We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Value”
Review of Miss Maud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miss Maud Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Perth is an unbelievably expensive place to find reasonably priced accommodation, and given that the cost of staying at this hotel was a great deal more than I usually budget for, I also expected more than I usually receive. I was not disappointed.
Taking into account what other trip advisor reviewers had said, and having personally stayed in Scandinavian hotels before, I had expected a functional but largely sterile hotel. Nothing could have been further from the truth. The hotels exterior and interior gave the hotel considerable charm, more reminiscent though of a Bavarian theme rather than a Swedish one.
The entire hotel was filled with personal charms, which contributes considerably to the character being established. Having the staff dress in costume however, made the overall experience a little histrionic.
Our own room was spacious, comfortably furnished, had a large en suite, and even had a balcony (which only a few rooms have). Tea/Coffee supplies were provided along with a mini bar, ample toiletries, and a daily complimentary newspaper.
Daily room servicing was also superb.
The hotel is wonderfully located within very easy walking distance of anywhere within the city a visitor may wish to go.
It rates itself as a four star hotel, and it very amply and easily earns this rating. The only negative I would have about this hotel was the total disinterest shown by the receptionist on our arrival. Her only interest appeared to be getting the details of my credit card, telling us which room we were in, and advising us that a pass key was required for entry into the hotel after 7pm. No welcome, no advise on where places of impending interest were located surrounding the hotel (and there were plenty), no notice of meal service. Just a “need your card details”, your room is ***”, “this is your pass key for use after 7pm”, end of dialogue. She was also on duty the following evening, and observed to be as unhelpful regards other guest’s queries. Thankfully, she was not reflective of all the other staff we met, who was very accommodating and helpful.
Despite not being informed by the receptionist about the attached restaurant, the guest book in the room did, and had two of our four dinners whilst in Perth there, along with an absolutely sumptuous complimentary breakfast each day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Avoid rooms above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

Good and efficient hotel.Rooms are large and clean.Breakfast is your basic Buffett ,stuck somewhere in the 1970s including the ongoing ABBA music that runs day and night.Would be happy to recommend this hotel as it offers quality and value.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Runaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel changed our room for us to another floor. Both rooms were beautiful and comfortable . The breakfast buffet was amazing and endless. Service was great and even had an appearance by Miss Maude herself
Perfect location close to everything but the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theplanetismine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel room was clean and spacious, the bathroom modern. Good smorgasbord breakfast was included in the cost. The hotel is European in feel. The staff were not over friendly. My main complaint - and the reason I won't stay again - is that although it is a non-smoking hotel, a strong smell of smoke drifted through my air vents in the morning. This may have come from smokers on the street corner - in which case a room on a higher level may solve the problem.

Room Tip: higher level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I really liked the atmosphere of this hotel and loved where it is situated - well in the shopping area and city. the rooms are themed and are decorated as such, we stayed in Finland, and loved it, they are tastefully decorated and very comfortable it was also extremely clean with double glazed windows. the quaint European styled lift was a great feature. The Miss Maud hotel is situated next too the well known pastry shop and provided amazing opportunities to feast on the most delicious food from smorgas-board to gourmet.

Only draw back were the walls seemed to be a bit thin and we could hear the people in the next room coughing.

Room Tip: it is worth spending a little bit more to get a really nice room. and you must include the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Have stayed at all the alleged 5 star hotels in Perth & in some respects Miss Maudes outshines them all. Very nice room, free wi-fi, IPhone charger near bed, exceptional cleanliness & the best breakfast I have had in a hotel in Perth FREE! I stayed in a superior room for a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geomor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We used this hotel as a base while touring Western Australia, returning three times between excursions. We found the hotel to be extremely clean and comfortable. The "Swedish" rooms are bigger and slightly more expensive and have a full-sized bath, but the smaller, less expensive rooms, with shower, are perfectly adequate for a short stay. On one visit a member of our party was unwell and the management were most accommodating - food was brought in from the adjacent restaurant and they offered to re-arrange the rooming schedule should we wish to extend the dates of our stay.
The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast and the evening smorgesbord was varied and delicious. Set meals were also available if required. We would definitely stay again if in Perth.

Room Tip: "Swedissh" named rooms are more expensive and more extensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subortna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,290 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,607 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £76 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests. Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miss Maud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing