and clean. The staff were efficient, well dressed and pleasant. I would recommend the Duxton unreservedly.

Room Tip: Don't be too enticed by the river views at the back of the hotel although they are great. The fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avogil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Avogil,

I appreciate your wonderful review and glad that the hotel was everything you expected.


Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    400
    187
    64
    47
See reviews for
98
431
41
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights for a business event. I was very fortunate to be upgraded to a King suite and although I didn't have a view of the Swan River it was a very nice room. My colleagues had other room types and all were pleasantly surprised with the room space. Rooms are very clean and well presented. I had access to the Club lounge and enjoyed breakfast (included in the room rate) with a beautiful view of the river. The scrambled eggs looked dismal but everything else was very good and plentiful. The service in this hotel is above and beyond, all staff were friendly and helpful. The Grill restaurant was excellent as was the event catering.

The hotel location is great, lends itself to some good walks on the river and also walking distance to the main streets of Perth CBD.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, its only negative is the cost per night, however Perth is a very expensive city for accommodation at the best of times.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KarePhilBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear KarePhilBrisbane,

May I take this opportunity to thankyou for your positive review on the hotel and our facilities and services. I will ensure that the team recieves the praise that they deserve. I have addressed the eggs with our Club Manager and Chef, change has occurred.
Hopefully we are able to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

As far a Perth hotels go this is a good one. I moved from here to the Crown Promenade which was dreadful. Good location, clean, nicely appointed and I had a great view. Staff were extremely helpful with all my questions regarding Perth and the locale.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear JW_Melb,

I appreciate your comments on our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Upon first look, the hotel is quite nice, with its beautiful, spacious lobby and its clean hallways. The choice of window design by the architect is rather unfortunate, as it makes the rooms feel darker and smaller than they actually are (there are 2 thin, long windows standing vertically with seemingly useless wall space in between them, rather than one large window)

I had a "standard room", so while it was facing the river, my main view was the building standing in between the Duxton and the river, from behind which the river peered out. I still preferred this to the other "standard room" option, which was simply facing the city side. The room was clean with nice, wooden closets, and a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The one big red flag was the terrible WiFi. With these room rates, one would expect better internet connection than what was available. This would very easily be the reason why many business travelers will never stay here again, so I encourage the hotel to fix this issue ASAP.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgNY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear kgNY2014,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. In regards to your comments on the windows in the room, unfortunately the building was originally a government taxation office and refurbished to the current hotel in 1994 opened in 1996.
I was glad to read that your room and service was excellent and in regards to our WiFi I agree with you that it is not up to standard as we are experiencing signal pocket but we are currently upgrading our WiFi as a matter of priority, as I agree with you this is vital in any hotels' service.
I apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you. Thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Perth.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for three nights - good location, comfortable rooms, solid wifi service - a good business hotel.

On the last night I had the worst room service I've ever seen - supposed to be fish and chips, but more closely resembled cardboard with a side of shoe leather.

Mentioned it on checkout and it was removed from the bill, but why it went out that way in the first place is beyond me!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear BH02,

I appreciate your feedback on the comfort of your room. I have also personally spoken to our Executive Chef and have made the immediate changes to the type of fish being used and the overall presentation of the dish. I apologise that you have experienced this poor standard and wish to reassure you that the quality of the room service Fish & Chips has been rectified.
Thank you for your feedback and the difference that you have made because of your comments.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is the first really bad review I have ever written on here.

The room itself is just fine. Clean. Basic. Beautiful view. And the location of the hotel is great.

However, the wifi is the single worst wifi I have ever had in any hotel anywhere in the world. How dare they claim to be a business hotel. I lost multiple calls (as in more than a dozen) over the course of 3 nights. Connectivity on my iPhone and laptop would go out regularly in the middle of working on a document. In short it was totally impossible to be productive from this hotel.

Second, the gym is total garbage. For a hotel of this size it's a joke. Given the rates they charge they need to start putting $$ toward new gym facilities.

So frustrated by the whole experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank dcdavid20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived and up graded to the club room and all I can say is why was it better
We had breakfast in the club breakfast room everything was cold and I was left thinking breakfast would have been better in the main area
Cold scrambled egg and cold poached eggs which were totally horrible followed by half cooked bacon
The room with all the old fashion wood paneling didn't do much for me either
The dining area look like a miss match of styles did they just grab left over decor and throw in this room
I would not stay here again and beware of the 40 dollars for them to park your car it may be worth them mentioning this to their patrons

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank motherofluzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Motherofluzza,

I appreciate your comments on the room decor and unfortunately everyone has their own personal opinion. The temperature of the Executive Club Lounge Eggs has not been delivered and I apologise this is not our usual high standard, I have rectified the problem immediately.

I fully understand that you have made the decision not to use the hotel again although we have alot of guests that enjoy our hotel and service excellence. Thank you for your valuable comments and most importantly your time to comment on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,162 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,530 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#17 of 64 in Perth
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Property: Duxton Hotel
Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#12 Family Hotel in Perth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing