We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont book here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont book here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed one night that was more than enough.
The room was very dated, small Tv. only normal tv stations ( exept 3 sport ones)
Dirty rooms we found a book behind the bed head and papers down the side of the fridge.
When my husband turned our tv to give us a better view from the bed he was discusted with the inch layer of dust behind the tv.
Rude staff on check in , Cold breakfast , no bacon , snooty staff in restaurant.
If this is 5 star give me no star anyday

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    386
    172
    64
    47
See reviews for
90
408
39
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

My partner booked a weekend at the Duxton to celebrate my birthday, and we were both expecting more than we got.
The valet parking was efficient, but expensive, and the option to park your own car was not offered. The staff at check-in were polite but not overly enthusiastic - as we were walking to the desk, both the valet and a passing bellboy offered help with our luggage, but the front desk clerk did not ask if we required assistance.
The lobby looks like a 5-star hotel should, polished marble and brass, ornate decor, and a well presented bar and restaurant.
However, all that changed when you walked into the room itself.
We started out on the 12th floor in a cityside room, with a lovely view of the rooftops of the CBD.
As residents of Perth, the view was not very important to us, we were much less impressed with the room facilities. The bed was comfortable, but the duvet looked cheap and was scratchy. The furniture looked a bit worn, and the TV was a joke. It was a tiny analog set which looked to be at least 15 years old, set on a much larger TV stand which only served to make it look more inadequate.
I have stayed in a number of hotels in Perth, and all were equipped with at least a small wall mounted flat-screen LCD or Plasma. I was greatly disappointed to find this dinky little set in what was supposed to be a 5-star hotel. The advertised cable TV consisted of two sports and one news channel, which is very inadequate considering the lack of offerings on free to air TV in Perth. The in-house movies were recent but very overpriced. The minibar was fine, except for the bar fridge, which again looked quite old, and produced a large amount of heat and some noise.
The bathroom was okay to look at but lacking facilities - the shower was not adjustable, and just produced an uncomfortable needle spray. The lighting around the sink was plastic and fluorescent, and the bath was small. The toiletries provided were basic and again looked cheap. The glasses next to the sink were both dirty.
It was basically a 3 to 3 1/2 star hotel room, which we would not have had an issue with if we were not paying 5-star prices for it!
Wireless and ethernet broadband internet were offered at the inflated rate of 29$ per day, which seems a little stingy considering most cafes and many hotels in the city offer the same services free of charge. The speed of the connection was average, and we were forced to use the hard wired system due to the erratic functioning of the wireless.
The 24 hr room and housekeeping services were both quick and efficient, we appreciated the pillow menu and the promptness of delivery.
However, the room service menu was limited and the prices outrageous - a ham and cream cheese toasted bagel was priced at $18!
After attending a party we returned to the room and ordered a late dinner - most of the meal was okay, but we ordered a chicken nugget and chip dish which was appalling. The nuggets arrived scalding hot, on a bed of lukewarm and slightly soggy chips. The nuggets were obviously the pre-made frozen ones, and so cheap they were grey inside. Very unappealing.
We were, however, delighted to find that the hotel offered a floor with smoking rooms, and phoned the front desk to ask if we could be moved.
They apologised for having none available when we rang, but arranged to have our belongings relocated the next morning. It was the same room right down to the sparse wall art, but with a much nicer river view and a slightly more modern kettle and bar fridge.
We decided to brave the restaurant even after the horrid chicken nugget experience, and were satisfied with the meal. The service was quick and attentive, and the food arrived quickly. The pork belly was delicious. My partner ordered a rare steak which arrived cooked medium, but was quickly returned to the kitchen and replaced with one perfectly done. The wine list is extensive, but very pricey. We were surprised to see some candelabra affixed to the coffee bar with Blu-tac, which lowered the tone a bit.
The bar offered a nice cocktail list and extensive drinks menu, and was very comfortable.
The gym was well-equipped and contained both a dry sauna and steam room, and like the lobby, was beautifully furnished. If they could produce that same high standard in the rooms, the hotel would be excellent.
The buffet breakfast was fine, but expensive. The guest laundry on the 9th floor was handy, and we were impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of the room service and housekeeping staff.
If the rooms were fitted out to a higher standard and the menu more extensive and reasonably priced, it would be a perfectly acceptable 5-star hotel. As it is, the rooms are 3-4 star standard, which lets the rest of the hotel down.
We would stay there again, due to the convenient location...but only if we get a really good deal on the room rate, as the prices they charge are vastly overinflated for the rooms provided.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKS1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

Me and my husband stay at the hotel for shopping trip and weekend away before he leave for offshore job. The promotion Duxton hotel have really caught my eyes! Breakfast for two, A bottle of wine in a Deluxe room for $199 per night plus a part from it go to Make a Difference Foundation. It definitely make a different to me after I check-out from the hotel. Before I check in the hotel I read through the review and most of it pretty bad. After experiencing it, totally Duxton Hotel have high standard. Our room furniture and carpeting is brand new and with a view. Breakfast with variety of choices. Staff is really friendly and genuine. Not a single complaint from us. Room service limited choice but excellent taste and presentation. We would definitely comeback!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Only5starplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

The service was fine. We used the valet service, greeted as we drove up to the front door and vehicle taken care off - left to haul our luggage to reception and then to our room. Check in was efficient and with minimal fuss, nothing exemplary but certainly nothing bad to say. Being my girlfriends and I first stay at a 5 star hotel we where impressed with the marble foyer and made a quick inquiry about the restaurant before heading to our room.

Booked a Superior King Room. All have baths, some have spa jets. We didn't special request as we where content with being given what was offered, as per the title definitely no WOW factor but everything was as advertised. Clean room, big hot tub and a view to other city buildings. Woke up with 3 big bites on my leg, whether it was from the bed or maybe being bitten walking around the city who knows.

Dinner was great. Expensive for us students but my word, haven't eaten such a good meal in all my life.

THE GOOD
Clean, spacious room with a big hot tub.
Service
Food

THE BAD
Paying for internet and on demand movies.
Not being offered spa jets (if available?? not really a negative)

Side Note - On the first night we where listening to music in our room having a few beverages and enjoying ourselves until we where interrupted by a rude security man. Basically told us he's having complaints from our floor and that it was our last warning. Being that the music was quite soft and with the room having a couch to invite guests to sit down have a drink and a laugh we found this very rude, and the manner in which the security man went about our 'last warning' was very arrogant. Had we known we where being a little loud, a polite request would have been more than enough, we where only to glad to help out if we could.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

We are from the outer suburbs of Perth and on special occasions over the years we have overnighted at the Duxton and were generally satisfied (apart from the excuse for a pool and its inaccessability).

BOOKING: This time we were attracted by the special deal which coincided with our anniversary – $180 =room, buffet breakfast, overnight parking and a bottle of wine. A few days before our booking we asked if we could have a room that does not look into the offices (Cth Court) next door as one of us works there – that was understood and we were given a room at the front of the hotel.

CHECK IN: check in begins at 1400 hrs (2pm). We arrived at 1530 (3.30pm) and were advised by a professionally friendly receptionist that housekeeping was essentially in meltdown, our room was not ready and whilst she hoped it would be ready within 40 mins, she really could not say when. A free drink was offered in the bar (there is just one bar and just one restaurant) – there is something really tacky about this – as if we could be placated by alcohol. Our plans for the afternoon had to be abandoned. The room was ready within about 45 minutes.

FREE BOTTLE OF WINE (part of the deal). A bottle was delivered to us as we waited in the bar. Another staff member tried to deliver a further bottle to our room. Given what followed one could regret one’s honesty in refusing.

ROOM: spacious but tired 90s décor and the shower grouting looking distinctly old and stained. Shower head fixed and not very user friendly but in a water challenged city at least it was eco friendly. An allegedly 5* hotel with no robes or slippers and … sachets of Nestle instant coffee and teabags. More of the room later!

We went out for the evening and returned to have a coffee and liqueur in the bar. No Cointreau! Not exactly a rare or unusual drink!! Night bar staff very nice but terribly inexperienced. We called for the night manager who was incredibly unprofessional; appearing to have an attack of the giggles as he agreed it is unusual to be out of stock of this drink. However, he was keen to correct our mistake in referring to the hotel as 4*. Given some persuasion he agreed to check for stocks of the liqueur elsewhere in the building – which he found. With no apology we were subjected to a lengthy explanation as to why the bar didn’t have it and why it was elsewhere – like we cared!

ROOM SERVICE: Before midnight we decided to order up a snack. Hit the ‘room service button’ on the telephone – several times. No response. Hit the ‘reception’ button to be informed that there was no room service. When advised that there is a 24 hour menu in the room … we placed our order. One was for scrambled eggs and toast, the other a bagel. Some 40 mins later our food arrived. The eggs were cold, and sans toast. The wait person said reception gave them the wrong room number. The bagel was fine. The ‘room directory’s’ last page refers to Room Service menu as being on the next page … there is no next page. The room service menu was on the fridge/bar area.

BREAKFAST: Thinking that nothing else could go wrong and recalling luscious breakfasts in the past we lined up at the self service bain marie. Back at the table we found that the scrambled eggs, champignons, bacon and tasteless pieces of the cheapest brand of potato as well as the falsely labelled ‘grilled’ tomatoes were less than lukewarm. Enough!

I picked up my plate and en route to the service area I informed a passing waitperson abouthe the temperature of the food … she said ‘the chief should be told’ … it seems by me, as she made no effort to do so. I hung around until a chief appeared. He appeared to agree with me as he said ‘maybe the heat needs to be turned up’ !!! Meats are stored and served from this bain marie!!

As one moved from course to course the cutlery was not replaced. We resorted to helping ourselves from the unoccupied table next to us but were in effect reprimanded by a waitperson for doing so.

COFFEE: if you are even half ways towards being a serious coffee drinker do not accept the stuff served in a jug to your table … it’s included in the cost but it is pretty dreadful. Be prepared to order and pay for coffee from the coffee bar that is in the restaurant.

CHECK OUT: Be prepared for a lengthy queue at 10am.

CAR UNPARKING: 30 mins advance notice required and given. We indicated where we could be contacted ie where we were seated reading in the lobby. Time passed … eventually we checked and found that our car was outside but no one had bothered to inform us.

PREVIOUS STAYS: elegant welcome ‘gift’ of strawberries and chocolate. Prompt, experienced and efficient service through out the hotel. Seasonal fruits such as figs on the breakfast spread. Coffee awful but good stuff available from the coffee bar in the restaurant (costs extra).

FEEDBACK: perhaps the most damming evidence of this hotel’s concern for its guests is the absence of a ‘feedback’ form in the guestroom. However, I recall commenting in the past about the instant coffee/teabags in a 5* hotel and not receiving a response. Perhaps I should have taken note and expected the downhill trend.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

We landed at midnight; checked it at 1AM, it needed until 3 AM we finally got the baby cribs which we were confirmed by reservation 3weeks (!) ago. Then they felt sorry and moved us into a better room where our room was not made or it was the bigger mess afterwards. I told the reception but the answer was 'no worries' but I worried... We will not return to this hotel anymore and if only because we find no other room in Perth.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service attitude
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dude2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

Had to stay in Perth on business for 1 night only and found Perth vitually booked out. Managed to find the Duxton on wotif at the last moment. The hotel certainly can be classed as 5 star and has all amenities. Nothing outstanding, though I only stayed 1 night. Friendly and efficient staff and room could be any Sheraton or Hilton. Shower was exceptional. Bit overpriced but I put that down to the lack of 5 star rooms in the city.

  • Liked — Efficient staff, shower
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mobogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Property: Duxton Hotel
Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#14 Family Hotel in Perth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#19 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing