We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good enough for "four-star"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
493 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Not good enough for "four-star"”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, as it was in the central part of the city and was easy to catch a bus to go to visit my friends from St George's Tce. It was rated 'four-star' according to booking.com, but it was rather a' three-star'. The staff at the reception didn't know't how to search online the right bus stop on St Georges Tce. In order to get on the lift, you have to take about 10 steps up, and the lift is a very old one with a manually operated door. The room was OK, but the ceiling leaked from the room above on the last day. I reported to them, but nobody came to repair all day. So there was a paddle on the floor in my room, when I returned late at night. As I complained, they shifted me to another room. I left my written complaints, but no response from Miss Maud or manager. I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RayParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    376
    128
    12
    10
See reviews for
74
411
124
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is very good as it is just at the end of Murray St and 5 min walking distance to the shopping area and 10 min walking distance to Barrack Jetty. The buffet breakfast is very fantastic and staff are friendly. It also surrounded by nice restaurants and pubs. However, the street is a bit quiet at night and there are beggars and drunked man around. Just be alert and you will be fine. Do bring a smaller luggage if you are staying here as the lift is small and might need to drag up the staircase. Overall the experience is great !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotham0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had only one night in Perth before flying out so were looking a centrally located hotel with a shuttle service to the airport. Miss Maude's is located centrally but we were disappointed as there was no shuttle service as we had expected. We hired a taxi and the cost was equivalent to the shuttle bus so we were able to find another viable transport option.
Having said that the hotel experience was excellent as our deal included the smorgasbord dinner and breakfast as well as accommodation. We can see why many Perth people return there as the food standard is higher than the usual buffet and the ambience is pleasant with live music on the night we were there. The room was well appointed and the bed huge!

Room Tip: It is an older hotel with rooms that have been redecorated. There are some stairs to negotiate but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in June. Reception was fine. Breakfast was a welcome addition and included in the price. I stayed in the single room accessed from the rooftop garden. A/C worked fine and was definitely necessary. A bit of outside noise, so if you need dead silence at night, you might want a different room. Furnishings were relatively modest. Kettle and instant coffee and tea were provided in the room. The bathroom was clean, but in the room I was in, the shower faucets were VERY touchy, and it was difficult to find a reasonable temperature. I mentioned this at checkout and was told it would be checked. The bed was very comfortable. There was no obvious room safe.

A list nearby recommended restaurants would be helpful in the hotel guide for visitors unfamiliar with Perth, because the reception staff were not very knowledgeable about dining options in the downtown area. However, for a midtown hotel, it was worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinkieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiwaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is situated in the middle of the CBD, which is a big plus and the first impression (mainly of the restaurant) is very positive. However the room I was given (garden room) under a "special deal" was a big disappointment, as its spartan furnishing resembled more a monk's cell than a hotel room. Even as a monk's cell it could do with a lick of paint and fresh wallpaper, although there's nothing to complain about the bathroom, on the contrary.
Buffet breakfast is included and looks very impressive, but given the price of A$180 for 1 person I found it disappointing that the chef curtly refused to prepare me an omelette.
All in all I feel that the hotel is seriously overpriced and consequently I won't go back there or recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Don't go for the "garden room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cruisefan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is an important landmark in Perth. Its rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. We were next to a noisy street which made for a sleepless night (until 4am), so check where your room is situated. If you are seeking basic accommodation, situated centrally in Perth, then this hotel could be for you. It includes breakfast, which is a very good buffet selection, so overall it is good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from Pier Street where there is a noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was my first time staying at Miss Maud's and it won't be my last. The staff were friendly and accommodating and I felt at ease and relaxed at check-in. The rooms were cosy and inviting, bed comfortable and quiet given the city location. Close to everything and central. The breakfast buffet is to die for ! There was a vast selection of delicious food (eggs, pancakes, fruit, coffee, yoghurt, the list endless). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavinaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Property: Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing