We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Good value, cosy hotel in a decent location.
We stayed here for 1 night, mid-week, as we were going to a concert in the city. The location is easy to get to and you can walk anywhere in the city from here. We had a balcony room which was good as the rooms are a little small, but what you would expect from a hotel with character. It's not a modern box style hotel, like an ibis, but feels more like a comfy old sofa. Staff were polite and breakfast was delicious. If you have to stay in the city, especially with mid-week prices, there is no point in staying anywhere else.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaandLee-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    379
    129
    12
    10
See reviews for
76
420
125
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The staff were very friendly the rooms very comfortable if a little dated. We stayed here for 2 nights, a Friday & Saturday. There was a hotel opposite our rooms & the noise until after midnight made sleeping impossible. In view of the noise I will not have stayed at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Rms160 to 165 as very noisy. I am not sure if they are the only ones affected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

just fantastic stayed one night this weekend fabulous food and very comfortable room
smorgasbord breakfast and dinner were a winner for us they had everything
got the package deal very good value
very friendly people and staff will stay again and tell friends

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, CT
Level Contributor
430 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Quirky humorous hotel well located, but be careful of somewhat seedy shops nearby. Rooms are small. Wi-fi is uneven. Breakfast buffet is included and is of good value. As Perth is expensive, it is a good idea to have a hearty breakfast so you can eat a smaller lunch.
If you are driving, an important tip is that parking overnight between 6 and 8 the next am is free, so you don't need to use the parking lots.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine3Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Check-in quick and efficient. The antique 1930's style elevator was just big enough for two people and a large suitcase. The double layer doors required manually opening/closing and it moved slowly and noisily, but smoothly. Our room was on the top (2nd) floor and we found it quicker to use the stairs although I found the lift fun to use.
We booked a standard queen room but after reading other reviews I wonder if we were upgraded as the size was good. Being a corner room we had two opening windows. Bathroom and plumbing was modern. Corridors and room clean and in good condition. While the theme is 1970's Swedish, hotel looks like it has been refurbished recently. Our room was at the back of the hotel. It was quiet, except for the odd plumbing noise and creaky floorboards. No view. Everything worked fine. Bed was firm, clean, comfy pillows. Well serviced every day of our six day stay.
Restaurant had good selection for breakfast and food was of good quality except bacon which was tough. Pastries and pancakes are nice. The theme was Swedish and the waitresses were cheerful and helpful.
10 min walk to bus, underground, malls. Plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby but very little nightlife as everything seems to close by 9pm.
Due to our evening flight I asked for a late checkout. The desk offered 11 am and any longer would have cost us a half day charge.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleni_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Central to most of Perth's attractions great breakfast nice room, on the bus route, little noisy at night need to invest in some simple soundproofing change of doors and thick curtains would help, friendly staff will be back.

Room Tip: Get breakfast included in your room rate was a great start to each day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisGoldenbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great location in a short walking distance of everything. Fabulous breakfasts. The lift was a bit tricky with heavy suitcases until a passing staff member suggested tying the door back with the rope provided (I hadn't actually SEEN a lift like this one for decades). The room was fine. Definitely a better choice of a place to stay than the second hotel we stayed at :).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,509 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,257 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
273 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Property: Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing