We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Close lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Well , australia is an expensive country , normal as they are at the bottom of the earth and all goods needs ages to be transited , therefore the hotel room price will be expensive. Menu variety is ok but again a pizza for 24$ is too much....breakfast not bad at all very friendly staff specially at the breakfast restaurant. I did not receive a wake up call , the concierge came and knocked at my door , lucky i had my alarm on. Internet not the best....connection keeps cutting. Location perfect walking distance from williams street where you can find all....mini bar available , iron board and machine , tea coffee all in the room. Gym basic nothing special no modern equipments but will do the job completely... The walls are very thin you can here all the conversation next room....that night one lady she was getting laid and sounded did not get some for long time....was bit annoying but funny...at the end i fell asleep.

Room Tip: All are the same i think , i have been 4 times
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClimberCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    386
    172
    64
    47
See reviews for
90
408
39
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was the first experience of a 5-star hotel for my wife and me - and we left with mixed feelings, after five nights.

Seems to me that the Duxton is geared toward single-occupancy by the Business community and not the holidaymaker..

To illustrate my point, the hotel knew that we were a couple, but our room was setup for one person, in that the bathroom toiletries included, among others, one, 15ml bottle of shampoo, so that little would remain after my wife shampooed. After shampooing, she would use a second towel to dry her hair.
The room contained only two bath towels, so a call would be needed to Housekeeping to provide more, or else I would have to dry off with a hand-towel. And those dinky little bottles of toiletries by Peter Morrissey were identified in a font so small, that one would have to duck out into the room for spectacles. The short-fall was swiftly rectified, after speaking to Reception.

It seems that the days of expecting a toothbrush and shaving gear in hotel rooms are long gone and the Duxton is no exception. Perhaps to enjoy these basics, one only has to ask. But, for my money, one should not have to ask! Not once were we asked if the room was alright.

Our room was immaculately prepared and we had no complaints about cleanliness and comfort of the king-size bed. The corridors were wallpapered and the very clean carpet appeared in good condition.

Like to watch a little television? The channel list was on-screen, but, as for a tv guide - forget that. And channel selection had to be done by using the channel up/down button, so it took a while to move from a channel with a low number to a high number. And, from memory, there were about 40 channels available. I'm told to blame that on the 'system', which is not controlled by the hotel.Turn up the tv programs from the newspaper, you shout? The Duxton doesn't offer a morning paper. We are talking five-star hotel - aren't we?

Room Service was prompt and the food delicious - and so it should be, with the prices they charge, eg, bangers and mash were a great taste, at $30; a steak sandwich at $26.

And something to make guests without sponsorship suck in their breath - the laundry charge for one handkerchief, ranged from $8 to $10. A trip to Target, anybody? There are guest laundry facilities available, with complimentary washing powder on hand.

The Duxton came across to us as catering for the businessman, who could rely on their company to provide those little necessities/niceties during a hotel stay. The staff attitude seems to be to not speak unless spoken to.

Almost invariably, hotels we've stayed at have catered for tourists, with dedicated desks, racks behind which contained rows of trip and tour brochures - but not the Duxton. Sure, the Concierge desk, manned by the very helpful Michael and Paul (did I get the name correct?) handed out maps of Perth and the four free bus routes around the area, but, it seemed, there was no other tourist material in sight.

Complimentary Wi-Fi was on hand for guests, but in our room poor connection, frequent drop-outs and slow speeds were also complimentary, unless one tried one's luck after the business guests had left in the morning, or late at night Typical hotel, perhaps?.

The hotel is located not far from the major shopping centre, but apart from the awning out front, there's scant protection from the elements, however, the hotel will lend an umbrella, gratis. From what I saw, Perth does not offer a lot of weather protection by way of awnings in the streets, so take a raincoat.

So, there it is - a senior citizen's impressions of the Duxton Hotel. An establishment not for families hell-bent on an economical holiday in Perth. Perhaps my judgement is a little clouded by a dozen stays at Traders Hotel in Penang, where they know how to provide service to business and tourist guests alike.

Room Tip: Go for one at the rear of the hotel, overlooking the beautiful Swan River. Our room offered views to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOELGORDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

As a corporate guest we stayed more often than monthly on average, for over a year and on one occasion for 8 days in a Club room as we were moving house.

During our stays we came to feel very at home at the Duxton. Areas most appreciated were excellent concierge services, efficient reception and comfortable Club rooms. Views from the Club lounge are magnificent. Location is good.

A number of 'not-so-good' features do exist (mostly around restaurant & poor food) but on balance we enjoyed our stays thanks to hard working friendly customer-level staff.

Unfortunately bureacracy reigns supreme at the Duxton! When the company corporate rate ceased this year an approach was made to a lower level (Sales) manager to whom we were referred to discuss a reasonable ongoing rate. Given our future frequent stays, not all of which are work related, our customer loyalty and our long history of positive experience at the hotel we felt this was a reasonable request. We received an insulting and negligible $$ brush off! At the time of discussing this we were actually in the hotel. The person concerned did not have the courtesy to meet face to face but rang the room!?

What had become our home away from home had let us down through pure & simple bad and possibly inexperienced customer service.
This occured some time ago now and left us feeling very underwhelmed & undervalued as a guest.

Time has passed and our city accommodation requirements are now being very well catered for elsewhere no thanks to the Duxton.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KATOF19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I arranged for our family to go to High Tea at the Duxton for my mothers birthday. Walking into the foyer was very impressive. Beautiful chandeliers in the entrance and a huge silver sculpture.Walking into the bar and grill where the High Tea was served was also beautiful . The service was fantastic. Very polite very professional.
The High Tea itself was lovely.I must admit i was a bit afraid there would be not enough food for the adult males ,as it was afternoon i felt safe they would have had lunch before arrival.I should not have worried. There was more than enough for every one.We had the traditional scones jam and cream,also some not so traditional sandwiches ,little quiche tarts and cakes.
My Mother absolutely loved the whole afternoon. The ambiance , staff , high tea and having all her family with her in a very classy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracye16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I went for an overnight stay just for a bit of down time recently. We usually use another hotel quite close to the Duxton, but the Duxton had a good deal going so we thought we'd try it. It didnt disappoint. We were given a lovely spa room with double shower and nice king bed. Nothing really special or extraordinary but luxurious and comfortable. As part of our package, we got a nice buffet breakfast in the morning which was very yummy! We loved the pancake maker!! We noticed a lot of business people and FIFO workers staying here, so we think it caters for business/workers more than the romantic getaway kind of deal but it was very nice all the same. We had a wonderful view over the Swan River and it was very quiet, which was what we wanted. The room service menu was quite limited compared to other hotels we have stayed at and it was pricey- but that is to be expected. Bed was a little hard for our tastes but there was a "pillow menu" which caters for everybody. A lovely getaway weekend. Thanks Duxton!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melshaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is my favourite hotel when staying in Perth. Good location situated on the main drag. Easy access to major Oil & Gas operators. Its pricey but worth it. Not that much to do in the evenings but it is Perth after all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very high standard of service, excellent food standards; friendly and capable, hard-working concierge staff. Central city location, ready access to taxis and transport. Restaurant produced a fine meal, scotch fillet steak was to die for.......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fdluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Property: Duxton Hotel
Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#14 Family Hotel in Perth
#19 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing