We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a novel place in Perth - just like Europe”
Review of Miss Maud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miss Maud Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I really liked the atmosphere of this hotel and loved where it is situated - well in the shopping area and city. the rooms are themed and are decorated as such, we stayed in Finland, and loved it, they are tastefully decorated and very comfortable it was also extremely clean with double glazed windows. the quaint European styled lift was a great feature. The Miss Maud hotel is situated next too the well known pastry shop and provided amazing opportunities to feast on the most delicious food from smorgas-board to gourmet.

Only draw back were the walls seemed to be a bit thin and we could hear the people in the next room coughing.

Room Tip: it is worth spending a little bit more to get a really nice room. and you must include the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Have stayed at all the alleged 5 star hotels in Perth & in some respects Miss Maudes outshines them all. Very nice room, free wi-fi, IPhone charger near bed, exceptional cleanliness & the best breakfast I have had in a hotel in Perth FREE! I stayed in a superior room for a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geomor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We used this hotel as a base while touring Western Australia, returning three times between excursions. We found the hotel to be extremely clean and comfortable. The "Swedish" rooms are bigger and slightly more expensive and have a full-sized bath, but the smaller, less expensive rooms, with shower, are perfectly adequate for a short stay. On one visit a member of our party was unwell and the management were most accommodating - food was brought in from the adjacent restaurant and they offered to re-arrange the rooming schedule should we wish to extend the dates of our stay.
The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast and the evening smorgesbord was varied and delicious. Set meals were also available if required. We would definitely stay again if in Perth.

Room Tip: "Swedissh" named rooms are more expensive and more extensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subortna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Miss Maud's is certainly an eye-catching hotel. It is perfectly placed in Perth for getting around and there is a "Red Cat" bus service which is free, just on the opposite corner which will take you around and about. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Hay Street ahd Murray Street shops. The room was clean but very small but well kept. There are not that many tv channels. The guest laundry facility is also very handy. They have a restaurant next door and the breakfast included is really lovely - everything you could ask for. Dinner is also really nice and they also have a take-away cake shop sandwiched in between the hotel and restaurant. Reception staff and the night porter were all extremely helpful. The lift is a little scary, it is very old and half expected it to conk out mid-floor but it was fine.

Room Tip: Up-grade from a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginger_tulip2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Hotel is older style, however the rooms were very clean, comfortable and as there was extreme weather outside (Perth, June storms) it was very quite inside. The staff were extremley helpful with my few enquiries. The staff at the connecting restaurant were efficient, and professional. The smorgasbord dinner meal I thought was expensive-$38.00 as I am not a big eater, I chose to buy my next meal at a nearby restaurant, which was delicious. Access to public transport/restaurant and shopping is excellent.. Airport transfer is also available. I was on the first floor, and what I enjoyed also was i was able to open the windows for fresh air. Initially I found the maze of the motel was confusing, as there re hallways leading in all directions-maybe that's my poor sense of direction.

Room Tip: although my room -176-was above the main street the noise level was minimal.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Buffet breakfast was included and was great. The location is excellent: walking distance from shops, northbridge, Perth mint. Attached bakery is excellent.

Rooms are small and in need of an update. Linen is cheap feeling. Wallpaper peeling off wall.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaywa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel has nothing exceptional about it except for the catchy, homespun name. There is a Swedish theme in the otherwise bland decor, and yes there is a complimentary, extensive smorgasbord breakfast in the price - which is high by Australian standards, but cheap by Perth standards. The room we had (booked 3 weeks in advance) looked into a machinery well so we refused it - the second was better - it had daylight coming through a high placed window with no view. The shower was good, the bathroom smallish, what else can I say about a clean, ordinary hotel room?
The best part was the referral to Bayswater Car Rentals which offered the very best car rental (half price, no frills) in the whole of this otherwise, very expensive state.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,293 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
1,608 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £76 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests. Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miss Maud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing