We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldie but goodie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It would require to be refurbished - at least rooms would - but it still is a charming hotel with the old carpets, different from floor to floor, and the slooooooow lift. Rooms are not very spacious and lack some light... but once you get up and get to the beautiful, sumptuous breakfast buffet for which Miss Maud is deservingly well-known, you forgive all those small imperfections that the hotel does have.
The restaurant buffet is a good choice also for dinner, if you are looking for an informal atmosphere, yet full of fresh fish, oysters, cheese, fragrant bread and tasty roasts!
Beautifully located in the city centre, so perfectly located for a walk (highly recommended after such a rich buffet!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcakes_and_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    376
    129
    12
    10
See reviews for
75
411
124
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I frequently stay overnight in Perth en-route between work and home and stayed at Miss Maud following a recommendation from a work colleague. I will now be a regular guest. If you don't like big, impersonal chain hotels you will love this place. Sure, it is not modern, there are a lot of stairs and a tiny lift but that is all part of it's charm. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable with everything one would need. I found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, ready to go the extra mile. With breakfast included in the room rate it is great value. The smorgasbord breakfast is fantastic and the staff again were friendly and cheerful - a great start to the day. If you are wanting a nice view or riverside location you will be disappointed but the location, close to the train station, was perfect for me. Shopping malls, Northbridge and the cultural centre are a short walk away and the free CAT bus stop is right across the road. I will be recommending Miss Maud Swedish Hotel to anyone who is looking for an affordable, comfortable, friendly place to stay in Perth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well, breakfast was sensational, as was service at breakfast. Unfortunately can't say the same for Reception service as we didn't even get a smile there. For the price, this hotel really is ok, room was very clean, bed comfortable, but room and bathroom dated. Lift was a joke, couldn't even get my bag into it and all the time I was struggling to get the door to stay open and get my bag in the Receptionist just sat there and stared without a word of help. Actually ended up lugging the bags up 2 flights of stairs. But, at the end of the day, this hotel is good value and the breakfast and the cost sure makes up for any negatives in the hotel and yes, I probably would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BevBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Miss Maud. We were slightly worried with its name, Miss Maud, Swedish Hotel, however we were very impressed. It was Anzac Day that weekend and so it was very busy. It was a bit chaotic at breakfast time, but the food is brilliant. The room was very plain but very clean. Altogether a good experience, we would stay again on a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mysticmik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Good value, cosy hotel in a decent location.
We stayed here for 1 night, mid-week, as we were going to a concert in the city. The location is easy to get to and you can walk anywhere in the city from here. We had a balcony room which was good as the rooms are a little small, but what you would expect from a hotel with character. It's not a modern box style hotel, like an ibis, but feels more like a comfy old sofa. Staff were polite and breakfast was delicious. If you have to stay in the city, especially with mid-week prices, there is no point in staying anywhere else.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaandLee-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The staff were very friendly the rooms very comfortable if a little dated. We stayed here for 2 nights, a Friday & Saturday. There was a hotel opposite our rooms & the noise until after midnight made sleeping impossible. In view of the noise I will not have stayed at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Rms160 to 165 as very noisy. I am not sure if they are the only ones affected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

just fantastic stayed one night this weekend fabulous food and very comfortable room
smorgasbord breakfast and dinner were a winner for us they had everything
got the package deal very good value
very friendly people and staff will stay again and tell friends

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Property: Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing