We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in unique atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value in unique atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

In a nutshell this hotel is good value for your money and offers you a special charm which makes this hotel distinguishable from others.

Our room was perfectly clean and quiet. It offered free WiFi, plenty of space for your stuff, air con, a desk, tea and coffee making facilities. The restaurant was nicely decorated for the season (we were here just after christmas). Not only the atmosphere but primarily the food makes this place the perfect start for the day. It includes oven-fresh pastry from Miss Maud Pastry House which you can die for. The rest of the smorgasbord is as good as this. Espresso based coffee is available but needs to be ordered separately.

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Perth and is only a few minutes walk to the shops in the CBD, the ferry terminal and the train station. Also the restaurants, cafes and pubs in Northbridge are no more than 5 min walk away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Guenther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    371
    127
    11
    10
See reviews for
74
405
119
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This would be one of the best and most charming hotels ever. High quality. Excellent service and staff. Rooms very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The hotels restuarant has the most delectable food, and great service. Hotel is very centrally located in the city, with access to everything. It is quite an expensive place but if you can afford it, this is a very nice change from your everyday highrise hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We got off to a rough start in that we arrived late at night and were assigned a very small room on a noisy street, plus the first two desk clerks we dealt with were not knowledgeable about the area or the hotel. Next morning we were assigned to a larger room (no extra charge) and the rest of the staff during our 10 days were very helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast buffet is incredible. Very clean. Unfortunately, Murray Street is kind of "seedy" (not dangerous but dirty and street people) for two blocks near the hotel. Otherwise location is good -- central to everything we wanted to see, harbor and train station. There is a lovely little roof garden (which we discovered by accident) and laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel away from Murray St (there is a night club directly acrossed fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie48070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay at Miss Maud's. Centrally located, great for shopping in the city. Staff very friendly and helpful. Smorgasbord breakfast was delicious and miss Maud bakery is brilliant to grab some take home goodies. Lots of places to eat nearby too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirsteenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Staff weren't overly helpful. When we checked in the woman at the counter didn't tell us about after hours entry so when we returned after our night out at 1130pm we didn't know how to get in. We pressed the intercom and eventually someone came but apparently we could have just used our key. The room was clean and tidy with a nice little bathroom. Air con and tv easy to use. The walls are quite thin and there was a constant noise, like someone opening and closing a squeaky door. The bed was very uncomfortable, felt like a hospital bed due to hardness and sheet quality. The hotel is in a good location close to parking and the breakfast was very very nice! I just think we had to pay too much for what it was. $225 for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Anne80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a fabulous hotel, with friendly staff, clean and comfortable (if slightly small) rooms. But the best bit of our stay was the restaurant. The breakfast (included in our price), and the evening meal was to die for. Quality and choice unbelievable. Then to top this extravaganza there was a bakery as well. So to all foodies if you are visiting Perth a stay at Miss Maud Swedish Hotel is an absolute must. It was a fitting end to our Australian travels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for a week on business and overall was very happy. Decor and rooms are dated and very small but bathrooms modern and functional. Air con was easy to use, efficant and quiet. Cleaning of room each day was great. Staff were helpful, location was good and breakfast was amazing - filled you up for the day. Restaurant staff are exceptionally pleasant. Very good value for the very expensive city of Perth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meredith888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Property: Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#13 Family Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing